Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Like Leather
Because I didn't think any of Mr Leather's books would be as good as The Chinaman I was quite prepared to be a little let down with this one. I pleasantly found this not to be the case at all. As a revenge plot goes this is one of the best and most imaginative I have read.It involves many diverse characters, the IRA,London gangsters and beautiful women. Somehow they...
Published on 16 Nov 1999 by stewmarsden@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Short - Not his best work
A big fan of Stephen Leather especially his Dan ' Spider' Shepered novels (Soft Target,Cold Kill, Dead Men etc)

Pay Off is one of his very early offerings. The book had a good story line but felt very rushed and ended far to quickly. The author does get you hooked very quickly but the story lacks depth.
Published on 26 April 2011 by sab2008


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Like Leather, 16 Nov 1999
By 
Because I didn't think any of Mr Leather's books would be as good as The Chinaman I was quite prepared to be a little let down with this one. I pleasantly found this not to be the case at all. As a revenge plot goes this is one of the best and most imaginative I have read.It involves many diverse characters, the IRA,London gangsters and beautiful women. Somehow they all come together in a manner that works very well and is very entertaining. An excellent holiday book for when you don't want to have to work too hard to keep up but at the same time require a little stimulus. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
Having not heard of Mr Leather I didn't know what to expect. After I had read the first chapter i couldn't put the book down and read it in two days. The plot and characters are outstanding. A very enjoyable read and I look forward to reading his other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Highly Readable Tale Of Revenge, 10 Jan 2007
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I am completely new to Stephen Leather and I read this novel in one sitting. It's a fairly easy 240 page read and once you get past the first few pages it has you hooked. It's a tale of revenge set in London and across Scotland. The book is split into two parts - the first being the setting up of the plot for revenge and the second being the aftermath one the plot had been executed. With strong characters and a gripping storyline I'll be looking out for more of his novels.

8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen leather awesome!, 4 April 2013
By 
Elizabeth A. Sheehan (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pay Off (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
His thrillers are gripping from the word go and very relevant today in todays society, always thought provoking ,can't get enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller of a book, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great plot, great story, hard to put down.Will look out for other books by this author to read very soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pay off, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pay Off (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Not one of Stephen Leathers best books, I found the plot rambling and difficult to follow at times. It improved towards the end but I found the ending a let down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pay Off (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another great Stephen Leather book, I really enjoy the writing style and the fact that his books are well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars usual brilliance from the Leatherman, 13 Sep 2013
By 
M. D. Barker "ronbookman" (leeds, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read this in two days it's that good . Don't read the back story before you jump in and get involved with the plot. I haven't read a Stephen Leather book I haven't enjoyed yet. Read this, if you like a straightforward thriller this is just the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pay Off, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pay Off (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
Another winner from a excellent Author. This was different in that a large portion of the story was setting up the `pay off` leaving the reader wondering just what it was going to be. The conclusion was a little surprising after being aware of the feelings of the central character as expressed earlier in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pay Off (Stephen Leather Thrillers) (Kindle Edition)
since discovering Stephen Leather after reading the first in the dan shepherd series i have now read his earlier novels and have not been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5f1d3a8)

This product

Pay Off (Stephen Leather Thrillers)
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews