Customer Reviews


622 Reviews
5 star:
 (337)
4 star:
 (189)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


323 of 338 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A revelation!
I initially bought the Kindle book because it was such a bargain at 49p but was not sure I would like it as it is not my usual kind of book. I started to read it and was totally hooked from the start. The story builds up quite slowly but this is not a negative point as the suspense is just right. The characters are very well defined and the you can almost feel the...
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by Booklover

versus
52 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story O.K. Format Not.
Reading this on Kindle, I was really confused by the way the chapters ran into one another; this meant that at times there didn't seem to be any connection between sentences~in fact at first I wondered if the book had downloaded correctly. I did get used to this disjointed approach but it spoilt a fairly good story. Can`t really complain as book only cost pennies but...
Published on 12 Dec 2010 by N. Cawsey


‹ Previous | 1 2 363 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Content is great but Kindle version poorly done! There seems to be an error with formatting., 2 Dec 2010
The content of the book is fine but since Kindle versions cost much more than you can find a second hand copy for you should not expect formatting errors!

On the book I am reading at present there are no spaces between chapters. One paragraph runs straight into another without any idea it has moved on. This is not really value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where was the cape?, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Spider Shepherd started of as a quite enjoyable character, but as the book went on, his talents became a bit of a drag. It got to the point that I expected to disappear into his cell, then in a flash emerge wearing his pants outsides his trousers and with his cape fluttering. Nevertheless the story was quite engaging in parts. The final part was pure good fun and went at a good pace, making up for earlier sections, when it dragged somewhat. I would have liked more humanity and less action man, but overall not too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spiders Game!, 23 July 2014
By 
tone1428 "Tone" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Well after a slow start this story really takes off....sadly it takes off a little late really!
No spoilers here but it didn't start to really grab me until 3/4 of the way through the book which is when I began to really enjoy it.
The characters are mostly well rounded and believable,the action sequences are reasonably authentic and brutal.
I shall definitely be reading more Spider Shepherd books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Give me more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Landing, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Hard Landing! good & as exciting as it can get, I enjoyed reading this novel. Prison life is definitely not an optional idea...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough guy who walks the mean streets..., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
It's a great read. I'm reading all the Spider Shepherd stories and waited until now before reviewing. As I've enjoyed them all so far take this review as a series review.
Spider Shepherd (what a good name--just a hint of comic book hero in Spider and Shepherd--a man who guards the flock against the wolves and other predators) is ex-SAS turned undercover cop with an impressive range of helpful contacts on whom to call when things get rough, a wonderfully drawn tough guy in touch with his feminine side, racked often by the internal conflict between duty and morality. Like Chandler's hero Philip Marlowe, he walks the mean streets but is not demeaned. Leather knows his philosophers and frequently gives us the classical conundrums posed by them for the moral man, as did Chandler.
The plotting is deft and reliance on coincidences is minimal, the characters convincing and thoroughly enjoyable. There is a wonderfully drawn and detailed completely amoral American who specialises in information retrieval by any means possible and whose plots make Machiavelli's Prince a naive schoolboy. Charlotte Button is a double-first intellectual on the way to command MI5 is Spider's official boss whom he ignores when it suits him but who is his conscience made flesh--and what flesh. So plenty of unresolved sexual tension there and with the beautiful Slovenian au pair turned permanent house-keeper. Plenty of good supporting parts, too, including a terrific non-PC best mate.
Spider has similarities to Jack Reacher, the American ex-soldier turned roaming detective but Spider is much more rounded, human yet professional and believable.
Occasionally, Leather slips into didacticism and we get some pages of technical notes, which I find intrusive and an interruption to the narrative, but I'm not a weapons geek. No doubt the market research shows many readers like this level of detail and it may lend verisimilitude for them.
I'd recommend any of the Spider Shepherd series. Read in order they are effectively one long book and the characters develop and change with time and experience, to add further depths to what is already an enthralling series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Landing, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
This was my first Spider Shepherd book but I had read some short stories.
It was an excellent fast paced read which I fully enjoyed.
An interesting plot, well reseached and written.
I cannot think why had not read these books before but the future will adjust this failing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
This book had me engrossed till the thrilling end and well recommended. This first Spider Shepherd thriller is well written and just my style of reading, so now I have the background of our hero, will move on to his next mission in Stephen Leather's second book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hard Landing (The 1st Spider Shepherd Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
`Bought this book, and several others for friend. Believe it to be an excellent read. Reasonably priced and very pleased with delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 363 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews