Customer Reviews


613 Reviews
5 star:
 (334)
4 star:
 (183)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


323 of 338 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revelation!
I initially bought the Kindle book because it was such a bargain at 49p but was not sure I would like it as it is not my usual kind of book. I started to read it and was totally hooked from the start. The story builds up quite slowly but this is not a negative point as the suspense is just right. The characters are very well defined and the you can almost feel the...
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by Booklover

versus
52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story O.K. Format Not.
Reading this on Kindle, I was really confused by the way the chapters ran into one another; this meant that at times there didn't seem to be any connection between sentences~in fact at first I wondered if the book had downloaded correctly. I did get used to this disjointed approach but it spoilt a fairly good story. Can`t really complain as book only cost pennies but...
Published on 12 Dec 2010 by N. Cawsey


‹ Previous | 154 55 5662 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Insite into life in Prison, 17 Feb 2010
By 
G. F. Kershaw (Moraira Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A thrilling read from the very first page to the very last page. Stephen Leather is new to me in the last 18 months and have enjoyed every book. The only down side for me is that there is too much wasted pages about Son,Mother in Law etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incy Wincy..., 7 Sep 2009
By 
R. Ward (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Stephen Leather indroduces Spider Shepherd in this tough prison thriller.
Spider poses as career Hard Man and armed robber Bob Macdonald and must befriend notorious drug dealer Gerry Carpenter to expose corruption both inside and outside the prison walls.
This is a basic unchallenging story but Leather has created a likeable main character to base a series around. The pace hurtles along nicely and has all the hallmarks of a prison story, confrontation, camaraderie, betrayal, violence and unlikely allies.
Tension builds up well and the action scenes are expertly executed. A very entertaining easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Landing (Dan Sheperd Mysteries), 6 Nov 2008
The Dan Shepherd series are rivetting and hard to put down. 'Spider' is an interesting and complex character but reassuringly tough - a bit like a UK version of Jack Reacher from the Lee Child books, but not such a loner. I have enjoyed everyone of the Dan Shepherd books and strongly recommend them - the fact that I have bought them all is testament to Stephen Leather being a great author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth 50p, 12 Jun 2011
By 
O. Pearson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
What a terrible book. It features an unbelievable wooden and stereotypical lead character, and a plot that revolves around beating and killing other wooden stereotypical "baddies" in the most violent and descriptive (but poorly written) way possible. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hard landing, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Lost interest a little during the early prison detention. Picked up towards the end. My first Stephen leather thriller but will try again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Landing - Hard Hero, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
My first Stephen Leather book but certainly not my last. Well paced and a very believable hero. The action parts have the ring of truth either from good research or experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Kept me glued to it, lots of great twists and turns. An excellent read. Can't wait to read more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good effort, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
S well written but let's face it totally unrealistic plot. None the less passed a bit of time. I will try another of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not read it yet, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
this is another book which i bought to read on holiday and as my holiday is,nt until may 2013 i can,t comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and Well Written Read, 27 Nov 2012
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Good storyline. Well researched with easy writing style. An interesting central character. Liked the blend of police and SAS action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 154 55 5662 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews