Customer Reviews


476 Reviews
5 star:
 (298)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect product for spare laptop hard drives
If you have an old laptop or spare laptop hard drive (must be SATA) then this is the perfect product for you.

The product itself is very well made, and comes with all the equipment you need to set up your portable external hard drive. After setting it up, plug it into your computer's USB port and it should be automatically recognised and ready to use as an...
Published on 2 Sep 2010 by RathGames

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A WARNING
Though the product does work as you would expect, there is one substantial problem with it, namely it has a wrong usb port installed in it. Suffice it to say it will only work with the provided, strange usb cable, but no other standard cable.
Published 21 months ago by TWA


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect product for spare laptop hard drives, 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
If you have an old laptop or spare laptop hard drive (must be SATA) then this is the perfect product for you.

The product itself is very well made, and comes with all the equipment you need to set up your portable external hard drive. After setting it up, plug it into your computer's USB port and it should be automatically recognised and ready to use as an external hard drive.

I was also very pleased with the extra equipment it came with (such as screw driver and leather case).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A WARNING, 9 Dec 2012
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
Though the product does work as you would expect, there is one substantial problem with it, namely it has a wrong usb port installed in it. Suffice it to say it will only work with the provided, strange usb cable, but no other standard cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product - saved my bacon!, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
It's a really useful piece of kit, extremely cheap, but saved my bacon when my laptop fried itself and I needed to retrieve all my files (300gb). (PC world quoted me £700 to retrieve said data!)

Since then I have it in daily use on both my office PC and my portable (Asus Transformer) which easily powers and runs the Caddy without external power, and from only one USB output. Reading the reports of others I would say that the problems that have been mentioned are mainly down to inexperience - remove all the external mounts and 'bits' from the donor drive and it will fit perfectly, and don't expect an already overloaded USB hub system to have enough capacity to power it using only one output.

A really great product, and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job if you've got a spare 2.5" SATA drive, 8 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
Turned up on time and great little product that works perfectly and excellent value too! Good service at a great price.
FYI, the supplied "dual USB" cable allows you to use a hard drive that draws more power from the USB port than can be provided by a single USB 2.0 connection (the extra connector only provides power, not data). 5V @ 500mA(max on USB 2.0) = 2.5 watts which is not quite enough for some 2.5" drives. As mentioned, most drives will work just fine with a single USB connection as they typically draw less than 2 watts; mine did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Compact USB SATA hard disk caddy, good value, maybe not reliable, 4 May 2011
By 
Steve Ward (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
Does what the description says. Compact case, barely bigger than the hard disk it encloses, and comes with USB cable, wallet to carry it in, extra screws and screwdriver for assembly. Just fit the elctronics PCB onto the hard disk, slide into the aluminium case, then do up the screws. No drivers are needed for most operating systems so no software is included.

My unit was slightly tight due to tolerances on the mounting of the PCB onto the plastic, but it's fine once the screws are in. The case gets warm but this is partly because I'm using a 7200 rpm hard disk that runs slightly warmer than some. The USB connection is slightly strange since it uses a USB-A connection at the hard disk end, rather than the more usual USB Mini-B, but this just means that you're restricted to using the supplied cable and is not a problem at this price.

UPDATE: had trouble with this unit after 3 months, unit does not work reliably (hard disk clicks as if not enough power getting through and is not recognised by Windows) and when it does connect it then randomly disconnects after a few minutes. The hard disk works OK in another enclosure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, low-cost caddy, 23 July 2014
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
Felt a bit flimsy on opening it up but, once all screwed together around my 2.5" hard drive, it's as good as many costing more. Simple USB 2.0 connection. Good solution for when you want to swap out your laptop hard drive and want a new home for the drive you're replacing. The sleeve itself is metal and there's a red activity indicator light. Only downside was I managed to push the plastic bottom end out when putting it together but it simply pushed back on and I've had no trouble since. Happy with my purchase, :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sata caddy, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
it did what it was supposed to do the only problem was th fiddely screws lost one already the screwdriver wasn't much good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
easy to fit your hard disk, works well have had no problems, looks well and comes with a case for protection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars caddy works great but supplied accessories are woeful, 19 May 2014
By 
Ta Rykala - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
The caddy itself is fine, but the supplied pouch looks like it's been sewn by an 8 year old, and the screwdriver doesn't fit the screws the caddy is supplied with ! had to use my own screwdriver for disassembling laptops. seriously, that pouch has got to go, it's just embarrasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DIGIFLEX 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts (Electronics)
Bought 2 of them to house HDDs from an old laptop - easy to assemble & they work perfectly. Also very quick delivery - even to N Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews