Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that has taken the US by storm
The Last Lecture has been top of the Amazon.com top 100 best sellers list for the last month. Quite rightly, as this is a must read book. Professor Randy Pausch, who is struggling with terminal cancer, writes inspiringly about the gift of life and making a difference. He wrote the book for his three very young children and luckily it has been published and so is...
Published on 29 April 2008 by P. Christophers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why do I feel guilty about giving this an average review?
I feel bad, given the story behind the book, for only giving this 3 stars; however, if you are interested in reading a book of this genre, I would recommend "Tuesdays with Morrie" or some of the other Mitch Albom books ahead of this one.
Published 19 months ago by crispycake


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that has taken the US by storm, 29 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
The Last Lecture has been top of the Amazon.com top 100 best sellers list for the last month. Quite rightly, as this is a must read book. Professor Randy Pausch, who is struggling with terminal cancer, writes inspiringly about the gift of life and making a difference. He wrote the book for his three very young children and luckily it has been published and so is available to us all. I recommend this book as the ultimate inspirational book - despite some of the chapters wrenching the heart strings.

My daughter of sixteen could not put the book down either and has recommended thoroughly to her friends too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Lecture Review, 22 May 2008
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
Honestly, one of the best books I've read. Randy Paush not only has something unique and important to say, but the way he has chosen to say it is amazing. I'd rank this book, inspirationally, with THE POWER OF NOW and TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE.

Here's the idea of the book: Non-fiction, it is the account of Pausch's "last lecture" which he gave at Carnegie Mellon. Pausch was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and given a few months to live so he decides to make some changes in his life--quit his job, be with his family. The title comes from the idea that at Carnegie Mellon, retiring professors are aked to give a "last lecture." So the title is ironic and a play on words in a sense.

While the lecture is for everyone, Pausch really did this for his kids, who were too young at the time to know what was going on. It is so inspirational and its basic premise is that we should get all we can out of life now. I also enjoyed LIFE BEYOND MEASURE: LETTERS TO MY GREAT-GRANDDAUGHTER which is somewhat along the same lines as THE LAST LECTURE in that it was what Poitier wanted to leave behind to his great-grandaughter who is too young to really understand things right now.

If you're looking for an inspirational book, and one that will keep you up at night thinking about how to live your life, THE LAST LECTURE is the non-fiction pick for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand", 27 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
If you had the oportunity to give a last lecture, what would you teach to those listening to you? Randy Pausch, a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon, had to make that decision, and he decided to talk about how to really achieve your childhood dreams.

Randy was dying of cancer when he gave that class, in September. I saw his lecture on wwwyoutubecom, and it really made a big impression on me. It was interesting, motivating, sometimes funny, and the kind of thing that makes you think. Here was a man with a few months to live, that found some time to gift others with the things he had learnt along the way. It was simply unbelievable...

Of course, when I heard that the lecture had been transformed by Randy and Jeffrey Zaslow into a book, I was curious. What else could he say about the subject? The truth is that the book is very similar to the conference Randy gave at Carnegie Mellon, with a few extra details and anecdotes.

That is not necessarily a bad thing, though. This book is a legacy from a good man that makes you remember the importance of living in a way you can be proud of, making a good impact on the lives of others on a daily basis. As someone else so aptly put it, this is a wake-up call, and as such, something you should take advantage of and treasure.

Highly recommended...

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Randy rocks!, 9 May 2009
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
Books that are about death and dying can be off putting. I know this because I wrote one, and some people are just too freaked out to read it. The problem with not being open to exploring this major life event, is that we miss out on an incredible opportunity - the opportunity that Randy grabbed, rugby-tackled and took charge over: He prepared for the end, he took care of his family, emotionally, spiritually and physically, he guided, confronted and cavorted his way towards his end of life. And, in doing so, he has shown us the way...it will happen to us all one day. We can either continue to ignore "it" or follow Randy's brilliant lead. This book will surprise you. It's a fun and inspiring read, despite the seemingly 'gloomy' subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and humbling, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Freckles (Knaresborough, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. I have a life threatening illness myself and was recommended The Last Lecture by a member of my support group. What a courageous man...but he would probably have been the last person to admit it. It left me with a feeling of hope and I am certain that is what Randy Pausch intended, but the sadness and helplessness felt by his wife is so well understood and conveyed by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Randy Pausch's The Last Lecture, 18 Feb 2011
Thoroughly loved this book. It was a great story - honest, real, and full of anecdotes about Randy's life. It is clear from the beginning that Randy isn't a full time literary author, but his honesty and insight into his battle is interesting, humorous, sad... he certainly lived a full life both prior to his diagnosis and after. Would highly recommend this to anyone interested in human tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 4 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
I couldn't do this book justice if i tried. Watch the lecture, if you like it then get this book and read it through. I'd planned on just reading the first couple of chapters but i ended up reading the whole book in the first sitting. Pausch is amazingly insightful and i'm certain there's something in there to help anyone out. The more personal role the book takes is perfect, i mean the lecture in itself is amazing but having read about his views on his family aswell i'm astounded. I think Pausch really hit's the nail on the head with everything he says about life, some of it is so simple and yet so right that it just makes sence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read, 20 July 2009
By 
PureSymmetry (london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
Good book, great insights tho the lecture which can be found online summarises what the book is all about. Its worth buying just to cement the concepts that Randy speaks about. This book is strikingly of the most optimistic yet realistic books I have read from a cancer patient. Great apporach to life, well worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why do I feel guilty about giving this an average review?, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Kindle Edition)
I feel bad, given the story behind the book, for only giving this 3 stars; however, if you are interested in reading a book of this genre, I would recommend "Tuesdays with Morrie" or some of the other Mitch Albom books ahead of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Lecture, Great Book, Great Man, 26 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
Loved this book so much I ordered a couple of extra copies for friends.

At end of book found a website link that takes you to the lecture itself. Both are great and both obviously cover the same topic.

If want to save a tree or a few $ you can enjoy the elcture without reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Lecture
The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews