Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Keep On
I don't care what anyone says! Adam Ant is a musical genius! There is no one like him and he will be as irreplaceable as Marc Bolan,David Bowie,Johnny Rotten! Now Manners & Physique is one of those albums that deserves more recognition as I don't think there is a duff song on it! I love the way the whole album just flows from track to track leaving you thinking that if...
Published on 20 Feb 2010 by Eddie Riff

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New edition adds 1 rarity but misses 2 others
Nice to see Adam's "lesser" albums getting some attention. Nice to see the rarity "Bruce Lee" on this new edition. However, the Manners & Physique b-side "How to Steal the World" is missing! And the demo of "Stick & Move" is missing too. I'd rather have those b-sides/demos than the remixes, but perhaps whoever put this edition together wasn't aware of them.

As...
Published on 27 July 2009 by Will Bueche


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New edition adds 1 rarity but misses 2 others, 27 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Manners And Physique (Audio CD)
Nice to see Adam's "lesser" albums getting some attention. Nice to see the rarity "Bruce Lee" on this new edition. However, the Manners & Physique b-side "How to Steal the World" is missing! And the demo of "Stick & Move" is missing too. I'd rather have those b-sides/demos than the remixes, but perhaps whoever put this edition together wasn't aware of them.

As such, this special edition is somewhat of a failure insofar as special editions usually include more than one "new" song. There could have been three "new" songs and fewer remixes.

I'll get it anyway, but I hope the missing songs are released digitally to make up for the oversight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Keep On, 20 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Manners And Physique (Audio CD)
I don't care what anyone says! Adam Ant is a musical genius! There is no one like him and he will be as irreplaceable as Marc Bolan,David Bowie,Johnny Rotten! Now Manners & Physique is one of those albums that deserves more recognition as I don't think there is a duff song on it! I love the way the whole album just flows from track to track leaving you thinking that if you could write an album anywhere near as good you would be happy as larry!

However the downside to the album is the extra tracks! I have never been a fan of remixes I think it marrs the overall masterpiece! As was said in one of the other reviews, there were much better tracks that could have been added, Adam has managed to have a great musical career and has influenced people as diverse as Marylin Manson/Nine Inch Nails/Elastica e.t.c and I think he thouroughly deserved the Q Icon Award!

I would like to see him back on the musical circuit as the music scene is DIRE! and could do with a real musical genius as a pose to the plastic X Factor music we are constantly bombarded with! Talent is discovered and not an oven ready chicken!

Adam! Manners & Physique is fantastic! If you keep on doing what you do we will all be happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adam Ant For the 1990's, 17 May 2005
This review is from: Manners & Physique (Audio CD)
Sadly, when this album came out in 1989, Adam Ant was well on his way to "Where Are They Now?" status. While this album's predecessor, "Vive Le Rock" generated the hits "Apollo 9" and the title track, the five year gap between albums proved costly to Adam's ability to sell albums. By 1989/1990, Antmusic in the USA was all but forgotten.
One thing I like about Adam is that he's a huge Marc Bolan (T. Rex) fan, and it shows in his image and music. Like Bolan, Adam's albums from "Prince Charming" to "Wonderful" have shown various shifts in style. "Prince Charming" and "Friend or Foe" = the Dandy; "Strip"= The Romantic; "Viva Le Rock"= Space Age Cowboy;" and "Manners & Physique"= 90's GQ model.
"Manners and Physique" is a Dance album, pure and simple. It is a far cry from the tribal rhythms and harmonies found on his albums with the Ants and "Friend or Foe" through "Viva;" but on its own, it works. It works as a great dance album, and as yet another incarnation in Adam Ant's personas.
Okay, if it's so good, why wasn't it more popular? Good question! There were two singles form the album, "Room at the Top" and the excellent "Can't Set Rules About Love." "Room" had some major MTV airplay, and was a minor dance hit in the US; while "Rules" charted in the UK, but not the US. My feeling is that if this album had been released a few years earlier, it might have done better.
With the shift of mainstream music to grunge and the onset of Hip Hop, "Manners & Physique" really didn't fit into any play list. As a result, it dropped like a stone. This is also the reason that Adam's former label MCA decided to shelve the follow up to "Manners," 1993's excellent "Persuasion." Even though this album was shelved, booted copies have leaked out.
So if you're an Ant fan from the "Friend or Foe" area and you're expecting the same thing, you're going to be sorely disappointed. If you like Adam Ant, and like 80's Dance oriented music, this album album is a must have. I guarantee You'll find yourself singing along with "Anger Incorporated" "USSA," "Manners & Physique," and "You Can't Set Rules About Love."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prince's producer and it shows., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manners And Physique (Audio CD)
This is my least favourite of Adam's albums. I've only just gotten around to buying it after all these years and I remember why; it really is firmly rooted in the late 80s and very dated sound-wise. :( I already have the 2 singles that came off it, Room at the Top and Can't Set Rules..., and they really do set the precedence for the rest of the album. Whereas other albums have a mix of sounds and each song has its own unique feel, on this album every song sounds very Stock-Aitkin-Waterman-y.

As a fan I'm happy to have it in my collection and will listen to it, but I wouldn't recommend to an Ant newbie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Manners & Physique (Audio CD)
In great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+++++, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mark (Irvine, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manners And Physique (Audio CD)
Awesome! Love's this album for years and now with all of the bonuses it is truly a gem. Very recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Did It Deserve A 'Room At The Top'?, 1 Oct 2010
This review is from: Manners & Physique (Audio CD)
Adam's first album after a 5 year break, by this time I imagine (unfortunately I wasn't yet born, another 6 years...)most people had forgotten about him, especially after the poor 'Strip' album and the failure of 'Vive Le Rock', and I don't feel 'Manners & Physique' was the album to win them back with. Most would have remembered him as 'The Dandy Highway Man' or as 'Prince Charming'and this album is certainly different. Whether it's a good different or bad, is for you to decide. This album is a toned down Ant, and is more dance orientated than the tribal drumming of the early 80s. In some ways this album is similar to the un-released 'Persuasuion'. The best tracks on 'Manners' (in my opinion) are Room At The Top, Rough Stuff and Can't Set Rules About Love. All of the tracks are good, but some lack that 'something' and I can't even remember the names of these because of that, but it's mainly the second half that's lacking. I'd give this album 6/10, definitely not on of his finer moments...5 more years to wait for 'Wonderful' to arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trucker, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manners And Physique (Audio CD)
this cd was purchases for my son who as give 10 out 10 for delvery has he is a fan of Adam Ant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manners & Physique Adam Ant, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Manners And Physique (Audio CD)
I really love adam ant and i have now made my partner appreciate adam ant and we both sing along to the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Manners & Physique
Manners & Physique by Adam Ant (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews