Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut!
A great debut for Simon Scarrow, he weaves a gritty tale of life in the Legions of Rome, combined with very believable three dimensional characters only a few historical holes, one in particular as far as I'm concerned, Cato's promotion to optio on entering the Legion, it would just not be possible.

Footnote: The perfect companion to the Eagle series is THE...
Published 9 months ago by amazon customer

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I had hoped for more
This volume is the first in a series. It tells the story of a new recruit to the Roman Second Legion in present day Germany, and the subsequent military preparations for the invasion of Britain. There is a sub plot about a lot chest of gold and a conspiracy against Claudius the Roman Emperor. I was expecting a great deal from the author Simon Scarrow due to all the...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Springy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great debut!, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
A great debut for Simon Scarrow, he weaves a gritty tale of life in the Legions of Rome, combined with very believable three dimensional characters only a few historical holes, one in particular as far as I'm concerned, Cato's promotion to optio on entering the Legion, it would just not be possible.

Footnote: The perfect companion to the Eagle series is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker Simon in his review says.
BEAUTIFULLY SCULPTED IT IS A VERY HANDSOME THING! THE REASON WHY I PARTICULARLY LIKE THIS CUP IS THAT IT FEATURES THE MEN AND INSIGNIA OF THE SECOND LEGION, THE UNIT IN WHICH CATO LEARNED HOW TO BECOME A SOLDIER UNDER THE AFFECTIONATE EYE OF MACRO! IT'S A LOVELY THING AND HAS PRIDE OF PLACE ON MY DESK RIGHT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cato&Macro b1, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
First time I have read this guy and I have found it a pleasent read with enough going on to make you read more. I have read a number of similar books by other authors, and this one does not let its self down. I will read more from this guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roland021, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
I order lots of books and I can only thank Amazon for coming up with the kindle version of live books, fortunately I have read this book yet it is the same quality of work as previous books by this author it is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
This is the second time I have read this book and it still kept me enthralled. Cato and Macro are great characters and the battles are described vividly.......Sharpe for the Roman era!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, getting book 2 to see how this ..., 6 Oct 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (High Wycombe, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Good stuff, getting book 2 to see how this develops. Not a historian, but seems consistent with other stories. But of course this is fiction so no problem really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start to an excellent series, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Great book but I think it's more if a scene setter for the great things to come. Nice warm up story though, and it introduces you nicely yo the main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rip roaring Roman yarn, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Outstanding story telling, beautiful historical colour to the novel, rich characters and cracking pace. A thoroughly enjoyable read just over too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read series, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Read two books (paper back) out of sequence and enjoyed both. Now intend to read the lot. Extreme;y interesting both as a novel and as a piece of history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
Thoughroughly enjoyed this book , love the attention to detail In roman history , looking forward to catching up with the characters in the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book a masterpiece by scarecrow
However I would not recommend to people under the age of 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under the Eagle: Cato & Macro: Book 1
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews