Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still France's most favourite film
Ask any Frenchman what his favourite film is, and chances are this one will come out on top. The film came out in 1966 and it held the French box-office record until Dany Boon's 'Les Ch'tis' in 2008! It stars two of the country's best-loved comic actors, Louis de Funès and Bourvil, in a WW2 comedy also featuring the talents of Terry-Thomas. The original title "La...
Published on 6 Sept. 2010 by robert51912

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy it ... if you speak French
I speak middling French and it's just as well - the subititles are lousy! In several instances sentences start but do not finish. I was watching it with a non-French speaker and he didn't finish watching it. Obviously, I couldn't do instant translation, or I'd miss the film myself, so it's a bit hopeless unless you understand at least some of the language.
Published 13 months ago by Caro on the couch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still France's most favourite film, 6 Sept. 2010
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
Ask any Frenchman what his favourite film is, and chances are this one will come out on top. The film came out in 1966 and it held the French box-office record until Dany Boon's 'Les Ch'tis' in 2008! It stars two of the country's best-loved comic actors, Louis de Funès and Bourvil, in a WW2 comedy also featuring the talents of Terry-Thomas. The original title "La Grande Vadrouille" is difficult to render but refers to the mad dash across occupied France. In 1942, an RAF plane is shot down over Paris and the three airmen parachute to safety: one lands on Bourvil's painter's scaffolding, another on the roof of the Opera house where the orchestra (led by de Funès) is rehearsing and Terry-Thomas ends up in the seal's bathing pond at the zoo. Our two heroes somewhat reluctantly join forces to take them under their wing(s) and thwart the occupying German police's efforts to capture them before they can escape to the 'free zone'.

The comic moments from this film by Gérard Oury and now firmly engraved in the French people's subconscious are too numerous to mention. Watch it in French with subtitles rather than a dubbed version - there's a fair amount of English in it anyway. You'll find yourself whistling 'Tea for Two' the next time you visit the Turkish baths, that's for sure! It's hard to believe that this film is practically unknown in Britain. Don't neglect it any longer. If you like it, give "Le Corniaud" a try as well - by the same director and with the same two stars - the scene of the crash with a 2CV at the beginning is THE classic comedy moment in French cinema!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Je Dis!, 9 May 2010
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
This 1966 film of three Allied airmen (including Terry-Thomas) escaping from German-occupied Paris, where they crashland, to Vichy France, with the bumbling help of the film's French stars, is a real hoot, made only 22 years after the end of the Occupation. I cannot believe that the makers of "Allo, Allo!" had not seen Terry-Thomas speaking French (a little better than the English Policeman) or the "English Airmen" hiding in barrels although I saw it first this year.

Imagine a Turkish bath scene where two Frenchmen both whistle the code tune "Tea For Two" and believe each other to be English, or a hotel where there are two bedrooms both apparently numbered "6" ;-)

In the film the Germans are real Germans and the French and Allies are real too. Make sure you watch it with subtitles and you will catch all the fun of the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short of real belly-laughs but it'll still leave you with a smile on your face, 18 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
Selling over 17 million tickets in France alone, Gérard Oury's La Grande Vadrouille aka Don't Look Now - We're Being Shot At held the record as the most successful French film of all time for four decades until it was finally beaten by Bienvenue chez les Ch'tis, and if it's far from the funniest French comedy ever made, it's certainly a very likeable one that plays to its two stars' strengths. Bourvil is likeable and occasionally taken advantage of as the working class painter and decorator and Luis de Funes pompous and easily flustered as the temperamental conductor who find themselves on the run with Terry Thomas and his British bomber crew after they bail out over Paris during the Second World War, along the way encountering beautiful puppeteers, nuns and cross-eyed German gunners. The wartime setting might account for why the jokes seem be largely rationed and recycled, with all of the comic situations they find themselves in old hat even in 1967, but if it's short of real belly-laughs it's good natured enough to still leave you with a smile on your face. It's a handsome looking picture too thanks to surprisingly lavish production values and some gorgeous Scope photography by Claude Renoir, though Georges Auric's score doesn't fare so well, often feeling as if it's been cut very abruptly short in the sound editing just as it's about to take off.

Optimum's UK DVD release offers a very nice 2.35:1 widescreen transfer with the original French trailer and teaser trailer the only extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French Classic, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a classic in France that until recently held the box office record in France. It stars a double act in Andre Bourvil and Louis De Funes who are legends of French cinema. It also stars the very English Terry Thomas or Big Moustache as he is sometimes called in this film. It covers the comedic story of three English world war two airmen that crash in Paris and rendezvous (or attempt to) and try to escape.

The humour is typically French, not quite the normal French farce but still very funny. It has both physical and lyrical humour and plays to stereotypes without going over those lines. Its not a short film at almost 2 hours but its quite sweet, often silly and always funny. Its not going to engage the brain cells overly, but who cares. This is a comedy classic for a reason. Unheard of on these shores it should be seen more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic French movie, 27 Dec. 2010
By 
A. Lattes "alex" (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
A great movie, my kids love it and I love watching it with them, we just laugh over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece (chef-d'oeuvre), 4 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
This must be one of the greatest European movie masterpieces (chef-d'oeuvre)

This is a comedy set in the WWII, during the German occupation of France

This comedy far exceeds anything I have seen from other continents.
It also contains a love story. The Germans in this movie follow their duties
(Ein Befehl ist ein Befehl) but otherwise they are human. The movie it is also a testemony how people lived and thought during this period (Paris + "provence")

Last, just to look at the landscape, houses, architecture, technology
captured by the movie is interesting. The world changed fast and looking
back at a movie which more than 50 years (shot in the 60s but gives the impresssion
of being much older)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good dvd, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
I am not a fan of war films at all but this one is so well made and comical! If you have not seen it before, do not be put off by the fact it is French as you have subtitles. It is a great film to watch! You will laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy it ... if you speak French, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
I speak middling French and it's just as well - the subititles are lousy! In several instances sentences start but do not finish. I was watching it with a non-French speaker and he didn't finish watching it. Obviously, I couldn't do instant translation, or I'd miss the film myself, so it's a bit hopeless unless you understand at least some of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 31 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really funny film with some wonderful acting. Terry Thomas is great as the RAF pilot but the real stars are the painter and conductor - a wonderful double act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La Grande Vadrouille, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] (DVD)
I am amazed that it took me so long to find out about this film,it has been so I am told the most popular film in france for many years, there is a mixture of French and English language in it but mainly french with english sub titles, do not expect this to be roaringly funny,it is not,but more of a gentle humour,which lasts the length of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

La Grande Vadrouille [DVD]
La Grande Vadrouille [DVD] by Gerard Oury (DVD - 2010)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews