Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First one of the 1990s...
After spending the 80s both moving and disturbing people with his murder-ballads and murder-rackets, Nick Cave moved to South America to escape the druggy lifestyle to record The Good Son. It appears that the local music - or SOME kind of music at least - rubbed off on him, as The Good Son features several flourishes and instruments you'd not otherwise expect from Nick...
Published on 21 April 2006 by dynamitekid156

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make way Bad Seeds coming through
With all music (and perhaps all art) it is what is done with form that really matters and here Cave and The Bad Seeds often do too little. So with too many of the songs the often great ideas are not fully realised leaving the listener with a slightly frustrating sense of what could have been. Of course truely original work is very rare and they go on from here to achieve...
Published on 1 Nov 2006 by Levenbridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First one of the 1990s..., 21 April 2006
By 
This review is from: The Good Son (Audio CD)
After spending the 80s both moving and disturbing people with his murder-ballads and murder-rackets, Nick Cave moved to South America to escape the druggy lifestyle to record The Good Son. It appears that the local music - or SOME kind of music at least - rubbed off on him, as The Good Son features several flourishes and instruments you'd not otherwise expect from Nick Cave.

Proving that he can confound you at every turn, The Good Son features choral backing vocals, vibraphones at various points, and the song 'Foi Na Cruz,' written in a language that I'm unfamiliar with (possibly Spanish or Portugese). Not only an experimental work for Cave, The Good Son also sets the 1990s off to a flying start for Mr. Cave.

Weighing in at only nine songs, The Good Son is mostly Cave's fabulous balladry. 'The Ship Song,' a successful single release, is a fan favourite and possibly the best ballad he ever wrote. However, the majestic title track, which starts off like tribesmen around a campire and builds to glorious strings, runs it very close.

The few louder moments are almost as good. 'The Weeping Song' (a 'song in which to weep,' of course) is Nick Cave in a more rawkus, but still fairly restrained mood, and with all of the Bad Seeds backing him up superbly, it's a song that gets the heart racing and sends more than a few shivers down the spine.

Nick Cave starts the 1990s in a quieter mood; but the songs are still excellent, and I'd recommend The Good Son to any Nick Cave fan, but especially those who enjoy his later, quieter material. It'd even be worth the money for 'The Ship Song' alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds albums available., 24 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Good Son (Audio CD)
This is the album that silenced the critics who still doubted Cave's abilities as well as his own. Marking the next chapter in his life the album may not have the complete power of Tender Prey but will capture and mesmerize you from the first track and is one that you will find yourself going back to in years to come. Some of Cave best songs can be found here, especially 'The Ship Song', which is arguably the best in his entire career to date. The range of emotions that this single album can, and will, generate stands as a testament to the versatility and true talent of Nick Cave.
This may not be the best Bad Seeds album but it is definitely something anybody who knows good music should own, whether they are a fan of not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Nick Cave, what can you say you either hate or love it!, 28 April 2001
By 
T Pearce - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Son (Audio CD)
I largely agree with the last review except to say that there is no doubt that this album is definitely Nick Caves best album ... unsurpassed by anything since.
If you like your music dark, epic, but yet melodic then Nick Cave is for you.
There really isn't one duff song here. Many of the songs could be argued to be the best of his career so far. Particular highlights are Lucy, The Good son and Ship Song. Enjoy ... there are not many albums by any crooner alive as good as this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The GREAT son!, 1 Sep 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Son (Audio CD)
There's not much to say about Nick Cave that hasn't already been said; songwriting genius, musical genius, light years ahead of his peers, all above statements are true. "The Good son" is yet another example.
I cannot think of a single artist that can conjure up so many diiferent emotions in a single album. Although I don't believe this is one of Cave's best albums, it does contain some of his best songs, namely "The ship song" and "The good son."
Given that Cave has been around for about twenty years, I haven't yet had a chance to hear all of his back catalogue, but I've heard enough to know that a mediocre Cave song is a damn sight better than most artists at the top of their game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something got hold of Nick Cave,s heart, 9 July 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Good Son (Audio CD)
Watching the recent Nick Cave special on BBC4 brought home to me, if indeed it needed bring home, what a phenomenal band the Bad Seeds are. It also started a conversation between my partner and i about what Nick Cave song we would have played at our funerals( We,re jolly like that us) My favourite is "The Mercy Seat", hardly ideal funeral fodder( unless you have a warped sense of humour) , but hers was "The Ship Song" and that led to me re-visiting Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds 1990 and sixth album The Good Son, from which the "The Ship Song", incidentally the first single released off the album , came from.
Many critics and fans felt Nick Cave had gone a bit soft when they heard The Good Son and there is no argument that it is a far mellower album than it,s predecessor 1988,s claustrophobic and intense "Tender Prey". This was put down to Cave falling in love with Brazilian stylist Viviene Carniero and going through rehab. Whatever prompted this new relaxed Cave it also aided his song writing for The Good Son is consistently superb.
The incarnation of The Bad Seeds for this album included stalwart Blixa Bargeld on guitars, Mick Harvey on bass, guitar, percussion and vibraphone .He also aided Cave with the fulsome string arrangements. Thomas Wylder on percussion and drums and Kid Congo Powers on guitar complete this particular line up .
The album opens with the stately "Foi Na Cruz" -based partly on the Brazilian protestant hymn of the same name which roughly translated means "It was on the cross".The title track is also based on a traditional song , though this time its the African/American song "Another Man Done Gone" which is adapted for the chant like verse. "Sorrows Child" is a truly gorgeous emollient ballad with a lovely string coda. "The Ship Song " is one of the most purely beautiful songs in the Cave canon centred around tender piano , subtle funereal percussion, and some surprisingly delicate vocal backing. As ever with a Cave love song the lyrics are darkly romantic- "Come loose your dogs upon me/ And let your hair hang down/You are a little mystery to me every time you call around".
"Lament" would be the song to weep to on this album if there was,nt actually a song called "The Weeping Song". Essentially a duet with Bargeld providing the vocals of the "Father" this is one of the albums more dramatically strident tracks along with the grisly scowling "Hammer Song" . "The Witness Song" is like the exhortations of a deranged preacher which is not too surprising taking into account it,s traditional American gospel roots. Piano led closer "Lucy" is the one song on the album Cave co-wrote with the rest of the Bad Seeds.
The critics who viewed The Good Son as a sell out for embracing these croon led opulent jewels are missing the point. These songs may not stagger through the wracked old testament landscape of his earlier work but they are brilliant songs none the less. Despite their lush textures these songs are as lyrically and thematically compelling as anything that had come before. Besides, the portents for this were already there in his album of covers "Kicking Against The Pricks". Something had indeed gotten hold of his heart and its from there that this superb album was born.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good from Bad, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Good Son (Audio CD)
I only have a minimal interest in Nick Cave as I find some of his earlier music unlistenable.
This however is like its another artist and has a definite folk sound to it.
As I'm no authority on Cave this is written from the point of view of a non fan who liked The Mercy Seat and The Ship Song so I took a chance with this when I saw it in the Preston CExchange Shop for a quid.
The sleeve is worth mentioning though the kids around the piano aren't named
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Make way Bad Seeds coming through, 1 Nov 2006
By 
Levenbridge (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Son (Audio CD)
With all music (and perhaps all art) it is what is done with form that really matters and here Cave and The Bad Seeds often do too little. So with too many of the songs the often great ideas are not fully realised leaving the listener with a slightly frustrating sense of what could have been. Of course truely original work is very rare and they go on from here to achieve greatness so it would be churlish to levy heavy critism.....and the album contains some gems including the title track and The Ship Song.

It is interesting to see how well The Good Son was reviewed before the band's best work started to appear and perhaps if I had been lucky enough to have been aware of the band at that moment in their development I probably would have not have felt the need to limit this album's rating in the light of the greater wonders that have followed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Ballads and some scary nonsense!, 3 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Good Son (Audio CD)
If you bought this album purely for 'The Ship Song' then that's no bad thing! But overall, this is one of Nick's more average albums. If you already have The Best of then you'd probably be best pointed in the direction of 'The Boatman's Call' or 'No More Shall We Part' but I think Cave fans will still find a lot to like about 'The Good Son'. It's only real problem is it's comparatively short length and the plain fact the Bad Seeds have done a bunch of better albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Son (2010 Digital Remaster)
The Good Son (2010 Digital Remaster) by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews