Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Crusie - mostly
I'd been umming and ahhing over buying this book for a long while, having read other reviews. But I love Ms Crusie's work, so thought I'd give it a go. A fairly preposterous storyline, but rollicking good fun. Seamless interchanges between authors (if that's the way they wrote it), and characters that engaged, together with a bit of harmless magical fantasy (and some...
Published on 20 Jun 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing book
Couldn't really make out what this writer was aiming for here, was it horror, romance, porn, mystery, a mix of all? Didn't finish it, too boring and really couldn't get to like or care about the characters
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Crusie - mostly, 20 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd been umming and ahhing over buying this book for a long while, having read other reviews. But I love Ms Crusie's work, so thought I'd give it a go. A fairly preposterous storyline, but rollicking good fun. Seamless interchanges between authors (if that's the way they wrote it), and characters that engaged, together with a bit of harmless magical fantasy (and some sex thrown in for good measure, written a little more graphically than Ms Crusie normally does, so I wonder which author influenced those scenes?), all in all I would highly recommend this book. It'll be a little while before I read it again, but it's a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing book, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't really make out what this writer was aiming for here, was it horror, romance, porn, mystery, a mix of all? Didn't finish it, too boring and really couldn't get to like or care about the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different but good, 21 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes (Kindle Edition)
This book contains the feisty characters that would expect from s cruise novel. Not anywhere near as good as welcome to temptation but an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story from Ms Crusie et al, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes (Kindle Edition)
If you like Jennifer Crusie and are a fan of comedy and the supernatural then this book is definitely for you. Romance, comedy, the paranormal all merge in to one. And of course, the requisite battle of good versus evil with good overcoming all. My only gripe is that is a bit too "Charmed" for me. Very heavy on the idea of the power of three, but otherwise, a fanatastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still Crusie, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes (Kindle Edition)
No, this isn't as good as Jennifer Crusie's other works (Welcome to Temptation anyone?), but still a league above most chick lit. If you haven't read any other Jennifer Crusie then you'll find this full of strong female characters, great shoes, hot (and most importantly, believable) sex scenes and snappy dialogue. No Mills and Boon-esque gazing longingly into each others eyes. I didn't find the supernatural stuff too troubling, though I miss the true believability of a regular guy and a regular girl meeting and getting together. I think that anyone who likes this author's earlier stuff will still enjoy this as it's a cut above a lot of other crap out there, but be prepared to like it less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely little tale, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Mrs. Karen Van Zon "KvZ" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I just finished this and I loved it.
First, to address the other reviews.
Three different authors - I wouldn't have known there were three writers and I'm not sure how they did it - a sister each? Anyway, it didn't jar at all and flowed very nicely. I've loved Jennifer Crusie for years and there are classic Crusie elements to this but I'll probably have a look at the other two authors now just to suss them out.
A "silly" storyline? Well, I have to point out that I'm not averse to supernatural storylines (I still mourn Buffy and Angel). I've never read any of the "magic" LBD books but I think I will be hunting them down. The "magic" in this book was just a vehicle for some fab scenes, imagery (embroidered butterflies flying back to the curtains) and one-liners ("So, we bolt the bed down...?"). I haven't laughed so much with a book for ages.

I'm not a book snob and I am happily devouring LBD books (mostly Rachel Gibson) at the moment. For a bit of escapism, laugh out loud moments, strong heroines and macho-yet-honourable men, this is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light and funny chick lit with magical twist, 23 Jan 2009
By 
MissyOwl "Gilly x" (Not So Sunny Wigan UK) - See all my reviews
I found the fact that it had 3 authors weird and expected it to feel disjointed. I was pleasantly suprised and enjoyed this light and fun book. the sisters were great and just wish it had been spread over three seperate books. Fun and easy to read chick lit at it's best !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pleasant enough, 14 Feb 2008
We have three Authors, two of which I've never heard of and the very talented Ms Crusie. I got the book for the latter and although it was pleasant enough you never really got involved in the characters or their magic.

Its the story of three young witches, seeking anonmyity in middle america where they hope to master their powers make their fortunes and never have to deal in magic again. Their evil aunt has other ideas and sends the men of their dreams to tempt them to give her their powers in her quest for universal domination.

Silly but not in an altogether good way this book tries to be quirky and amusing but somehow falls flat. I did finished it (and it was not a terrible read) but as the other reviewer said, not "a keeper".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. J. Lailey "Beatrice" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I generally like Jennifer Crusie's books, but this was a sad disapointment, apart from the story which was frankly silly, the book is very disjointed and at times difficult to follow. I gave my copy away, I shan't want to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews