Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Education
Released in October 2009, An Education - A British coming of age film set in 1961 - has received much critical acclaim. Yet, despite eight BAFTA nominations, a nomination for a Golden Globe and numerous glowing reviews, this film seems to be relatively unknown amongst the masses, and now that I've watched it and I can clearly see why.

The film follows smart,...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Marly Z

versus
29 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not THAT good!
I was so looking forward to seeing this film having missed it in the cinema. As a uber fan of 1960's British cinema anticipation was high. The prospect of a lazy, rainy Saturday afternoon on my own with a DVD beckoned. The credits were fabulous - a perfect homage to the period. But then.....ummmm....that uneasy feeling that perhaps (dare I even THINK it?) this isn't...
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by SazzaBlackIsland


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Education, 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: An Education [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Released in October 2009, An Education - A British coming of age film set in 1961 - has received much critical acclaim. Yet, despite eight BAFTA nominations, a nomination for a Golden Globe and numerous glowing reviews, this film seems to be relatively unknown amongst the masses, and now that I've watched it and I can clearly see why.

The film follows smart, talented and pretty schoolgirl Jenny who thinks she's got life sorted - she'll pass her exams, go to Oxford to study English Literature, and away from her controlling father she will listen to French music, have many cultured friends who she will talk to about very clever things all the time in French, and practice her cello whenever she wants to, etc. But one afternoon after an orchestra rehearsal, standing in a bus stop in the rain, she is offered a lift home by a charming older man (David) and so starts a romance which makes Jenny question the value of her Education.

The film explores many areas which; despite the film being set in the 1960s, are still relevant today. The questions Jenny asks herself about the importance of passing her exams and going to Oxford are echoes of thoughts I (and I'm sure many other teenagers) have had. The contrast between David, his glamorous friends and lifestyle (and whose only education was from the `university of life') and the `boring' life led by Jenny's English teacher and headmistress (both women with good degrees) is obvious, and as the viewer you can understand why Jenny makes her choices. But, the film's conclusion is smart, and without denying the temptation and rewards of the lifestyle David is offering Jenny, it goes on to show just why an education really is important for a young woman.

But, this isn't a film for everybody. It's a clever, subtle film exploring the value of learning with very little action and though there are opportunities for laughter, it is because of a dry and witty comment made by Jenny or David. However, for those who enjoy this kind of film (and I am definitely one of them) then `An Education' is one of the best films released this decade with great actors, a brilliant script and the power to make you question and change your views about education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very warm-hearted, well-acted and entertaining film, 11 July 2010
By 
J. Jillians (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Education [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really liked this. The screenplay is by Nick Hornby and, like all his books, he takes a low-key drama about quite ordinary people and turns it into a really witty and gripping story. The acting is superb on all fronts. All the other aspects of the film, such as the music and the portrayal of the 1960s setting (which looks really great on Blu-ray) are really well done. No one aspect of the film is absolutely amazing, but I thought the fact that every component of it is such high quality makes it an excellent and very watchable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly recommended, 20 May 2011
By 
Legal Vampire (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Education [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Strongly recommended. As with many films, merely summarising the plot (about a teenage girl deceived but not ruined by an older fraudulent charmer) does not convey how well it is done.

Carrey Mulligan as the schoolgirl is really excellent. Her seducer is played by Peter Sarsgaard, an American playing a (Jewish) English character. He captures the British accent so perfectly that it is strange to hear him talking in his real accent in the interesting interviews and commentary 'extras'.

How the Scandinavian Director Lone Scherfig manages to 'get' Britain as it was in a very specific time in the very early sixties I do not know, but she does.

The film is set at the moment when the sixties have not yet started to swing, mini skirts and hippies not yet dreamed of, and Britain is mostly still a restrained, serious, post-war kind of place where headmistresses feel it their duty to expel any sixth former who loses her virginity, and 'coloured' immigrants are a new phenomenon. Yet there is a slight hint that many things may soon begin to change.

Good supporting performances from Olivia Williams as an English teacher, (strangely somewhat reminiscent of her previous role as an authority figure in Joss Whedon's science fiction series Dollhouse), Emma Thompson as the headmistress, and Alfred Molina as the young heroine's old-fashioned father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BBC Drama Is What BBC Do Best, 13 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Education [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am so pleased to have purchased this great piece of British Drama. Starring roles are performed to perfection by Peter Sarsgaard, Carey Mulligan and Alfred Molina, but it is the strength from the whole cast that set this aside from so many other TV dramas. Set in the 1960's, it charts the emotional journey undertaken by an intelligent girl about to take her entrance examinations before going to University. Cambridge or Oxford are not out of the question, but how hard should her parents and teachers push her. Certainly her rich boyfriend seems to have much of what she yearns for without having taken the formal education route. This is far more than a run-of-the-mill 'coming of age' film though. There's so much more going on, with characters expressing opinions from all sides of the argument put forward at this time namely, to get on...get an education. This could so easily be used in schools as a wonderful vehicle for careers discussion. It is highly entertaining and enlightening at the same time and is a quite delightful piece of good British drama. Take a bow Auntie Beeb. Drama production has always been one of your strengths and, in my opinion, this is one of your strongest in recent times. Excellent value for money and a worthy addition for any collector of drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly wonderful film which I will enjoy on repeat viewing!, 16 Oct 2010
By 
Nigel Mc (The Chilterns) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: An Education [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am surprised that so many people felt slightly disappointed with this film. The acting was impecable with superb performances from all the lead players. The script is clever and very witty in places. The locations are well selected and the period setting is perfectly captured. Some have criticised its predictability. I really don't think this is fair. While most people will guess the broad thrust of the ending there are subtle twists which maintains interest and many viewers will appreciate the emotionally uplifting ending.

The Blu-ray version produces a very satisfying sharp picture together with audio quality of a very high standard. I enjoyed the theme music as well as the selection of music used throughout the film. This is a wonderful film and one that I look forward to watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow. A truly exceptionally entertaining film!, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: An Education [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I'D HIGHLY RECOMMNED THIS! BUY IT NOW! Well, i saw the trailer for this film and thought it sounded good, but when i watched it, my views were a lot stronger! I was absolutely gobsmacked at how much i loved this film and for all the right reasons. For me, the idea of a teenage girl being sweeped off her feet by a man double her age was fantasically cool. I loved how Jenny's life turned upside down when she met David, but it all seemed so perfect! Her life suddenly became exciting and beautiful. Suspense constantly built throughout the film and that made it perfect for me! I was slightly gutted about the heartbreaking ending, but at least Jenny still lived her original, more sensible and sane planned out life! I've got to say, some of my family members were fairly let down with this film because they thought it was long- winded- however i didn't agree with them, but if it's the genre which you like, then i can't fault it. 5* any day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny but poignantly serious as well, 18 Nov 2009
This review is from: An Education [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
How could anyone not enjoy this film . Authentically set around 1960 it contrasts dull suburbia with the bubbling hedonistic frenzy of life elsewhere , if one is fortunate enough to be introduced to it .......... whether it remains fortunate is what the film feeds on .
The characters are supremely well cast , from Jenny's father as the rigid buffoon , to the vacuous Helene as blond arm-candy . You don't have to be Einstein to spot the character flaws emerging in Jenny's flash new boyfriend ....... I think 'charming psychopath' captures it ....... but it is well handled even at the borders of credulity ( occassionally ).
Overall , a fine fable of a film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great soundtrack - of an unsophisticated age., 8 Nov 2009
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: An Education [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
What is the purpose of an education for a woman whose fate is almost certainly going to be that of wife and mother, housework, babies and tedium? Especially in 1961, the year in which this film is set. Jenny, (the wonderful Carey Mulligan who I last saw as Ada in Bleak House) is all set for Oxford when she meets the much older, sophisticated David who gives her a glimpse of a life of excitement and adventure, throwing all her beliefs - and in fact her entire life plan - into turmoil. If, Jenny reasons, her parents and teachers have failed to achieve a life she can regard as aspirational, and she is so joyful and intoxicated with David and his friends, why should she work so hard to pursue an Oxford career, why not drop out and live life to the full his way? As events unfold, things are perhaps not as clear cut as they seemed. Ultimately Jenny works out for herself why education is worth pursuing.

The 1961 setting and cast are delectable, with Alfred Molina as Jenny's bumbling father, easily persuaded by the suave Peter Sarsgaard as David, and Olivia Williams as the despairing teacher. Dominic Cooper is perfect as David's side-kick, one of those slimy men who live by their wits and always choose biddable, decorative women. The soundtrack is excellent especially Duffy's Smoke Without Fire. The audience left to the closing credits with her words ringing in their ears: "You're a Liar."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very well made, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Stephen Bishop (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Education [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I enjoyed this coming of age film which shows how an intelligent teenage girl is taken in by a practised seducer, and feels she is having her eyes opened to real life, as opposed to the stultifying diet of scholarly advance offered by her school and Oxford. Eventually she does have a real education but not the one she had anticipated. The two leads are both very good in their roles, and the period is captured pretty well flawlessly, so far as I can recall it. Also very good detail on various social issues, lightly sketched in. My only quibble is with the character of the father, which seems rather confused. This is not Alfred Molina's fault, but the script tries to emphasise his narrow minded penny pinching ignorant ways but fails to explain how he has come to be able to afford his evident station in life. Someone in his social class in the 1960s would not have been worrying whether he could identify 'starters' on a menu even if he was a mean philistine. But this is a quibble. Emma Thompson puts in a deadly cameo as the headmistress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understated humour with a little darkness: what the English do best, 6 Aug 2010
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Education [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a charming film, romantic, serious and funny. Not substantial, but it gives an authentic slice of English life - teachers, parents and institutions. It's a bit sexy and a bit sad. I was intrigued by the deleted scenes, which showed how the story could have gone in slightly different directions. For anyone who has applied to Oxbridge, or who had pushy dysfunctional parents, you'll be at home. I liked the bit at the end when the dad delivers a cup of tea to his grieving daughter. One thing I noticed, it was only 2/3rds full. Sure to cause a family argument in most households I thought...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5a1680c)

This product

An Education [DVD] [2009]
An Education [DVD] [2009] by Lone Scherfig (DVD - 2010)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews