Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Randy died but his lessons are so alive and will be for a long time
"The Last Lecture" by Jeffrey Pausch and Jeffrey Zaslow is book about the life of an extraordinary man.
A man who instead of grieving when he learned that he will die from the terminal disease after several months, through this book and the last lecture at his university summarizes his memories and life experiences in order to leave them as a legacy to his...
Published 18 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why do I feel guilty about giving this an average review?
I feel bad, given the story behind the book, for only giving this 3 stars; however, if you are interested in reading a book of this genre, I would recommend "Tuesdays with Morrie" or some of the other Mitch Albom books ahead of this one.
Published on 1 Feb. 2013 by crispycake


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Randy died but his lessons are so alive and will be for a long time, 3 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Kindle Edition)
"The Last Lecture" by Jeffrey Pausch and Jeffrey Zaslow is book about the life of an extraordinary man.
A man who instead of grieving when he learned that he will die from the terminal disease after several months, through this book and the last lecture at his university summarizes his memories and life experiences in order to leave them as a legacy to his young children and his beloved wife, but also to the whole world .

"The Last Lecture" book together with the video you can find on YouTube and his website are containing his whole presentation together with his many wise observations about family, children, work, friends and life in general.

Randy Pausch was a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon University who also worked as a virtual reality world consultant for Disney company. His university has a tradition to invite its professors to give a last lecture when they're leaving University as a symbolic chance to address to their students for the last time. Randy also took that chance but instead only speaking about his profession he spoke about lot of small events and memories that happened during his life that made him such a beloved person, that made him happy man although he know that will die (too) soon.

Starting from the things he said on the lecture start when he is calling his cancer elephant in the room, up to the end when he said that this complete lecture wasn't for the audience but for his wife and kids, his talking is full of hope and humor although he is literally living his last days.

And although his lecture and this book are about his life, the events that happened to him are happening to all of us in our lives. Therefore, his advices of a man who says goodbye to this world, even though he had much more to give and will be missed very much as a father, husband, friend and expert are full of emotions, smart but most important applicable and useful to each of us.

He speaks things clearly because he has no more time, and although dying his words is full of optimism, hope and humor. Maybe you will disagree with some of his advices, like the one about the brick walls in our lives with whom I don't agree completely but he must be given credit because the whole of his life he was saying and doing things he believed, though due to that he wasn't always the most popular (teacher, husband, son...).

In Randy's book every person can find at least something that can help to be a better, inside there is a bit of wisdom for every one of us.
Randy Pausch died when he was 47 but his lecture and his lessons are so alive and will be for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Lecture Review, 22 May 2008
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
Honestly, one of the best books I've read. Randy Paush not only has something unique and important to say, but the way he has chosen to say it is amazing. I'd rank this book, inspirationally, with THE POWER OF NOW and TUESDAYS WITH MORRIE.

Here's the idea of the book: Non-fiction, it is the account of Pausch's "last lecture" which he gave at Carnegie Mellon. Pausch was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and given a few months to live so he decides to make some changes in his life--quit his job, be with his family. The title comes from the idea that at Carnegie Mellon, retiring professors are aked to give a "last lecture." So the title is ironic and a play on words in a sense.

While the lecture is for everyone, Pausch really did this for his kids, who were too young at the time to know what was going on. It is so inspirational and its basic premise is that we should get all we can out of life now. I also enjoyed LIFE BEYOND MEASURE: LETTERS TO MY GREAT-GRANDDAUGHTER which is somewhat along the same lines as THE LAST LECTURE in that it was what Poitier wanted to leave behind to his great-grandaughter who is too young to really understand things right now.

If you're looking for an inspirational book, and one that will keep you up at night thinking about how to live your life, THE LAST LECTURE is the non-fiction pick for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that has taken the US by storm, 29 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
The Last Lecture has been top of the Amazon.com top 100 best sellers list for the last month. Quite rightly, as this is a must read book. Professor Randy Pausch, who is struggling with terminal cancer, writes inspiringly about the gift of life and making a difference. He wrote the book for his three very young children and luckily it has been published and so is available to us all. I recommend this book as the ultimate inspirational book - despite some of the chapters wrenching the heart strings.

My daughter of sixteen could not put the book down either and has recommended thoroughly to her friends too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 4 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
I couldn't do this book justice if i tried. Watch the lecture, if you like it then get this book and read it through. I'd planned on just reading the first couple of chapters but i ended up reading the whole book in the first sitting. Pausch is amazingly insightful and i'm certain there's something in there to help anyone out. The more personal role the book takes is perfect, i mean the lecture in itself is amazing but having read about his views on his family aswell i'm astounded. I think Pausch really hit's the nail on the head with everything he says about life, some of it is so simple and yet so right that it just makes sence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand", 27 Aug. 2008
By 
B. Alcat (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
If you had the oportunity to give a last lecture, what would you teach to those listening to you? Randy Pausch, a computer science professor at Carnegie Mellon, had to make that decision, and he decided to talk about how to really achieve your childhood dreams.

Randy was dying of cancer when he gave that class, in September. I saw his lecture on wwwyoutubecom, and it really made a big impression on me. It was interesting, motivating, sometimes funny, and the kind of thing that makes you think. Here was a man with a few months to live, that found some time to gift others with the things he had learnt along the way. It was simply unbelievable...

Of course, when I heard that the lecture had been transformed by Randy and Jeffrey Zaslow into a book, I was curious. What else could he say about the subject? The truth is that the book is very similar to the conference Randy gave at Carnegie Mellon, with a few extra details and anecdotes.

That is not necessarily a bad thing, though. This book is a legacy from a good man that makes you remember the importance of living in a way you can be proud of, making a good impact on the lives of others on a daily basis. As someone else so aptly put it, this is a wake-up call, and as such, something you should take advantage of and treasure.

Highly recommended...

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Randy Pausch's The Last Lecture, 18 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Paperback)
Thoroughly loved this book. It was a great story - honest, real, and full of anecdotes about Randy's life. It is clear from the beginning that Randy isn't a full time literary author, but his honesty and insight into his battle is interesting, humorous, sad... he certainly lived a full life both prior to his diagnosis and after. Would highly recommend this to anyone interested in human tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and humbling, 29 Jun. 2011
By 
Freckles (Knaresborough, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Paperback)
I love this book. I have a life threatening illness myself and was recommended The Last Lecture by a member of my support group. What a courageous man...but he would probably have been the last person to admit it. It left me with a feeling of hope and I am certain that is what Randy Pausch intended, but the sadness and helplessness felt by his wife is so well understood and conveyed by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Randy rocks!, 9 May 2009
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Hardcover)
Books that are about death and dying can be off putting. I know this because I wrote one, and some people are just too freaked out to read it. The problem with not being open to exploring this major life event, is that we miss out on an incredible opportunity - the opportunity that Randy grabbed, rugby-tackled and took charge over: He prepared for the end, he took care of his family, emotionally, spiritually and physically, he guided, confronted and cavorted his way towards his end of life. And, in doing so, he has shown us the way...it will happen to us all one day. We can either continue to ignore "it" or follow Randy's brilliant lead. This book will surprise you. It's a fun and inspiring read, despite the seemingly 'gloomy' subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why do I feel guilty about giving this an average review?, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Kindle Edition)
I feel bad, given the story behind the book, for only giving this 3 stars; however, if you are interested in reading a book of this genre, I would recommend "Tuesdays with Morrie" or some of the other Mitch Albom books ahead of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All I can say is when you’ve read this review please just get hold of a copy and read just the first paragraph, 3 Jun. 2015
This review is from: The Last Lecture (Kindle Edition)
This book in a nutshell follows the last few months of Randy Pausch’s life as he begins to lose his battle with pancreatic cancer. After a resilient attack on the vicious disease a scan to see the progress of the treatment shows the disease has spread to his liver; ten tumors that will not and cannot be beaten. Randy, father to three adorable children, Dylan, Logan and Chloe and adoring husband to the delightful Jai is asked to give one last lecture. Pausch delivered his “Last Lecture”, titled “Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams”, at Carnegie Mellon University on September 18, 2007. The Last Lecture as a book fleshes out Pausch’s lecture and discusses everything he wanted his children to know after his pancreatic cancer had taken his life; the book details his life working from university, to Disney , to CMU and forwards to his last days.

I guess that’s the easiest way to sum up the physical book in a couple of sentences but this book is so much more than that. It is utterly beautiful from the first word to the very, very last and you can’t say that for many. I was pulled along awe-struck by the compassion, dark humor and strength of the truly inspirational Randy Pausch. The book revolves around Randy’s belief that despite his life coming to an end much sooner than planned, with both the strength and clearness of thought that perhaps only a person facing death can muster the book, outlines his recipe for a happy life and achieving all your dreams.

He talks of reaching his childhood goals of including ‘floating,’ (experiencing zero gravity,) the utter delight of being asked to write an article in the World Book Encyclopedia, winning giant stuffed animals at amusement parks and bringing them home as trophies and being a Disney “imagineer.” Randy continually talks of scaling the walls and achieving your childhood dreams. Despite being a self-confessed former jerk at university, Randy was pushed and cultured by the people around him; friends, teachers, his parents, a football coach and in 1998, he went on to be a co-founder, along with Don Marinelli, of CMU’s Entertainment Technology Center (ETC.) He later started the Building Virtual Worlds course at CMU and is also the founder of the Alice software project, a project that will run way into the future teaching children animation skills that will help to form the computer scientists of the future. He’s built a legacy built solely on his desperation to fulfil those things he wanted to as a child.

What makes this book so special is the style of writing; it has an upbeat simplicity and the lucidity to tell the reader exactly how it is with a cold accurate eye. But it’s not a negative, but the honest truth that whatever life throws at you, no matter how difficult it all seems that ‘the brick walls aren’t there to keep us out, the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something.’ The writing style although autobiographical and told in a lecture style is written with flair and pace. We are told towards the beginning that the book was scripted by a close friend of Randy’s (jeffrey Zaslow) who listened to hours of audio spoken by the author which was then structured and edited into the final draft we see today. By it being written in this way he is speaking directly to us and all the little stories and tit-bits of advice become even more personal.

The book is a mix of stories past and present as he tries to set out a life for his family whilst he has gone whilst also describing the life he has already lived. He advises parents to let their children paint on their bedroom walls, (Randy as a child drew elevator buttons, a quadratic equation and a rocket amongst others after his parents allowed it.) He tells of stories of his parents, and leaning back on dining room chairs, with the agreement that until the chair broke Randy’s mother would not say a word. The story of how Jai his wonderful wife was the hardest brick wall to scale. The stories are heart-felt but told in a matter of fact manner, smartly spelled out with a dry and often dark sense of humor but they are empathetic and honest and overall teaching a lesson in every single one. My favorites revolved around those of his parents and their rational sense of humor but utter devotion to their son.

As I neared the end, and saw the pages left to read were getting less and less I felt an overwhelming sense of sadness. I can honestly say that this book will stay with me long after I turn the final pages and give the book back to my father. It’s a tale of life, and of living but also that we never know what is around the corner and that’s okay. I worry that I haven’t done this book justice, there are too many tales, lessons, people and little scribbles of advice. All I can say is when you’ve read this review please just get hold of a copy and read just the first paragraph, you’ll understand then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Lecture
The Last Lecture by Jeffrey Zaslow
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews