Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best cd you will ever purchase
I have owned this cd for years and it dosent tire with age. This album is one of the most heartfelt, peverse and gloriously hook laden i have ever listened to. Unlike the first album (self titiled "weezer" refered to as the "blue album")this sophmore record envokes raw emotion like never before. The CD basically runs in the order written and showcases...
Published on 28 Oct 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good album, poor vinyl.
A great album, but surely every body knows that already. The only problem is the vinyl is so thin you can practically see through it. Its a good job you get a free digital download as your not going to get more than a few plays out of this before its useless.

You see this so many times with vinyl like this. It was never originally supposed to be sold on LP. Who...
Published 12 months ago by Noshybabs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weezer's Tour de force, 12 Dec 2007
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
Brillinat, Fabulous, awesome, a knockout punch!
these are reviews i have read regarding weezer's first album, but surly, to people in the know, Pinkerton is when weezer really become a force to be reckoned with. the tracks fit together like a puzzle and each has a charm and decoram only weezer could create. this is much ballier than their previous two albums and takes time to get into as there is no album out there like it. the closest thing to this album would be a bucket of beck churned in a oasis factory...GENIUS. the best track on this album is the good life, it has it all, comedy, classic lyrics and that popular bouncy hook that has become famed with weezer...so BUY IT, OR ELSE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars approach with caution, 7 Aug 2007
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
so then what to do after selling millions of your debut? personally i would have tried to write another one!!! weezer on the other hand went the other way and made this....a much darker and nastier peice of work.
the change in style is evident from the very first few seconds, the guitar sound is much beefier and rougher around the edges,the drums sound thicker and really pucnh at your body.then there are the lyrics which sound that little bit more sinister especially on "across the sea".
but is it actually any good? i would say absolutely. its a brilliant album with fantastic songs my personal standouts being the crazy funk/rock of "el scortcho" and the punky rock of "getchoo",nad probably the only song that feels like first album territory "the good life".
the real change is how everything sounds,it just feels rougher and rivers puts his voice through alot more on this one.
if you are a fan and you havent got this one yet then do buy it but approach with caution as this is the angry child of the litter and isnt to everyones taste!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, this is just as good as the Blue album, 17 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
OK, so Rivers didn't like it, but this is a brilliant album. The sound is much barer than the previous Blue Album, and is just as good but in a different way. For those who have heard the Green Album, Pinkerton is much more personal and less poppy. Some songs such as 'The Good Life' have a bit of a kick to them, others are more melancholy such as 'Butterfly.' Rivers Cuomo's excellent songwriting shines through in the knowing 'Why Bother?' and the plain funny 'Pink Triangle' with lyrics such as "if everyone's a little gay, can't you be a little straight?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bloomin' amazing, 2 Feb 2004
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
The album "Pinkerton" in my eyes is the best that Weezer have come up with yet the green album is very good as well. There is a great variety in the tempo of music from Pinkerton( butterfly to el scorcho). Still in a typical weezer style their guitars play amazingly and the lyrics are very well written. Its just got to be the best album in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential album for every human being, 16 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
This album used to scare me, I got a copy of it from a freind and on first listening I was hooked not least due to the amazing power and anguish of "tired of sex" It speaks to me on levels I cant even fathom when first I listened to it I felt like I was alive for the first time in ages, it managed to release so much that lay hidden. Needless to say as soon as I heard it enough I screamed along to the raw emotion of this song. (You can tell its one of my favourite songs ever ccant you)
However the rest of the album is by no means poor it all rocks, except of rmaybe Pink Triangle which in my opinion is a lame rock waltz pastiche. In any case buy it now let yourself in on the ride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind blowing music, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
i loved weezers first album and lately brought there second album pinkerton its fantastic its quite different to there first more guitars and deep words but once you've listened to it a few times you get addicted and cant stop playing it if you have not got this album go out and bye it as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definatelly one of the best albuns of the 90's, 14 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
I really love Weezer! that's a wonderful band and Pinkerton is a perfect album i would not change anything in it.The lyrics are great and the instrumental is also pretty good!You definatelly should buy it it's an investiment for your soul..lol..your personal knowledge. really it's great! (Rivers rules! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a weezer concept album..., 13 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
after the massive success of their self titled 'blue' album weezer were in a difficult situation, of whether to release more of the same preppy power-pop or to to change direction completely. Rivers Cuomo (the main songwriter in Weezer) opted for the latter. Inspired by the story of Madame Butterfly, 'Pinkerton' is a concept album telling of Captain Pinkerton's relationship with the beautiful japanese geisha. The track listing, from 'Tired of Sex' to the haunting 'Butterfly' fits in with the story almost perfectly. anyway that's the backgrounbd of the album, so why the 5 stars? Well every track drips with pure emotion which the blue album and later releases certainly lack. This is the best weezer album, despite Rivers' views, and its unlikely that they will ever better this masterpiece. The musicianship is brilliant throughout the album, Rivers' emotional vocals, lyrics and guitar solos, Brian Bell's solid guitar and harmonies, Matt Sharp's melodic basslines and brilliant falsetto backing vocals, and Patrick Wilson's brilliant, if slightly out of time drumming. Pinkerton is the only album that Rivers truly displays his songwriting ability. And is also the final album to feature original (and best) bassist Matt Sharp. Anyway you should buy this - the most underrated album of the nineties, if not ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album NOW!!! it is fantastic!!!!, 10 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
I bought this after hearing and loving "the green album" Weezer's latest release, and i am sooooo glad i did!!! I havent stopped playing pinkerton since i got it and it is a brilliant album! It's heavier than the other two weezer albums (which are also both excellent!) but it definitely is my favourite of the three. My favourites are "getchoo" "why bother" "across the sea" and "the good life", although there honestly isnt a bad song on there. this is one of the best albums i have ever heard!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rough diamond, 27 May 2004
By 
James Packer "jamespacker" (Chester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pinkerton (Audio CD)
I don't usually review older albums, but Pinkerton is so misunderstood that I feel the need to set the record straight. This is an awesome record. True, it is (fractionally) less immediate than it's predecessor, the Blue album, but there are still hooks enough to land even the biggest fish. It has been criticised for poor production, but this is misleading. The production is deliberately skewed towards a live sound, and this suits the feel of the album. Drums and guitars sound huge, and the vocals are somewhat buried in the mix, but this adds to the off the cuff and disorganised vibe they were aiming for.
Onto the songs. There are only 10 of them, and given typical Weezer length, this is a SHORT album. But there isn't a single filler on the record. Highlights include the run of 3 songs beginning with Why Bother and ending with the epic The Good Life, surely the best Weezer song of all time. Butterfly is a beautiful solo acoustic piece, whose lyrical content and fragile melody are capable of making even the sternest heart miss a beat. Falling for You and Tired of Sex are Rock with a capital R - this is Weezer sounding more ragged and Pixie-esque than before, but with melodies to match.
Overall, this is a fantastic record. Whereas you may have been humming the Blue album after 1 play, this may take 2 or 3 (tops). However, once these songs have sunk in, you will have trouble getting rid of them. Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pinkerton - Deluxe Edition
Pinkerton - Deluxe Edition by Weezer (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews