Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb London Musical Revue - Back to 1963
It's back to the Swingin' 60s for this non-stop musical revue. The film was made by Delmore in 1963 and just runs for around one hour - But what an hour!

The Quality is absolutely superb - Pin Sharp - Excellent Colour it is hard to believe that it is nearly 50 years old.

The film (in a highly amusing style - with excellent continuity) takes us to...
Published on 13 Feb 2010 by Movie Guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's all over the place
It is an interesting throwback of a film. Several pop performers/middle of the road artists link a very weak storyline. As a Londoner, I appreciated the locations, but it is easy to see why Lance Percival and William Rushton never became major film actors.
Published 6 months ago by Hopefulcook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb London Musical Revue - Back to 1963, 13 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It'S All Over Town [DVD] (DVD)
It's back to the Swingin' 60s for this non-stop musical revue. The film was made by Delmore in 1963 and just runs for around one hour - But what an hour!

The Quality is absolutely superb - Pin Sharp - Excellent Colour it is hard to believe that it is nearly 50 years old.

The film (in a highly amusing style - with excellent continuity) takes us to London (mainly with a Covent Garden setting) and showcases the talents of Frankie Vaughan, The Hollies, Lance Percival, William Rushton, The Springfields, Acker Bilk & His Paramount Jazz Band and The Bachelors (to name a few).

Unlike TV Pop shows this film really flows - Music all the way with comedy and a good deal of 60s glamour (including bunny girls). Every time you see it you will spot something different.

Frankie Vaughan sings four or five songs including a rollicking number (pub setting) with Philips recording Artistes Jan & Kelly "The Trouble With Man". Other numbers include "Give Me the Moonlight, Give Me the Girl", "I'm Gonna be a good boy now" (with 1920s flapper girls) and "The Alley Alley O".

The Hollies (astride motorcycles) sing "Now's the Time".

The Springfields sing "If I were down and out" (Covent Garden setting)

The Bachelors sing "Stars will remember"

Acker Bilk plays (with the Paramount Jazz Band) "Sippin' Cider much to the amusement of an attractive blonde.

There are other numbers, by the above artistes (and some others) including a novely one by Lance Percival.

This film represents the best revue of its kind - I could not believe it when it appeared complete on DVD. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's all over the place, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It'S All Over Town [DVD] (DVD)
It is an interesting throwback of a film. Several pop performers/middle of the road artists link a very weak storyline. As a Londoner, I appreciated the locations, but it is easy to see why Lance Percival and William Rushton never became major film actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 60s had yet to swing, 11 Jan 2011
By 
Ms. A. Crane (South of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It'S All Over Town [DVD] (DVD)
I guess it was my own fault really; I only bought this DVD because The Hollies are in it, but if, like me, you already own the "Nash years" DVD, then you'll already have seen their rather brief appearance. (This would be much better if Lance perival and friend could be quiet in the background so we could just watch The Hollies!). That, and a couple of decent tunes by The Springfields, aside, the quality of the music on this DVD is poor; very old-fashioned and somewhat "square". The plot is virtually non-existant and any attempts at comedy fall flat on their face. If you like Frankie Vaughn, however, you're in for a great treat - he sings quite a few on here (including a highly embarassing version of "The Big Ship Sails on the Alley Alley O" !). Picture quality is good - that's about the only positive thing I can say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the Swingin' Sixties., 11 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It'S All Over Town [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the review given by Ms A. Crane (see above) This show really is a 50's revue without the rock 'n roll and there is little here identifiable as synonymous with the 'swingin' sixties'. The audience for this film and soporific music must have been middle-aged in 1963. The most striking thing for me was the reminder of just how unique Dusty Springfield's voice was. Quite what Percival & Rushton are up to I'm not sure but to call it funny would be stretching things a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TERRIBLE MOVIE, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Mervyn O. Hagger "freebornjohn" (Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It'S All Over Town [DVD] (DVD)
I bought it because it is linked to Caroline Maudling whose life I was researching as part of another project. This movie didn't help me and one wonders how it ever got made in the first place.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 20 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It'S All Over Town [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting and inexpensive trip down Memory Lane. Not exactly what I'd expected but thoroughly enjoyable nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It'S All Over Town [DVD]
It'S All Over Town [DVD] by Douglas Hickox (DVD - 2010)
12.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews