Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to a great series
I had high hopes for the latest installment of the Ace Attorney games, and it certainly doesn't disappoint. The game lives up to the legacy passed down from the previous games and is overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

The graphics are pretty much the same as Apollo Justice, meaning that they are detailed two dimensional profile sprites, which is just...
Published on 7 Mar 2010 by Sean OToole

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing
I have played all the previous games in this series. I was hesitant in getting the Miles Edgeworth game which would complete the series for me (so far), as I was made aware through other reviews that the actual court proceedings are not a part of this game, and it just involves investigation. But I was keen to say I had completed the whole series so I purchased Miles...
Published on 13 Jun 2012 by rosy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to a great series, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Sean OToole (Derby, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I had high hopes for the latest installment of the Ace Attorney games, and it certainly doesn't disappoint. The game lives up to the legacy passed down from the previous games and is overall a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

The graphics are pretty much the same as Apollo Justice, meaning that they are detailed two dimensional profile sprites, which is just what anyone would expect from the game. The investigation parts of the game aren't as detailed in the sprite department, though the backgrounds and environments are very good.

Sound-wise, the music featured in the game is of a reasonable standard, someofthe characters themes are spot on, some are a little weak. The plot point music sets the right atmosphere most of the time, though there aren't really any stand-out excellent tracks. The sounds are much the same as in previous installments, though 'Hold it' still holds it's appeal.

The gameplay continues to improve over the previous games, with this one adding the new twist of not being set in a courtroom, but rather as an investigation. The cross-examination is still the main point of the game, pointing out fallacies using evidence, and the new logic system to piece information together to learn more about the crimes. Also like the previous games, whilst most of the evidence you need to present is pretty straight-forward, though again there are some parts where you'll think 'Why did you want me to show THAT piece now?', but it's not all that bad. The investigation twist and logic system breathe some new life into the franchise, leaving you ready for more of the same, or even a return to the courtroom.

The story itself is as gripping as the other games, and serves to fill in some details from those games also. In Ace Attorney style, parts of the individual cases come together to form the backbone of the overarching story of the game, which make the game that much more interesting. The new characters that are introduced are enjoyable enough, but it's mainly the re-introduction of old characters that make the game that much better.

Overall, the game is a very enjoyable one that anyone who has played the previous games will want to own, and whilst it is good enough as a standalone game, the introduction of characters will be mor enjoyable if you've played the previous games first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, if a bit unoriginal in places, 21 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Ace Attorney five has been announced, but what do we do in the meantime? Die of boredom? Absolutely not. Capcom has listened to the cry of Edgeworth fanboys and brought this little gem while we wait.

When I saw a trailer for this about two years back I thought "UGH this looks awful!" When I played a demo a year later I thought "This is AWESOME!" and pre-ordered the game straight away. I don't regret paying for express delivery!

Ace Attorney Investigations (AAI) is a spin-off of the Phoenix Wright series, a point and click adventure game where you take on the role of a lawyer. It's had three games, as well as Apollo Justice, where you play as ANOTHER attorney.

You play as Miles Edgeworth in AAI, a prosecutor character who served as your rival in the original game. I'm not going to give away spoilers, but he had a personality re-vamp in Justice for All, which made him extremely popular.
He returns to his office to find a dead body in there, ouch. Then is confronted by the killer, who threatens him. To which he replies "No-one gets away with committing murder in my office." At which point I'm thinking
"I've only been playing for thirty seconds and this is more epic than the end of some games I've played with riveting plots! Holy cow!"
The story spans over five episodes, (Which aren't in chronological order, in case you were wondering.) It has plenty of twists that you won't see coming, which I will not spoil. All the cases are murders, with one exception. Fundamentally,you can pretty much work out who the culprit is by process of elimination, however, in order to work out the details, you will need to play them through to the end, you need to play to the end of the game tie all the things together anyway, which is good.
There is masses of text in AAI, just like the original, although maybe not as much due to you being able to move a lot more freely this time. It's basically an interactive novel, but again, less of that than in Phoenix Wright. Still, if you hate games with lots of text, you could find this very tedious. The story is well written, and you do come to love the characters and start caring about them, which is a sign of good script, so that's one less thing to worry about.

AAI does not follow the original gameplay, there are no courtroom proceedings this time around, instead, it's a more fleshed out version of the investigation phases in the original. In a lot of ways it follows the same formula as games like Hotel Dusk: Room 215 (Nintendo DS), due to being able to run around in a 3rd person kind of way, as opposed to the original which had you looking at things from Phoenix's point of view in 1st person. There is the new logic system, like the Magatama and the bracelet in Ace Attorney two, three and four.
All Edgeworth needs is his over 9000 IQ!
Inside jokes aside, logic works by having two pieces of information and connecting them together to make a "logical" conclusion. It can be accessed any time during the investigation phase, so you don't need to worry about remembering it. There are aspects of Apollo Justice in the way you examine evidence, so that makes things more fun. The evidence was well designed, even if it was a bit blocky in places, but still very realistic. Be warned, the guns look frighteningly real.

You also have the Court Reco--- I mean the Organizer, which keeps all of the evidence in one place for you, and it gets updated regularly. You can use this for proving "contradictions" in crime scenes and testimony.
Yet another feature is Cross-Exami-- I mean Rebuttals, which were included in the original game a lot, and I found and still find them annoying, repetitive, and just irritating in general, however, not having them would be considered unforgivable I suppose, since they were a major part of Phoenix Wright and in that game, if you didn't have them, the courtroom parts would be dull.

The graphics are a realistic manga style, and all the people speak in gif-tastic, out of sync animations. The characters are colourful, and fun too look at, which adds to charm. They're slightly different to how they are in Phoenix Wright, but that isn't bad.

The music is catchy as heck, and gets in your head really easily, it's nice, and reminds me of Simcity. I don't know why. Most of it is very good. My hat is off to Noriyuki Iawadawe, the composer.
The infamous "Objection!" sound clip is still there, along with "Hold it!" and "Take That!" and you can still scream into the mic until you lose your voice, however, I prefer the press X. (On a side note, you can control either with buttons or the stylus. I use buttons.) Other characters who aren't lawyers also can say "Objection!" which is nice. It makes them more life like. When looking for contradictions n crime scenes, you can also say "Eureka!" (Similar to "Gotcha!" in Apollo Justice.) This was quite cute, I thought, if not a little cheesy. I prefer the original Japanese one, "That's it!" personally.

Overall, this game is fantastic, and well worth the price. It's extremely addicting. (I once played for three hours non-stop.)
There is no replay value other than wanting to just experience the story again, and you will beat the game quickly, so bear that in mind. Even if the investigation aspects are cliché, this game is absolutely worth a buy. Click add to basket. You know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some gummy and dummy moments..., 5 Mar 2010
By 
H. Reynolds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The Ace Attorney series returns in a new spin-off that let's Miles Edgeworth take the leading role. He lives up to it well and there are some very funny interactions between old and new characters. Of course the Edgeworth and Gumshoe (or as he gets re-named 'Gummy') team is a winning combination and loses nothing for the addition of Kay (aka The Great Thief) who acts as the typical wacky assistant (see 'The Great Magician' aka Trucy in Apollo and 'The Ace Psychic-in-Training' aka Maya in Phoenix). Kay is a great character who plays off well against Miles and has an interesting story of her own to tell. The other new characters are also a good addition, though feel a little same-y at times. It's the return of the old characters, however, that I felt let this game down. As a fan of the series, seeing the old characters is a big draw for me but at the same time the constant 'reveal' of them seemed to me a lazy way of the game-makers to engage the fans. Some old characters (like a 13 year old Franziska) were really interesting as the use of them in past and present scenes did add further character development; but most of the scrambled in old faces were just a comfortable nod to the old games without really hitting the mark by showing us the only two characters from the Phoenix Wright series we would actually love to see! Yep - yet again there is no Maya Fey and this time even no Phoenix himself. Perhaps these additions would have taken the spotlight away from Miles but it's been a few years now since we've had any mention of the Fey family...
I didn't find the cases (which are ultimately all murders) particularly as interesting as previous Attorney games. All the victims are forgettable and the culprits not too hard to spot. Even the big reveal at the end isn't as mind-blowing as plot twists in the Attorney series' usually go. However, if you found it frustrating before trying to work out which evidence to present and when, then this game could be more enjoyable. Miles usually spells out what evidence is needed and the 'logic' is not very difficult to follow. An easier game by far than any other of the series - I didn't so much as look for a cheat guide for any of the five episodes.
Though the new gameplay is good fun. I liked the option to deduce parts of the crime scenes and connecting the pieces of logic (though not difficult) was nevertheless a welcome addition.
I have to own that I missed the court room battles. There is an episode which lets you enter court (not in the usual manner however) and that was probably my favourite one. Staying at the crime scene somehow made each episode drag on - I wish we had the option to at least go to the Criminal Affairs dept or perhaps if there had been more forensics to do (the minor part of Ema Skye hardly added anything to the investigation - not once did we get to test for fingerprints or blood traces!).
Overall, it was a good game to play but unlike the previous ones I don't feel its one I would necessarily enjoy playing again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eureka!, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Richard S (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
With a host of new characters making the scene, and five gripping new cases to solve, this Tops the courtroom battles perfectly. The latest game keeps the story upbeat and fresh as apposed to the Phoenix Wright series, where you would work through 12 testimonies, before finishing that virtual "day". This time round, you are examining the crime scene, and challenging the witnesses in order to prove them wrong and declare them Guilty. This has a somewhat shorter challenge, however, for the most part, it is easier to spot where the contradiction is, however the area to find the evidence is much wider. A good game and worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles Edgeworth, 9 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
A great spin off of the Ace Attorney Series. Recommend for any fan. Well worth it. It doesn't follow the normal regime of court than investigation or vice versa, which in some ways is good as its that little bit different. Miles Edgeworth as the Main character and given him his own game was a good idea as he was character that did feature alot in the previous games of Ace Attorney, but is seen in a somewhat different light in this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I J'adore Miles Edgeworth, 2 April 2010
By 
S. Firth (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I'm a HUGE fan of the attorney series and here we are, a game i waited a long time for. To actually play the best character ever (imo) Miles Edgeworth. And if i love him so much, why not 5 stars? Well, as much as i loved the game, there were things i missed.

So other reviews have covered the game brilliantly so i wont go into it too much, but i really did miss not going to court. And also you dont get to move around much, you basically stay at the scene of the crime, or in that area. One of the best things about the previous games for me was seeing lots of different locations. Of course in this game you get to walk around and look for evidence that way, which worked really well. And there was a return of fantastic characters, you cant have an Ace Attorney game with out Detective Gumshoe! And you cant have the presence of Miles Edgeworth without his biggest fan (apart from me!) Mrs Oldbag! I wont reveal anyone else, but i love how she embarrasses Miles and calls him Edgey-poo :)

Also the new characters are great, Agent Lang is fab, and i love Kay Faraday as Edgeworth's partner. There are also some other fab newbies. But i do miss Phoenix, and the rivalry between him and Miles. I know the developers of the game are maybe trying to leave Phoenix in the past but i wish they would bring him back with Maya too. He doesnt even get a mention in this game, i think there is just one part where Miles merely hints about him.

The cases themselves are easier i think. Although still fun, and i still love the outrageous reactions of the ones that are guilty when they are found out :D There is a strong storyline running through all the cases which comes to a fabulous end in the last case, a true genius of a case. All the cases are well written again, but i just think without the court room, they feel easier. And apart from the last case, they dont feel as long either. Although i did love seeing the fabulous Franziska Von Karma as a 13 year old. You wont find a 13 year old Prosecuter anywhere in the real world :D

I dont know what the developers are going to bring out next, maybe another Apollo game? Which i would get as i do like the Apollo game. But i'd love a game involving the return of Phoenix Wright and Maya Fey and with Miles Edgeworth and Kay Faraday, maybe they could be a rival team in some huge cases? lol, i know, it wont ever happen, but i can dream. :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition To The Series, 26 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
A great installment brillaintly ridiculous and funny Ace Attorney series, a return to form after the disapointing (for me anyway) Apollo Justice, sees charismatic Prosecuter Miles Edgeworth at the helm.
The new "logic & deduction" system is real improvement, missing out the frustrating part in the earlier games where you inevitably end up stuck and jumping from one location to another looking for another character to talk to / finding a missed clue to click.
Despite the moving of this edition from the courtroom to the outside world, the gameplay has stayed familiar, with the testimony / rebuttal phase taking the place of the courtroom cross-examination. The graphics are improved and we even get a few cameos from some old characters, along with some well developed and humourous new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not another year..., 23 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Although it is not one of the best sequels to the Ace Attorney Series but the game team has once again brought us a mind gripping and thrilling story line which brings us days of enjoyment. The gameplay is similar to the previous series with the addition of logic / deduction and re-enactment of the crime scenes.There are some reviews criticising some of the "logic" in the gameplay but if you have played the Ace Attorney series before, you will not find it difficult to solve all the cases.

The only downside of this game, well it doesn't affect the five star rating, is the music. However, it will be very difficult for any of the coming installments, if any, to match the background music in Trial & Tribulation. Hopefully in the Ace Attorney series to come, there will be another master piece like "The Fragrance of Dark Coffee"

It's definitely a game not to miss, especially if you are a fan of the Ace Attorney Series. It fills some of the gaps between the last two installments - the Trial & Tribulations and Apollo Justice. It will be great if Capcom consider releasing episodes by episodes periodically for future release,more or less turning the game into a game manga. Then none of the Ace Attorney fans will need to wait for some 12 - 18 months or so before another 20 some hours of gameplay follows....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I have played all the previous games in this series. I was hesitant in getting the Miles Edgeworth game which would complete the series for me (so far), as I was made aware through other reviews that the actual court proceedings are not a part of this game, and it just involves investigation. But I was keen to say I had completed the whole series so I purchased Miles Edgeworth Investigations. I do feel they is something lacking in this game, due to the lack of the courtroom battle part. It has been replaced by awkward gimmicks like Logic and Deduction, which you use during the investigation, but they don't replace the excitement of the courtroom by any means. I am also finding the storyline hard to follow, and am not really engaged with the characters as I was in the previous games in the series. I wish they had stuck with the original concept. If your a fan of the series I can't say this is worth getting unless you can pick it up for a few quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars er, 31 May 2014
By 
Ms. Nc Welsh (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I completed the first 2 cases, but the 3rd one I got irritated and stopped playing. I'll let Pharoah 2091 complete the cases for me eh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ace Attorney Investigations: Miles Edgeworth (Nintendo DS)
17.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews