Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars18
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£11.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2010
While I agree with Spike, etc. the bad reviews of "Best Rock Anthems ... Ever" have produced a drop in price, so now this CD is cheaper (for now) - than Dad Rocks! (2009). Which means the choice comes down to - 'Do you want the cheaper CD' or 'Do you want specific tracks'. No-one else mentions which tracks are different, so I had to check them carefully for myself.

The differences are the final tracks on CD2 and CD3; "Best Rock Anthems" has 'The Animals' and 'Roxy Music'; "Dad Rocks" has 'Oasis' and that World Cup 2010 favourite 'Hocus Pocus' by Focus ... of course, if the CD price difference is the cost of a single track download, and if you only want 1 of the tracks you would otherwise be missing ... Well then, now you can work it out.

This review was submitted in case it helps someone else - Me? I'm an aging Dad who wants a collection of all the Rock and Rock tracks that recall my (misspent) 'yoof'! ... and this filled in some of the holes.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2013
After buying many Rock compilation CD's over the years, and only playing a handful of songs from them, AT LAST!! I've found one that I can listen to from beginning to end that spans across the decades and thoroughly enjoy without skipping a track!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
beware buyers this compilation is too similar to dads rock 2009 if you check it out and compare the tracklistings then you may agree!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
looking at the playlist its a past and present rock album. A good range of artists are featured & proper classics like sweet home alabama, black betty, gimme all your lovin are there, on a more alternative note i wondered why emf's unbelievable is there as its not really a rock record! It doesnt even have a live drummer! I wouldnt class maggie may by rod stewart as rock either, more pop folk soft rock.. Im no expert on rock but for the money looks like a good collection.. Just mssing artists like dire straights, rolling stones & jimi hendrix.. This is more commercial hits i guess but still a good mixture for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
Don't be fooled by the very misleading title - there are bands included on here that would never make it onto any self respecting rock album - I'm sure they wouldn't want to be. Some of the songs are soft and the pendulum swings from one extreme to the other.

From the 60's Mod/Blues rush of the Kinks and the Animals, you're then delivered Bowie - veering off track in the late 70's with the Jam, Blondie, the Buzzcocks and the Undertones and then unbelievably EMF's Unbelievable, the Dandy Warhols, Coldplay and the Fratellis - this is cobbled together haphazzardly and it could've been so much better - personally, I don't really like rock music that much - there are stand out classics of which some are included on here, there will always be bands who won't be dragged through the marketing myre, there'll be other bands who, because of writing credits etc, won't allow some of their better output and so you have to suffer the dross, there are others tied down by contractual agreement that have no choice and there are those who just don't care how many albums they appear on.

It's not as if the late 60's, 70's and early 80's didn't even give us enough rock music to listen to either.

It's a rock album - a supposedly anthemic one at that - it doesn't live up to the hype - Coldplay..............give me a break.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Absolutely love this album my kind of stuff all the songs are great classic rock with one or two slightly different tunes but go perfectly with the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
I agree with Spike's review - Dad Rocks 2009 is virtually track for track the same as this compilation, and cheaper too!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Nice mixture, easy listening, some old favourites not heard for a long time brought back some very happy teenage years memories!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Not quite a head banger download. Bit more like soft rock.so ok for us aging rockers..that's all folks. and more to write.NO.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
If you want to chill out and remember your past,then this is the Album for you.Fantastic Tunes,a Blast from the Past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)