Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best twist yet
This book was one of Deavers first "real" thrillers. At least, one of the first for which he is best known.
This book has everything...there is a great title, just for a start. then there are some great characters, who are very interesting. They are all on the hunt for Michael Hrubek, who has escaped from his psychiatric hospital and is now on his way to...
Published on 6 April 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You won't need to pray for sleep when reading this
The first chapter was excellent - and the characters were believable and well written. There was a wonderful dark atmosphere to the book right from the start and I was looking forward to a gripping read.
However, the gripping read never materialised. I agree with earlier reviewers that the book would have benefited from some very aggressive editing. It really...
Published on 5 July 2000 by andreamch@lineone.net


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best twist yet, 6 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Paperback)
This book was one of Deavers first "real" thrillers. At least, one of the first for which he is best known.
This book has everything...there is a great title, just for a start. then there are some great characters, who are very interesting. They are all on the hunt for Michael Hrubek, who has escaped from his psychiatric hospital and is now on his way to gain vengeance on Liz Atchesion, the teacher who testified at his murder trial...
this book is typical Deaver. A book set over a short period of time, with twists and turns all the way. Deaver reveals the plot slowly skein by skein, and it unfolds before us like a tapestry. This is one of his most complex plots yet, and almost certainly his most character driven ever. it focuses much more on the relationships between all the characters, and how they act, than many of his others.
there is a great plot, it's devious, inventive, exciting, and intriguing. typical Deaver, basically. you never, never, know where the book is going. there are some great revelations along the way, too. the dark and stormy night is a perfect setting for the book, and gives a great feel of calustrohpobia and isolatedness.
However, the one thing i didn't like quite so much about this book was that, although it is an excellent thriller, it is a bit too long. Not a lot, but perhaps if it had been 50 pages shorter, and the pace a bit quicker, it would have been perfect, and definitely Deaver's best ever book.
Why this book is such a muct-read is the absolutely fantastic twist at the end. It is the best twist Deaver has ever devised. it shies away from the usual twists to do with identity which Deaver usually uses (i.e. people not really being who you tihnk they are) but is much more than that. it is a superb twist, and it really blew my socks off. (even if it is delivered a bit weakly.) A stunning twist. Much more complex and deep than many of his others. I feel proud to say that i have read it, and hope that a little bit of his magic rubs off on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Winter Read!, 28 Sep 2004
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Paperback)
Having already read 'A Maiden's Grave' and seen 'The Bone Collector' I already knew that Jeffery Deaver had a great story-telling style. The twists at the end of his books make them worth reading!
'Praying for Sleep' is probably not as fast-paced as some other crime-thrillers I have read, but nonetheless, it is a really good book. I stuck with it and by the last few chapters I had changed my mind about the entire book! Jeffery Deaver's portrayal of the Hrubeck (one of the main character's) is great. You feel sorry for him one moment, then think he's a cold blooded killer! The author doesn't go into unnecessary details abouts scenery or characters' pasts, everything he writes has a purpose, which is revealed at the end.
If you've already read a Jeffery Deaver novel, or are thinking of reading one, I would definately recommend this book to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, 1 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. I'm a big fan of Deaver's anyway, but this is one of my favourites. The great thing about his books, this in particular, is the way that you feel clever because you think you have sussed it and are ahead of the characters, but the book is always one step ahead of you!! Great! Even though i've read loads of them and look for a twist, i never find it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to Deaver's high standards, 15 Sep 2001
By 
DiBosco "RJW" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, one of Deaver's real page-turner-you'll-never-guess-the-ending books. From start to finish it's gripping and it, as many of his books are, is superbly paced and tense. Well worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You won't need to pray for sleep when reading this, 5 July 2000
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Paperback)
The first chapter was excellent - and the characters were believable and well written. There was a wonderful dark atmosphere to the book right from the start and I was looking forward to a gripping read.
However, the gripping read never materialised. I agree with earlier reviewers that the book would have benefited from some very aggressive editing. It really lacked pace - the story just went on and on and on and it took an effort to keep going to the end. And I'm sorry, but the end was entirely predictable - signposted very early on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, but could be better, 11 Sep 2007
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Paperback)
I enjoyed several of the Lincoln Rhyme series and checked out Deaver's back catalogue including this book. The general plot is as deceptive as I have come to appreciate Deaver, and at it's best, even to the last chapter we can wonder who is the 'goodie', and 'baddie', evidently the obvious choice is the escapee from the mental asylum! The downside is that the mid-section is quite a slog, and I had to scan read several sections to keep going. In many ways I think Deaver did not drop enough plot sub-hints in this section to enthrall the reader with the possibilities and motives of several possible 'baddies'. This led to a lack of tension and intrigue which could have been better delivered. Overall, a worthwhile read for Deaver fans, though, of earlier material I recommend 'A Maidens Grave' and 'Devils Teardrop'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 5 crowns for an excellent ending - but its a long journey, 20 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Paperback)
I cannot fault the ending of this book which left me astonished and was a spectacular surprise. However after well over 400 pages of tiny writing and slightly rambling plot, I felt I had EARNED a good finish. Lis was a witness at the trial of a young psychopathic killer who has subsequently escaped from the high security mental hospital and is heading her way. It's the night of storms and floods and Trenton Heck and his blood hound Emil are after the bounty on the killer. Also out on the prowl is Lis's husband, ex-marine Owen, apparently trying to atone for his affair the year before by protecting his wife. Also involved is Lis's sister Portia (oh please!) and the two spend a lot of the book filling sand bags and taping up the windows in the glass house. It's good, the tension builds well at the end but WHY OH WHY did it have to take so long to get there? I'm sure Deaver could have cut 100 pages without losing the plot and with significant increase in pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praying for sleep, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Kindle Edition)
In my view this is his best book. I have read it several times, every time I enjoyed more than last. Great book. I loved it. I also have in hard back as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never disappoints, 15 Mar 2013
By 
A. Robb "OzAllison" (Saintes,France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Paperback)
What can I say, one of my favourite authors and he does not disappoint. Always surprising, always original. Jeffery Deaver is a brilliant author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 3 July 2012
This review is from: Praying for Sleep (Kindle Edition)
Generally I enjoy Deavers recent books but I treat his back catalogue with some caution. This is an example. The plot is original and there are major twists but it's overlong, too many pages where little happens. Also, perhaps because I've got used to his style, I was looking for the twist which wasn't hard to spot.
If you're new to Deaver don't start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Praying for Sleep
Praying for Sleep by Jeffery Deaver
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews