Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Cowell: the Mr Nasty & the Nice Man who brought Teletubbies & Mighty Morphin Rangers to our TVs!
I must admit that I have never been the greatest fan of Simon Cowell which is mainly due to his political perspective and has less to do with his Mr Nasty image and persona on Television. However, on reading this book, I still think his image is overrated and now I know why. In a sense, Simon Cowell has been typecast to some extent that he has always been known as the...
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Matloub Husayn-Ali-Khan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read
Good Read about Mr Cowell
Lots of quotes from other books and very interesting begining to his life although gets a little lost and boring in the middle.
Worth a read if your a fan of the Mr Simon Cowell and reality tv.
Published on 29 May 2011 by steve eastman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Cowell: the Mr Nasty & the Nice Man who brought Teletubbies & Mighty Morphin Rangers to our TVs!, 16 Jan. 2013
By 
Matloub Husayn-Ali-Khan "Matloub" (South Yorkshire, Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
I must admit that I have never been the greatest fan of Simon Cowell which is mainly due to his political perspective and has less to do with his Mr Nasty image and persona on Television. However, on reading this book, I still think his image is overrated and now I know why. In a sense, Simon Cowell has been typecast to some extent that he has always been known as the harsh judge off X factor or American Idol, but what other people have said about him in this book makes you realise that he is far removed from that off screen.

Nonetheless, personally speaking, I think his persona on screen is not an act, he is just being honest and true to 'himself, which is probably what most people admire him for'. The book in my view is an insightful look into Cowell's background of coming from a rich and affluent family with a sort of bratty childhood and upbringing that helped him to become the strong-minded, and the very successful and the popular individual he is today. Chas Newkey-Burden writing style is very eloquent and readable and I read the book in a few hours and I found Simon Cowell's early life of growing up near Elstree Studios, his first business, his first ever kiss, being expelled from school and working as a Runner for Stanley Kubrick after he (Kubrick) bought the Cowell family home very enlightening on what things in life shaped him. So, such an upbringing of being brought up within family that had strong roots are very important and hence his love of finer things of life and then his personal (intimate) relationships and how he overcome those hardships in those areas of his life.

The second strand of the book covers his professional growth/development and his meteoric rise to stardom, This biography covers all aspects of Simon Cowell's rise to fame and fortune, from Pop Stars to X factor and how he 'conquered' America's Got Talent from 2002/2006 onwards up to more recent times in 2010.

I believe that as to why has Simon Cowell has had so much unparalleled success in the Music industry is due to his first taste of success he achieved in the Music Industry after his Father (who worked for EMI) got him a job at EMI Music Publishing in the Mail Room. The nature of the work meant that Cowell had to sift through thousands of songs in the American Catalogue and it was slow work that required a lot patience and focus on the many hundreds of styles/genres of music and the other sub-genres and off-shoots. Therefore, Cowell had to decide which UK singer(s) and band(s) might be good fits for each song. In short, Cowell became an unrivaled authority on the EMI International Catalogue. Cowell was a quick learner and he eventually met up with some people from A&R other labels, and soon his formula was working so well that - within weeks he had nearly twenty songs tied-up with artists from other labels. To paraphrase, Newkey-Burden as outlined, at pages 35-36: "...It was the first time moment that Cowell proved, not least to himself, that he could make it in the Music business..." This for me, was the key defining moment for Cowell and for his air of confidence and his persona that can be traced back to this moment on that he had arrived in the Music business and there was no turning back. Over the years and decades he has continued to portray this persona of self-belief and confidence that he is in fact, an unrivaled authority in the music business across the globe. Obviously, there is always some one better than you and that is how life is the real world.

Overall this book sheds some light on why life has been so kind to Simon Cowell (mainly due to his background and upbringing) and apart from some of the knock-backs and failures I/we all face and sometimes come across in life and I/we get up and bounce-back more determined than ever and this is exactly what he has done.

To conclude, then, it is not surprising that in 2008, in a children Poll named Cowell: 'the most famous person in the world' The answer is laughable and maybe due to the fact that he brought the Teletubbies and the Mighty Morphin Rangers and among other things to our TV screens during the 1990s and beyond. A must have/buy book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best Biography on Simon Cowell, 18 Sept. 2009
By 
Sl Harvey (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read all of Simon's Biographies and none are a good as this one, or as accurate.

It covers his early life and the start of his career as an A&R man, moving on to his initiation in television on Pop Idol. You then begin to feel the journey he made from that early start, to the global phenomenon he has created with his television shows today. There are some good photographs in the book, including some unusual ones, which I'm sure most people wouldn't have seen before. I also like it shows Simon's caring side and the work he does for charities.

To many, Simon is the harsh judge off X Factor or American Idol, but when you read what people who have known him have to say, you realize he is far removed from that off screen. On saying that, his persona on screen isn't an act, he is just being honest and true to himself, which is probably what most people admire him for. I have always felt Simon is a complex man, he displays a great deal of confidence, but at the same time I feel he is plagued privately with self-doubt. Reading this book, I felt even more convinced of those thoughts.

I do hope Chas Newkey-Burden considers writing a sequel covering his recent years, particularly with the launch of his biggest gamble yet with The X Factor USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars e book, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Cowell: The Unauthorized Biography (Kindle Edition)
i bought tis as my partne rlikes reading and so far she has found it very to read and i am now vey happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prezzie, 16 April 2011
By 
EPT Creative Editions (Thornton-Cleveleys, England) - See all my reviews
good prezzie for sister in law kept her out of mischief and from round at house so much winner all round
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 29 May 2011
Good Read about Mr Cowell
Lots of quotes from other books and very interesting begining to his life although gets a little lost and boring in the middle.
Worth a read if your a fan of the Mr Simon Cowell and reality tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're through to the final, 26 Aug. 2009
By 
Kelkoozee (London, England) - See all my reviews
I have a love hate relationsip with Simon Cowell (loved Pop Idol, hate X Factor) so as a biography connoisseur I picked the book up with an open mind. Well the story is told with warmth and with the childhood pranks, teenage naughtyness and his rise to fame it's like getting to know him properly and he does come across as likeable. The author has a good turn of phrase which made the bits about X Factor tolerable. The early pics were sweet and could have been printed slightly more high quality maybe. 5 stars overall though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simon Cowell, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Mary Barlow "Sylvie" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Cowell: The Unauthorized Biography (Kindle Edition)
Found book very interesting, and funny in parts. Simon is a law unto himself and doesnt care if he offends or pleases. What u see is what u get. He puts on no airs or graces. Loved the book and am going to order the latest updated one.

A must for fans of Simon Cowell. What you see is what u get. Gave me lots of laughs and gives an insight to his personality. Comes across as a very caring person in addition to being brutally honest. Am going to order the latest up to date biography.... cant wait to read it. Would recommend this book to all Simon Cowell fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked this 100%, 31 Aug. 2009
What I loved about this book is that Chas Newkey-Burden explores and weaves together two strands: the personal and the professional Simon Cowell. My view of Simon has always been that he's clever, that he performs a role, but that behind any outward nastiness he is a gentleman, a strong and driven individual. In reading this book, my views on Simon have been strengthened and reading the words, `I've never believed this is going to last forever' have made me like Mr Cowell even more.

Within `Simon Cowell: The Unauthorized Biography', there is the exploring of Simon's childhood and his forming as a strong minded individual. Chas Newkey-Burden looks at Simon's life growing up near Elstree Studios, describing Simon's first ever business, his first ever kiss, his being expelled from school and how he became a runner for Stanley Kubbrick (after Kubbrick bought the Cowell family home). This book shows Simon's strong family roots, his love of the finer things, his intimate relationships and his overcoming of personal trauma.

The other strand looks at Simon Cowell's professional growth. There is no doubt that Mr Cowell has experienced a spectacular rise into stardom. This biography tracks it all, from Pop Stars to X Factor and not forgetting just how Simon Cowell managed to crack America.

I am left with a renewed admiration for Simon Cowell. Chas Newkey-Burden joins Simon's words with interviews given by the people who know Mr Cowell best. I found it compelling and devoured the book within hours.

A must-read for anyone interested in the man behind the persona.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simon Cowell: The Unauthorized Biography (Kindle Edition)
love it. Simon Cowell difficult times trying to reach his goal. Could not put the book down until I finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read. Thank you, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very fast delivery book as described. A great read. Thank you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simon Cowell: The Unauthorized Biography
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews