Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars44
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2014
We rented a holiday home in Western Crete last week but one, and Beverly Barton's "Amnesia" was one of the books in the shelf, useful for that moment when one's own holiday reading is exhausted.

The larger than larger than life central character in this serial-killer thriller is the Latino rags-to-riches lawyer Quinn Cortez, whose magnetism towards women is so powerful that not a single one that he meets in the entire novel fails to prostrate herself to him at first sight. Even highly intelligent women - for example his own lawyer after the first murder victim is found - sees no problem in having her client move in with her, whereupon she gets sexually involved and ... is then murdered.

Throughout the book, we are treated to that repetitive sequence animal attractiveness smiting women, who then physically succumb and are promptly extinguished by a mysterious figure who uncannily resembles Cortez. The sex scenes that precede the murders are all done in a dry, pornographic and male-oriented manner, casting all women as weaklings who go all weak-kneed and surrender, and do not seem to have any discernible desires except to be wanted by Cortez! Even the sophisticated Southern Annabelle.

Besides the sex and murder, all other characters are either stereotypical sketches of cops and detectives, or very undeveloped figures around Cortez. The killer eventually turns out to be from Cortez's own legal office, and is driven by envy and a family connection I will not reveal. Unfortunately, the discerning reader will long have guessed the clues, simply because of the vagueness that the author creates around the employees that Cortez has in his office, all three plucked out of destitute homes and potentially violent.

This was another piece of pulp-fiction with hard-core porno scenes. It is a once-only read, the kind you'd find in the temporary home that a vacation rental is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Really?! I can't believe this book has had so many good reviews. It was OK(ish) but nothing special at all. I guessed very early on who the killer was - the least likely person is usually the killer and it's no different in this book. I found many of the characters to be unbearable, particularly Annabelle who I just found nauseating throughout. I am surprised that other comments have mentioned the sexual content as being gratuitous; it really isn't. In fact I was surprised that this was written by a woman as the sex scenes were written in a very male style (no foreplay, just straight to sex). Even the sex scene between Annabelle and the supposed 'adonis' Quinn, was unimaginative and boring. I guess that perhaps the author has never experienced good sex; either that or she in incapable of writing about it. Overall if I could have my time again, I wouldn't bother reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2011
I have just finished this fabulous book. Its the first time I've read Beverley Barton and I couldn't put it down. I didn't want to finish it but I wanted to know who did it. I shall definitely be reading more of her books, best read in a long time.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2011
I just finished reading this book and it's absolutely fantastic. Just as you think you might know who did it, there is yet another twist. Just to let you now, this same book is also sold under a different title; Killing Me Softly.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
I finished this book two weeks ago on the basis that I always try to finish reading everything I start no matter how woeful. The basic plot is actually quite good but it is the telling of the plot that lets the book down in a big way. The story is mechanical and the sexual content is gratuitous. And I have to admit that the women must have been incredibly silly in their identification - in this case love was definitely blind, and deaf, and plain stupid.

For the first time ever I threw a book in the bin after reading it because I didn't want to admit to anyone that I had read it.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
Beverley Barton does it again, another excellent read, definitely a can't put down book, I have read several of her books and love them. Looking forward to Death By Twilight in December
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
It was with such sadness that I learnt of this authours death. What a great loss to the literary world as this book amnesia once again shows her gripping writing style that sucks you in to the very end.
Falling in love with a man deemed not suitable for you and who indeed may be responsible for your cousins murder. however Annabelle has never experienced such yearning before even though this places her in a dangerous situation.
Another brilliant story to be treasured from Beverley Barton.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
This book was brilliant. It's the second book I've read of Beverly Barton's and I will probably continue to read the rest of her books. I loved all the characters especially the cool, charming and very good looking Mr Quinn Cortez. Beverly's books are skillfully written and often leave you wondering just who the killer is. The twist at the end was unbelievable and took me by total surprise. A perfect suspense thriller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
This was another Beverly Barton good reads did not expect the ending well worth a read like all her books
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
always enjoy Beverly Barton books this must have been one of her earlier books as the main characters are just starting to appear she combines murders and relationships between the main characters and takes another minor character into her next book
was not disappointed with this book always a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.