Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good war time action/spy film ....
This is possibly the best of the 'macaroni combat' films that came out of Italy in the 60s and 70s. Frederick Stafford plays a GB soldier who discovers that some of his comrades have been murdered by Nazi spies who plan to enter GB via the evacuation of Dunkirk with the intention of destroying secret radar bases. Stafford returns to GB and is given the job of forming a...
Published on 12 Mar 2011 by Mr. D. Pyke

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull And Boring
Eagles Over London is supposed to be the war film of all war films. well, let me tell you it's nothing of anything really. for a start there's one actor that I know in this dvd (Van Johnson) looking very lost wearing a RAF uniform. the acting is wooden and the charectors boring just to watch. the story starts from our soliders leaving Dunkirk. but, some SS spies has...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by John Moore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull And Boring, 27 Jun 2010
By 
John Moore "John Moore" (Dorset. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
Eagles Over London is supposed to be the war film of all war films. well, let me tell you it's nothing of anything really. for a start there's one actor that I know in this dvd (Van Johnson) looking very lost wearing a RAF uniform. the acting is wooden and the charectors boring just to watch. the story starts from our soliders leaving Dunkirk. but, some SS spies has killed some british soliders and taken there idenities and posing as the names of the dead men. this group head to London to destroy the entire radar detection system across the english coast. of course there's a beautiful girl German spy her dress sense is not even 1940's fashion but, looking more of 1970's fashions. you can find loads of faults with this film. apart some scenes filmed in and around London. take a look through tower bridge and on your left you will see the post office tower! funny, I thought that was built and opened in the 1960's. and to add injury to us English how about have german messersmits with english symbals and the Luftwaffe have spitfires with german symbals on the wings and bodies of aircraft? well this producer has most certainly done his home work to make the film as real as world war two really was. the fashions are not right buildings that were not even built are seen in the film and our great RAF have German aircraft and the Germans have English aircraft. dull and boring this dvd will now make it's journey to the second-hand shop. don't buy this dvd it will be a great disappointment to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful film, 25 Sep 2010
By 
Terry Hannan "tramhan38" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
This must be one of the most inaccurate and badly researched war films of all time. Not only is the whole story line bizarre, but the aircraft depicted, Spitfires cast as Me.109's and Merlin engined Me.109's cast as Spitfires add visual insult to in injury.........most of the pilots flying for the RAF seem to be Free French in any case. I really pity Van Johnston, an American actor of some repute becoming involved in this film. Most of the aerial combat seemed to take place at night, another historical inaccuracy and the real truth is that no Germans infiltrated into Great Britain via the Dunkirk evacuation, and those who did parachute or otherwise landed in Great Britain were very quickly rounded up by the very efficient security forces. I would rate this film 1 out of 10. Terrible stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great premise, mixed results, 17 Mar 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Italian WW2 epic Eagles Over London (aka La Bataglia d'Inghilterra aka Battle Squadron) may be an exploitation film, but it's certainly not cheap - tanks are destroyed, bridges blown up, columns of refugees strafed and the Dunkirk beach scenes are convincingly crowded - indeed, the chaos is so effectively staged by director Enzo G. Castellari that you can't really disagree with Quentin Tarantino's verdict that "It makes Atonement look like a piece of ----!" Unfortunately it also has Messerschmits with paint jobs playing Spitfires, Spitfires with paint jobs playing Messerchmits and Van Johnson's Air Marshal directing the Battle of Britain from the air in a suicide mission. But while it's no great shakes at period detail - or even geographical detail judging from the mountain ranges in the background in the coastal scenes - it does have a terrific premise: during the evacuation of France, a number of German saboteurs assume the identities of British soldiers to sneak into the country undetected amid the bedlam and wreak explosive chaos, with only Hungarian officer Frederic Stafford harbouring his suspicions, unaware that his new best friend Francisco Rabal is one of the men he's hunting...

Sadly the film's first half is so incredibly impressive that the rest of it struggles not to appear anti-climactic, and sections do get a bit flabby and drawn out before the film suddenly springs back to life with an action setpiece that sees some of the saboteurs unwittingly turning into human bombs while trying to destroy a radar station. The romantic triangle subplot involving Stafford, Ida Galli and Johnson (who's still acting as if he's in a 1940s MGM musical) is dead weight and the dogfight finale an unconvincing mixture of back projection, stock footage and melodrama, but overall it's an entertainingly outrageous macaroni combat movie that leaves Castellari's better-known Inglorious Bastards in the shade. Blue Underground's Region 1 NTSC DVD is a nice package too - a good 2.35:1 widescreen transfer with English soundtrack, the second part of an interview with Castellari and a worshipping Tarantino that began on the US Inglorious Bastards DVD, a deleted scene, trailer and a surprisingly enjoyable featurette of Castellari and Tarantino introducing a rare LA screening of the film. Not as much fun as it promises, perhaps, but so much better than it has any right to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading War film, 5 July 2010
By 
R. P. Carter (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
I wish I had read the reviews before I had bought this film, it would have saved me the money in buying it and the time in watching it. It is riddled with mistakes historically and the acting is poor. The cover is enticing but that is the the only really good thing I can say about this product. Save your money and buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good war time action/spy film ...., 12 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
This is possibly the best of the 'macaroni combat' films that came out of Italy in the 60s and 70s. Frederick Stafford plays a GB soldier who discovers that some of his comrades have been murdered by Nazi spies who plan to enter GB via the evacuation of Dunkirk with the intention of destroying secret radar bases. Stafford returns to GB and is given the job of forming a special unit to stop them. All this happens against the backdrop of the Battle of Britain. Forget historical accuracy and enjoy what is in fact a fast moving and ver yenjoyable action/spy film. The action set pieces created by director Enzo Castellari are first class and he makes what must have been a tight budget seem like much more by using some imaginative camera techniques and employing some excellent production design. Stafford is good in the lead and the rest of the cast are up to par. I recommend this film to anyone who enjoys Italian action films. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Eagles over London, 13 Jan 2014
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
during the evacuation of Dunkirk, a group of German spies kill some British soldiers and steal their identity. Their mission is to disrupt the RAF communications before the German invasion but Captain Paul Stevens is hot on their trail and slowly revealing their true identities.

After the success of the Battle of Britain the Italians decided to make their own version of that film and I was quite shocked to find that this is mainly about a group of Germans going undercover in London and not about the Blitz itself. The original director was to be Alberto De Martino but Enzo G Castellari impressed the producers with his split screen ideas and got the job as the director.

Frederick Stafford plays Captain Paul Stevens who along with Van Johnson's character George Taylor is in love with Lt Meg played by Italian actress Evelyn Stewart but for the most part this love triangle isn't really the main focus of the film. Some other good casting is Luigi Pistilli as the cruel undercover agent Major Krueger but the worst is Renzo Palmer as a really annoying British Sgt Mulligan who tries to be funny throughout the entire film but it doesn't take for him to become irritating.

As usual Enzo G Castellari makes some exciting action sequences, the best been the opening scenes in the Dunkirk evacuations. The worst however are the aerial dogfights which have some nice use of split screen but they are filled with poor model aircraft and studio shots. He also is able to create a effective relationship between Stevens and a German officer going undercover as a British officer called Martin Donovan who at the films climax he is forced to kill.

Francesco De Masi composes a heroic and catchy score that is similar to the one he did for Inglorious Bastards.

Overall a decent little Italian film that fans will enjoy but not if you like your films historically accurate.

The dvd features a interesting interview between Quentin Taratino and Enzo Castellari and is in widescreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate, but still fun!, 15 Feb 2013
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
This film is not totally the embarrassment that some other reviewers would have you believe. But let us be clear from the outset - it is a fictional story, not an attempt to portray actual events. And it was made on a small budget, so plenty of corners were cut in the production. That said, they did alright in many aspects - but it depends what you expect from your war movies I'd guess. The lead actor was Van Johnson - who the very young director Enzo Castellari had fought hard to get. By all accounts he wasn't entirely comfortable on set, but fortunately that unease doesn't come across in the film.

The plot imagines that, as the British are evacuating from Dunkirk, an elite commando squad of German SS spies manages to infiltrate the troops. Posing as allies their mission is to destroy the entire radar system that helps defend the English southern coast. But one of the British officers has noticed something is amiss and it becomes a race against time to reveal the truth and prevent disaster.

So, you can either enjoy the fictional tale, with its carefully built suspense and thrills - or you can look on aghast at the inserts of stock footage and historically inaccurate narrative. I try not to let myself get distracted by errors and inaccuracies, so for me it was mostly hokum, but in a compelling way where you can cheer on the good guys and sit nervously on the edge of your seat as some of the events unfold.

The director Enzo Castellari is one of the great boyhood heroes of current-day US film-maker Quentin Tarantino. The DVD includes an interview with the two directors in discussion, where Castellari reveals some of the issues that arose during filming. One stylistic element he refers to is his excessive use of zoom technique on certain shots - because it was his first opportunity to work with that type of camera, new at the time. Overall, I thought it was a well put together effort from a young director on a limited budget - and an intriguing plot idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
arrived on time given as a gift to a friend who was very pleased with it and enjoyed watching it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, 12 July 2010
By 
B. Olsen (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eagles Over London [DVD] (DVD)
This big budget Italian war film may not be the last word in authenticity, as you will learn from Mr. Moore's review, but I found it very entertaining. Not to be taken too seriously, but lots of action and great fun, as can be expected from the director of the original 'Inglorious Bastards'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eagles Over London [DVD]
Eagles Over London [DVD] by Enzo G. Castellari (DVD - 2010)
£8.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews