Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enigma:The Platinum Collection
I am not all certain when I first encountered Enigma,some years ago obviously,but to say that they made an impression would be an understatement.The vocal,instrumental and lyrical combination was,and is,quite unique.I understand that the mixture of sex and religion caused a stir.Well,as a history graduate I can say without being offensive,that the former has played a...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by Kevin Lewis Price

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another best of...?
Ok,so the first question is,Who will buy this release?
I'm sure it's aimed at long time fans AND first time buyers but do we really need another Enigma best of?
Here's the pros and the cons.

It is the third Enigma collection released in the last nine years.The first being "Lsd - Love Sensuality and Devotion [Digipak]" and it's cousin "Best of Remixes"...
Published on 12 Jan 2010 by DJ Control


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another best of...?, 12 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Ok,so the first question is,Who will buy this release?
I'm sure it's aimed at long time fans AND first time buyers but do we really need another Enigma best of?
Here's the pros and the cons.

It is the third Enigma collection released in the last nine years.The first being "Lsd - Love Sensuality and Devotion [Digipak]" and it's cousin "Best of Remixes" collection,both released in 2001.The second collection was the mammoth 8 disc "15 Years After" containing 6 cd's(5 official studio releases and one bonus disc of re-recordings produced by Rollo) and 2 dvd's("MCMXC A.D." dvd video with the entire album in dts/Dolby surround and "Remember The Future" dvd video collection).A very lavish and expensive coffee table book style edition released in 2005 and now very rare "15 Years After: +2dvd".Now we have "The Platinum Collection".A three disc set that,unlike the former Greatest Hits Collections presents all of Enigma's single releases as stand alone tracks instead of the now familiar continuous mix that all previous albums have.

Disc one contains the single/radio versions,disc two contains the extended/remix tracks and disc three(The Lost Ones),which I feel most Enigma fans will buy this set for,contains eleven "lost" tracks that are all new releases.But don't get too excited.There is not a lot of new music here for the long time fan."The Lost Ones" disc clocks in at only 35 minutes.There are a few other tracks that make a cd debut here on disc one.Most hardcore Enigma fans will already have these tracks on various single releases but anyone new to Enigma would be better served by the previous best of release(L.S.D.) that is a musical montage not simply a collection of radio hits.Only one track on disc two makes a cd debut."Dreaming Of Andromeda-JF Cochois Remix" previously only available on digital download or dvd,the rest are all reissues,most of which are also on the last collection.

EMI have been releasing Platinum Collections for some of their better known artists such as Roxy Music,Queen and Mike Oldfield to name a few.These collections have very extensive booklets that contain all the relevant info on each track.The booklet that comes with this Enigma collection is very sparse and short on detail.Another con for this release.I took off a star because of the cheap packaging and the use of the same cover artwork,albeit slightly modified,that was utilised for "15 Years After".

So summing up,for hardcore fans,there are some slim pickings.For new fans it's a great collection for the price but to truly experience the Enigma sound-scape I would advise listening to the aforementioned best of releases or any of the 7 full length albums.
My personal favourites are " The Cross of Changes " and " The Screen Behind the Mirror " but a good place to start is "MCMXC A.D.".
Turn off the light,take a deep breath and relax.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unnecessary release, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
To be honest I don't know for whom this compilation was released. Definitely not for fans as: 1) disc one doesn't contain all singles, 2) disc two is a compilation of remixes but surely not the best ones and surely not the ones fans would like to hear. 3) disc 3 contains very poor quality leftovers from last album and truly it's hard to say that is something fan would like to hear.

I am very, very disappointed with this release. Enigma never was and never will be a radio friendly band/project. If there is a someone who wants to get some sort of the best of Enigma then LSD compilation from the beginning of 2000s is much better choice as it contains really the best songs, not specifically released as a single.
Being a fan in the past (who admires The Cross of Changes and Le Roi Est Mort, Vive Le Roi!) if I really need to get another compilation, I would like to have album containing ALL single versions of the songs on one disc and very special and rare remixes on another disc. Bonus disc with demo version of debut album or demo versions of most famous songs would be super addition.

But instead of that we have received very poor compilation that will land for years on the shelf. Highly NOT recommended. I suggest you better get Enigma - Love Sensuality Devotion: The Greatest Hits Love Sensuality Devotion: The Greatest Hits which is a very special sort of the best of and contains real gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For completists only, 15 May 2010
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Like the other two reviewers, I am a bit underwhelmed by this release. The question is whether there was a need for this box-set. The answer is probably no. Simply put, the music on the first two albums is as good as one would expect, but the third disc, the one which might make people a little bit more interested is, to say the least, disjointed and disappointing.

I have the two LSD compilations which are excellent and feel there is no need for more than that. The singles are excellent and the remixed versions are great. There is, therefore, no need for this.

Finally, it would have been nice to have had a more informative booklet other than what has been produced, which is the bare bones.

The 3 stars are for the music on the first two discs, tempered with the fact that the third disc is a disappointment and the need for the whole package is debateable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mirror darkly, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
A 3 CD collection should allow more than enough time for a broad overview of any artist and give the newcomer a good idea of what they can achieve. Yet with this collection, somehow, this opportunity has been completely missed and instead of showcasing just how interesting and enjoyable Michael Cretu's work can be. CD 1 is basically a 'safe' introduction which lists all the famous releases in radio edit format. Frankly this is not up to much as it comes across as little more than a sampler with the short running times feeling as if they end too soon. Where Enigma have always really shone is in some fine remixes and extended tracks so CD 2, a collection of extended remixes, is surely where the fun begins? 'Fraid not. The remixes are, for the most part, pretty dreadful and seem to completely miss the style of Enigma. This is surely borne out by the fact a 'BPM' listing is put next to the club mixes. The elegant & atmospheric aura is lost. In fact this disc is little more than the 'Love sensuality & devotion' remixes plonked onto a disc. There are plenty of others that could have been plundered. Just take a listen to the 'Violent US mix' of Sadeness pt I to see what I mean. Not every mix fails, Jean Cochois' remix of 'Dreaming of Andromeda' is actually a pleasant experience.
Disc 3 helps redeem things to some extent with the ambient Lost collection which is a welcome addition. This is a collection of short works that were used for inspiration and experiment but were not meant for release. They show the artist at work and thinking about which direction to take next. They may be frustratingly short but they are a very welcome edition.
Overall this is pretty disappointing. The third disc on it's own would be worthwhile but discs 1 & 2 do little to grab the interest of the newcomer and certainly would only appeal to the completist fan. For fans the '15 years after' box set, expensive true, is more likely to appeal.
All in all this is a bit of a missed opportunity and where it should shine and impress merely disappoints, failing to highlight fully just why it is that Enigma were so popular for so long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enigma:The Platinum Collection, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Kevin Lewis Price (caerphilly,south wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I am not all certain when I first encountered Enigma,some years ago obviously,but to say that they made an impression would be an understatement.The vocal,instrumental and lyrical combination was,and is,quite unique.I understand that the mixture of sex and religion caused a stir.Well,as a history graduate I can say without being offensive,that the former has played a major role in the latter!I would not concentrate too much on that however,as it is only a small part of the whole.I will not,indeed cannot attempt to describe its unique sound or style,a muscian would do that far better than I could.I will just say,buy it folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Engima, 27 Mar 2014
By 
mucklewick (Knighton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
A collection of classic Enigma songs, perfect for those moments when you want to sit and chill out for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
The Amazon preview doesn't do this album any justice at all, this album is the best a have purchased in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. C. Hunt "wet" (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
So relaxing your thoughts just soar to new height didn't find this group till I was in my 50s but calms me down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 8 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
First introduced to this by a six-foot Norwegian dressed like Death, Enigma have been a firm favourite for over a decade. Stella stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
if you dont have any of Enigmas material then this is a perfect introduction to their fine brand of sounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3463618)

This product

Only search this product's reviews