Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can bury the past, but it never dies...
Grace Adams appears to be living a happy contented life in the same village near St Andrews in Scotland where she was raised. Married to Paul and the mother of twin teenage daughters, Grace spends her time painting and caring for her family. Life is good, or so it seems.
The truth is, Grace has been hiding a secret for many years. A secret she has slowly came to...
Published on 9 May 2011 by Jennifer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can You Escape?
On the whole, I enjoyed this book. It's a good debut and I think that Corbin will go from strength to strength.
However, I struggled to find anything about Grace (the lead character) to like, it's hard to want the 'good' guy to come out on top when you don't actually care about them.
I felt that the story drifted off from time to time but was pleased that I...
Published on 11 May 2012 by Lincs Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tell Me No Secrets, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. Rem Martin "Rowena" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Paperback)
Fantastic first novel, I loved it from the start and got straight into it.Although I wanted to get to the end I didn't want to finish the book as then what would I read next! Corbin writes in a way that you really feel the pain and guilt that Grace, the heroine, struggles with on a daily basis and has done for the last 24 years. One feels if only Grace hadn't ignored her friend, life would have been quite different for her.As the plot unfolds it's not what you're expecting.Keep writing - can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 26 May 2009
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Paperback)
Julie Corbin's debut novel is simply stunning, I quite literally could not put it down from the moment I picked it up and finished it in one sitting.
The plot is brilliant, its twists and turns keeping you totally gripped from one chapter to the next. The characters are compelling yet totally believable and easy to associate with, and the backdrop of rural Scotland is beautifully portrayed, so much so that I felt I was there.
I really cannot reccomend this novel highly enough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tell me no secrets., 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Couldn't put it down. Full of twists and kept me enthralled throughout. Will definitely look for more books by Julie corbin.in in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden depths, 1 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Paperback)
What a great debut novel.

Grace has tried all her life to put her past behind her but it keeps on catching up with her. Jumping back and forth from present to past with great ease, the story of the death of a young girl which has repercussions as sure as the ripples in the deep pool in which she died builds tension right from the start.

The lead character Grace is deeply flawed by circumstances and follwoing her involvement in the death of young Rose when Grace was a teenager is something which still haunts her. Living in a small Scottish fishing community means that many of the people she meets on a daily basis are people she grew up with and all have their own secrets to be kept.

But when her childhood friend Orla suddenly reappears on her radar, alarm bells sound loudly. Orla was manipulative as a teenager and she knows the truth behind the lies and with them has the power to destroy Graces fragile stability forever. Even though Grace is doing a pretty good job of this herself with her poor decisions, flaky nature and tenuous grasp on keeping herself and her family together she is desperate to prevent Orla ripping her life apart.

Tense and thought provoking this is a psychological chiller of the very best kind which has you reading on into the night.

I'm very much looking forward to reading this authors next book - a real find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tell me no secrets, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Kindle Edition)
this is a page turner; an excellent read.It tells the story of Grace who is happily married;husband, two teenage girls and a very idyllic life.Until one day out of the blue all that is in danger of being destroyed.Into the picture comes a childhood friend who is sly, deceitful, utterly vindictive and has only one aim and that is to completely shatter Grace`s life.An event that happened when the two of them were teenage friends has haunted Grace from that time on,this, if told to the man she has married would end any happiness they have.The story moves along well, it is easy to get into,it goes from past to present,but only in fairly small chapters so you do not lose sight of the present day story line which holds all the anguish and torment that Grace is feeling.there is of course a twist at the end as i had the feeling that things would be slightly different to what you are being lead towards.I very soon felt great sympathy towards Grace as she was about to loose everything on the whim of a so-called friend who is not such a friend after all.She had been so traumatised at the time of the event,and had only managed to bury it away in the back of her mind through the help of Euan a boyfrind at the time.He is on the scene again in the present, only this time he has married, but this does not stop him from persuing Grace,and when the viscious friend appears he is there to comfort her. Needless to say no -one is completely truthful which makes for a nice little twist at the end.i recommend this book if you like a book ,easy to read uncomplicated but a cast of characters that are well portrayed and true to life.I have not read any of this authors works until now but will be looking for anything else she has written and hope any other work will be just as enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puts you through the wringer!, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Kirsty "book fan" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Paperback)
A very good book, especially considering this is the author's debut novel. It's not the type book that you really enjoy, as it is very heavy and emotionally wrought. I actually felt quite depressed every time I picked it up, but this was only because the author was extremely clever at setting you on edge, and weaving an atmosphere of anticipation and dread.

It was a very interesting plot, with a variety of flawed characters that were all interwoven to a create a good thriller that kept me reading well into the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Paperback)
Loved this book, read it very quickly as wanted to know what happens next.
Will definitely be reading more Julie Corbin books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tell me no secrets, 14 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Paperback)
loved this book, i came across this authour om my reccomendions from amazon, couldnt put this book down i read it in two days, great twist, ive just ordered tell me no lies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 5 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Paperback)
For some reason I could not get myself to read this book, but im so glad I did! This is a perfectly written book! So clever and although it is written, going back and forth to different times you do not get confused and instantly know where in the story it is! Absolutely fabulous book! highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant New Author, 7 July 2010
By 
Jenna (Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tell Me No Secrets (Paperback)
This is a brilliant first novel, full of atmosphere and tension. Grace lives a life which is haunted by the memory of a 9 year old girl called Rose who died by drowning in a pond during a guide camping trip. Her life has never been the same since, as she, Euan and Orla carry secrets about what really happened that fateful night.
Having not seen Orla for many years, she suddenly appears back on the scene and is threatening to tell all. But what is the truth? This is a multi layered story which manages to avoid becoming too complicated, thus keeping the reader's focus and attention on the things that matter. Keeping secrets is very hard work, and Grace, Orla and Euan each have their own reasons for not being rigorously honest. It can't last, and the buried truth finally comes to light.
I like the way the author portrays the character of Grace. She is suitably flawed, whereas if she had been sweet and innocent it would have spoiled the whole thing. If I have a slight criticism, it would be that very little came as a complete surprise at the end. I did anticipate most of the outcome, although I must admit not all of the details. Nevertheless I found this a very gripping read, and would highly recommend it. I also look forward to reading more from this talented new author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tell Me No Secrets
Tell Me No Secrets by Julie Corbin
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews