Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film
Such an under rated classic. Great ensemble piece. A dark comedy. Great cast. Les Dennis as the brother is excellent. Julie Walters, as ever is great.
Published on 5 April 2011 by Brightonfella

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars APPALLING TRANSFER - DO NOT BUY!!!!
An excellent film deserves a better transfer than this, particularly for a 1996 film.

The colour is all over the place, the image smeary with bad motion defects throughout with no care taken on the transfer at all.

Fans of this film are better off seeking the Fox VHS version as watching the film this way ruins it.

Shame as it is an...
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by marxthedude


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
Such an under rated classic. Great ensemble piece. A dark comedy. Great cast. Les Dennis as the brother is excellent. Julie Walters, as ever is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic film. Extremely watchable again and again. RIP Laura Sadler who is no longer with us, having died at the tender age of 23. But it is a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunned by this film, 10 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
this film was so good when it finished i was sad as i could never watch it for the first time again. the parts played by julie walters and les dennis were brilliant. as i child of the 50's i have finally had a glimpse of what went on behind the suburban net curtains of my childhood. to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thrilling viewing., 17 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this film on t.v.a few years ago but it was in my opinion a film that you could see more than once so I decided to purchase it.I enjoyed it for the second time and knew that I had made the right decision to add it to my large collection of d.v.d's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a gift for someone who had seen this and lost their original copy. It was just what they wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still at a loss for words, 21 Aug 2007
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
The only thing I can say is that it deserves all the stars in the Universe. From the choice of songs ( Rosemary Clooney ) to Julie Walter's performance ... Superb ! Let's not forget Miss Sadler as the adolescent daughter and of course, my favourite, Rupert Graves at his best. Even the dog is worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very impressive, 30 Aug 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
Intimate Relations is a fairly amazing film - a black comedy that really is very dark, funny, a bit unnerving ... Marjorie Beasley, a hypocritical, snobbish and desperate mother and housewife takes in a lodger (Harold) whom she has very clear designs on, her husband being quite out of the running. Problems arise when her daughter Joyce, aged 13, develops a crush on the young man and tries to use her mother's affair to get close to him herself, while Mrs Beasley also blackmails him by threatening to tell the police he has been interfering with her (he hasn't). I loved it at the time of release in 1996, partly because the tone is compelling, partly because I have never seen Julie Walters more brilliant, and also for Rupert Graves who is always very appealing. The true story it is based on is a grim one, it has to be said, and perhaps too twisted to be as successful as it deserves. Writer and director Philip Goodhew has opted for a tone that seems straight from the tabloids, but reveals other facets as well, notably in the sad childhood of Harold, giving him a very plausible background and eliciting sympathy quite subtly for his manipulated actions. Even Mrs Beasley gets a scene of self-justification, revealing the loss of a son, which should perhaps have been given more emphasis, and the character is not completely black and white in her attitude to Joyce - there is some genuine maternal feeling. You might say she is, to some extent, the victim of a society that has drummed into her the importance of being a 'lady', requiring a total denial of sex. At this level the film becomes really quite interesting as a study of morals and social conditioning, and the ugliness it can lead to, the extremity of events only serving to make the case more clearly.

However what you notice most is the brilliant acting from Walters, who delivers her lines with the most incredible relish and projects the character with great impact - the performance has a kind of genius. No stone is left unturned to play up the humour of the situation, even where this may seem unkind towards husband Stanley. There is no rounding off of the edges, so the laughter is often uncomfortable - no bad thing in the way it corresponds to the anarchic principle in life, and gives different notes colliding off one another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, those were the times!, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
A bit dated, but nostalgia of how things worked in daily life when I was a child is immediate. Culturally, it gives me a view into British society of the time - the stiffer upper lip which TOWIE has made a long distant memory! Jokes aside, really good story to these days, great boxer dog playing the "gender confused" pet (must watch to understand). And what happened to Mr. Goodhew?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars APPALLING TRANSFER - DO NOT BUY!!!!, 18 Sep 2011
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent film deserves a better transfer than this, particularly for a 1996 film.

The colour is all over the place, the image smeary with bad motion defects throughout with no care taken on the transfer at all.

Fans of this film are better off seeking the Fox VHS version as watching the film this way ruins it.

Shame as it is an excellent gem from English cinema, particularly for the late Laura Sadler's performance.

REPEAT - DO NOT BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Intimate Relations [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Intimate Relations [DVD]
Intimate Relations [DVD] by Philip Goodhew (DVD - 2010)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews