Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£23.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 February 2013
I saw this at the cinema when it first came out and hadn't seen it since. It is a strange movie, which is a curious mixture of black comedy and psychological drama. Theresa Russell wins the best actor award, managing to be both sexy, sad, scared and unhinged all in a 87 minute movie. Hers is a terrific performance. She plays a woman who is frustrated and bored with her life, and particulary her husband (well played by Christopher Lloyd), who is a model train fanatic.

Gary Oldman is the catalyst for the events that unfold. He is possibly her lost son, or equally possibly a complete fantasy character in her mind. Oldman's performance is hyper, and not without merit, but for me it could have been reined in a little.

The dialog and situations make it clear, even if you didn't know, that this was written by Dennis Potter, and the wonderful Sarah Bernard in a supporting role (as a nurse) steals every scene she is in.

It certainly won't be a film that everyone will enjoy, so I'd advise caution!
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Theresa Russell and Gary Oldman make an inspired pairing in this film which confuses the viewer as to their relation to each other - is she his mother or not, or what is going on here? It is very bizarre, with a train-obsessed dentist husband and all the associated symbolism, and a script by Dennis Potter that never lets you see the distinction between fantasy and reality too clearly. It's like a psychedelic jigsaw puzzle with big brazen pieces. Russell is very beautiful and Oldman as sexy as usual in films made around this time, even if he does lurch through some disconcerting baby voices ... It's all a bit unhinged, but intriguing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
This is a great film for all fans of Dennis Potter, Nicholas Roeg, Theresa Russell or Gary Oldman. Also great performances from Christopher Lloyd and Sandra Bernhard. Sometimes nightmarish and disturbing, sometimes very funny, the film is seen from the point of view of Russell's character, and as in other films by both Roeg (Donøt Look Now) and Potter (The Singing Detective) the voewer os taken by surprise when trying to figure out what's real and what's imagined.
But WHY do we still have to put up with wide screen films being presented in the old-fashioned tv-aspect ratio on dvd - with a third of the image missing?
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2010
I had this movie on VHS at one time but the tape and my VHS player are long gone. The movie is so bizarre and intriguing, I couldn't wait to see it again, now 20 years older and I am not disappointed. As bizarre as ever, this movie is just something you need to see. I always walk away feeling dirty, excited, repulsed, offended, intrigued, confused, thoughtful, and so many other emotions, all at the same time.

The second comment I would like to make is not so much about the movie as the service. I live in the USA. The movie is not released her on DVD so I have to watch it with a region free program on my computer. However, when going to buy it, in any format online in the USA,I was shocked at what people wanted for it. In ordering directly from the UK, I got a fantastic price and the shipping was amazingly fast. I was very please and have added Amazon.co.uk to my desktop for future use.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2010
As is often the case with Nic Roeg, you need some knowledge of esoteric matters to understand this film's deeper import. Repetition is a major theme and what is called karma in the mystical traditions of the east can be thought of as repetition compulsion. The main culprit for repetition even has a repetitive name - Henry Henry and he is obsessed with his model train set which, needless to say involves the endless, pointless, repetitive journies of his toy trains.

Linda, Theresa Russell's character, is weary of this repetition and wants more from life. In eastern terms she has developed Buddhi, the discriminating intellect that sees the suffering inherent in life. What follows is tantamount to the death/rebirth experience of shamanic traditions which is also paralleled in eastern traditions as the death of the ego.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
One of the stranger HandMade Films but worth a view for the soundtrack (great openning track from Lennon) and a beautifully sensuous performance from 'Mother' Theresa Russell. Not for the faint hearted, this is one of the weaker HandMades as it is rather disturbing at times, but nevertheless, one for the 'thinkers'. Recommended viewing for any fans of Handmade projects.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
Unless you are a Dennis Potter or a Gary Oldman Fan this is probably not for you. Seriously, seriously wierd....and you absolutely MUST stick with it right to the very end in order for it to make any sense (it finally does - quite chillingly)
Lots of typical Potteresque themes going on...
childhood...innocence...guilt....violence....people suddenly bursting into song etc...plus his uncanny ability to write dialogue and scenarios which seem like 'flim-flam' and yet haunt you long afterwards.
Olman creates some tense and touching moments, but is wildy over-the-top for too much of the film. His performance, and the whole film would have benefited from a directer strong enough to rein him in.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
Great job. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
I love this film because it's a rare film mysterious and fantastic. If you are fan'Gary Oldman, you will love it. There are also a couple scenes with Gary Oldman very sexy !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.