Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " ... by heavens, why isn't this film out on dvd!!!!!", 4 July 2008
By 
I am wondering why The Flight of Dragons (1982 animated film) with such a voice cast as James Earl Jones, John Ritter and Harry Morgan to name a few, with a fantastic soundtrack by Maury Laws and visual animation which has stood the test of time as something truly impressive and captivating, has not been released on to dvd, not even in America, why is this? The video was released by Warner Bros in 1999, why haven't they not ventured to try a dvd release? There is obviously a large following on the internet, You Tube has had frequent postings with clips from the film and even pirate copies have been sold and are on sale on ebay, how can this be allowed? This film has even been praised by Hayao Miyazaki yet no release has been presented, not even for a short period to satisfy demand. I cannot help but think there is some reason unbeknownst to me as to why this film has not been released. It isn't the quality of the animation which was intriguing as it does vary in quality but the ideas are what made it so interesting, the notion of the imaginative world, the world of the spirit being usurped by the laws of logic, these are fascinating concepts for children and tie in with further intellectual debates as to mans place in the universe and how he grapples in coming to terms with his/her consciousness. This film has been over looked too long now and deserves a straight forward dvd release, at the very least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want the DVD!, 16 July 2004
By 
No Quarter (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
Sadly I only have an old video of 'Flight Of Dragons' taped from the TV, but it doesn't stop me enjoying it time after time. It's surely one of the finest animated films in existence. Anyone who's interested in fantasy - good against evil, wizards, quests and, of course, dragons will lap this up!
It's made by the same people who did 'The Hobbit' and 'The Last Unicorn' films and, even though they're also great, 'Dragons' in my view is much better! In fact, I can't think of a better cartoon film.
I am looking forward to a DVD release (surely this HAS to happen!) or maybe even a live-action remake of the story - The Last Unicorn is being done at the moment. With the popularity of Lord Of The Rings, this is the perfect time for 'The Flight Of Dragons' to emerge again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Flight of Dragons, 15 Dec 2007
By 
As a child i loved this animation.Its one to watch with your kids over and over again.The story captures your imagination and you go on a journey with the characters.It brings together the worlds of magic and science with a love story tied in along the way.Excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD verison, 12 April 2005
By 
Christian Ward (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Firstly, this is a great film for people of any age, but this is not the main purpose of this review. I have read many reviews asking for a DVD version, so I think I might be able to help. There are loads of people on Ebay selling Flight of Dragons on a DVD for ~10 (inc. UK delivery). The one I bought was from Singapore, but is perfect. No Chinese labels, subtitles of the like, just the movie on a DVD. Since it is VERY unlikely that it will ever be officially released on DVD, this is probably the best option. TTFN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars should be on dvd, 8 Feb 2004
By A Customer
A great film, a good mix of animation and real action. A shame it is very hard to get hold of,unless you want to spend silly amounts of money. SHOULD BE OUT ON DVD!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flight of Dragons, 29 Feb 2004
I first saw this film in the mid to late 80's. Having always had a vividly active imagination, especially as a child, I was absolutely captivated by the story. The classic struggle between Good and Evil was brought to life with wonderful animation (considering the technology available at the time it was made) and kept me amused for hours. I forgot all about the film as I grew older until my little brother returned home with a copy one day, about 2 years ago, that he'd bought for a snip. Think he paid somewhere in the region of 7 for it. It is interesting to see the price that it's going for now.
If you are at all interested in Fantasy then this film is an absolute must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic animation, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Flight of Dragons [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I used to have a vhs copy of this and watched it countless times as I was growing up. It is based on the book The Flight of Dragons by Peter Dickinson. It is set in a fantasy realm, ruled by wizards and populated by dragons, elves and other such creatures. Their world is in danger from the evil Red Wizard [voiced by James Earl Jones], who wants to destroy nature and turn people against each other, so the Green Wizard [voiced by Harry Morgan] brings to their world a human being from the 20th century. Peter [voiced by John Ritter] firmly believes in all things magic and with a dragon, an elf and a heroic knight , he sets out on a quest, using modern-day logic to fight evil. The animation is charming and still very impressive, especially as the picture is almost thirty years old. The voice cast are wonderful and the story is actually very in-depth and quite complicated. It probably would'nt be suitable for very young children, but it is a smart and well told story. If yoy enjoy fanatasy films this is well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahhh the memories!, 22 July 2009
A classic. Loved this film so much when i was little. Used to watch it over and over again. The bit when the flute sends the dragons to sleep always made the hairs on my neck stand up. Haven't seen it in a long long time so not sure how well it has stood the test of time but worth watching if you've never seen it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd needs to happen, 17 Mar 2005
By A Customer
seriously, awesome film, but needs to go on dvd. enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overdue for DVD release, WELL overdue, 2 Feb 2004
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful movie; the first time I saw it I was surprised to see similarities to the book "The Dragon and the George" by the late Gordon R Dickson; I then tried to get the Peter Dickinson book, eventually getting the reprint. The film is an amazing mix of the two, combining plot and draconic natural history. I read on a forum that Peter Dickinson and Gordon R Dickson were one and the same, a little web browsing will show this to be false.
But what of the film (which is after all the point of a review!?) - it's an excellent piece of work which bears repeated viewing; a tale of cooperation to defeat overall evil; a tale of what it means to find yourself in an unfamiliar place with an unfamiliar physical body and a vital job to do; a tale showing how knight, archer, wolf and dragon complement each others abilities and how the successful completion of a quest may not produce a happy ending for all as we see it.
You want to know more? buy this movie! watch this movie! You WILL NOT REGRET IT! ....and to the powers-that-be.... RELEASE THIS MOVIE ON DVD! Movies are for watching, not trading like stocks and bonds...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flight of Dragons [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
8.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews