Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remembering the 60's & really being there
I've long thought the statement, 'If you remember the 60's you couldn't been there', to be a nonsense.

As a weekend hippy who got high on very good music, cheap Canadian Clubs and ginger (and no stronger chemicals), I remember the times pretty well. This meant having the ability to slip into the action at weekends and then do a day job to pay for the records,...
Published on 7 Mar. 2007 by R. J. Heath

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars folk memories
Joe boyd is a famous producer who worked in the UK in the 60s/70s. A good read if you have any interest in Anne Briggs, Richard Thompson, Nick Drake, Sandy Denny and The Incredible String Band et al.
Published on 30 Aug. 2011 by piliboduinn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Bicycles: Making Music in the 1960s (Kindle Edition)
This is probably one of the best music-related books I've read. I'm a fan of many of the artists Joe Boyd worked with so I'm sure that helped but I think anyone with even a passing interest in the music would enjoy reading this. Joe comes across as intelligent, knowledgeable and likeable and you never feel that he overestimates his role in the music he helped the artists to create. Some of it is very funny and there are some very moving passages too.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gives a great insight into the music business by one of the ..., 6 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Bicycles: Making Music in the 1960s (Kindle Edition)
Gives a great insight into the music business by one of the greats behind the scenes. Must-read for anyone listening to music in the 60s and 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Bicycles: Making Music in the 1960s (Kindle Edition)
A great insight into Boyd's career, and London's music scene in the late 60's. Highly recommender if you're a fan of Nick Drake & the Floyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars History of music, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an interesting collection of memories and very interesting for someone who follows this sort of music and the 1960's era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down., 8 July 2006
By 
DriverJohn (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
I found this an enthralling book; probably the best music scene book I've read to date. It has none of the side that some books do, instead any praise or critisism is weighed with reason.

Reading tales of some of the people Boyd was involved with has also inspired me to check out some music I've ignored up until now, or failed to connect with at the time.

A seriously good book, so if you're looking for something to read ofn the beach this year, buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Dr. Joe Nolan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars folk memories, 30 Aug. 2011
Joe boyd is a famous producer who worked in the UK in the 60s/70s. A good read if you have any interest in Anne Briggs, Richard Thompson, Nick Drake, Sandy Denny and The Incredible String Band et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews