Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars82
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£10.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2011
This was one of the best DVDs I have seen for some time. The sheer vitality of the acting was breathtaking. The music was invigorating and the settings were beautifully presented. I loved the comedic elements, especially the communist dinosaur and the penny pinching French producers. The realisation of the Moscow underworld was brilliant as was the capacity of the outcast musicians to rise above their misfortune through the power and passion of the music. I could attempt some sort of socio-historical commentary but this was a story of triumph out of adversity and I enjoyed it purely on that level and, of course, the Tchaikovsky violin concerto was sublime. The fact that it wasn't in Blu-ray didn't matter as the sound was so good and my PS3 player upscaled it beautifully. Dim the lights, ramp up the volume and enjoy!
22 comments|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
The themes are familiar, the characters are interesting but not complex, the script is uncomplicated, the humour comfortable – the story itself is straightforward, but the sum of these largely unremarkable parts is a truly uplifting piece of cinema. It is a great pleasure to discover that a film like The Concert can still exist in a cinematic landscape over-shadowed by violence, sexual objectification, product placement and the commercial imperative. Mélanie Laurent (Inglorious Basterds, Now You Seen Me) is probably the best known face in a largely eastern European cast, but it is Aleksey Guskov who steals the show as the Maestro with an endearing performance. Thank goodness (and thank Rumania director Radu Mihaileanu) for cinema with a good heart and a positive message, and characters motivated by kindness and artistic vision. The finale is a heart-warming emotional crescendo. It is genuinely satisfying to see a happy outcome, and well worth the modest investment of time to experience entertainment that is life-affirming, which, sadly, cannot be said about the majority of cinema these days.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
I stopped to wonder "What the heck?" at the start of the film, but the rouble quickly dropped into place!

The film was so uplifting and funny!But at the end I had tears in my eyes.

The storyline is so biazarre and some of the humour is hysterical - I recall the line where the mega-rich Russian declares, in getting his way "Do you want me to cut of gas to Europe?" or something close to that....and he could!!!! But, remarkably, the film works on so many levels. There are serious moments, moments of pure pathos,sadness, irony, much humour and a wonderful end to a remarkable journey. You want to cheer and clap.

The filming of the violin playing and watching the player fingering....truly nice touch.

Don't let me bore you with a long-winded review. It's a fabulous film. Get it. Watch it. Watch it again.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
This is a wonderful film - humorous, deeply moving, so perceptive about contemporary Russia and France. The performance of the Tchaikowsky Violin Concerto with which the film culminates is sublime. Both the stars - Melanie Laurent and Dmitri Nazarov - give wonderful performances. We've shown the film to lots of our friends and some of them have been reduced to tears. Couldn't recommend it enough.
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
If you are fed up with all the Hollywood rubbish, and you want a movie where all the characters are really played out, this one is for you. Brilliant music, interesting, not overly sentimental story where the unwinding keeps you guessing.
But the big one here is the music. Just the sheer joy of it!
And you can watch it with your kids. They might even pick up a bit of real culture!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Superb humour, respect for classical music (with actual players on the instruments for a change), and a hugely charged finish. Considering its preposterous premise and cliche characters, this turns out a very entertaining and heartfelt movie.

I saw this Romanian directed film with its Russian cast acting in France with German dubbing, and it was still funny.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
This is an absolute gem of a film that can be viewed at several levels. There is a serious political point to the film and it can make you laugh and cry by turns. The music is exquisite from the brief regference to Mozart Piano Concerto 21 to the wonderful rendition of the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto. There are absolute acting gems in principal and minor roles and you are willing everything to work out for them all. It is a sort of 'Amelie' film but with a much stronger story line based in Russian historical reality . Like me you will probably watch this film many times and always find something fresh. A treat buy it for yourselves and all your friends !
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Watch it! This is a wonderful film, beautiful music, funny, witty, lovely story, you won't regret it. hard to follow the subtitle sometimes.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this - delightful characters, having subtitles made me concentrate, the music was fabulous and it was very moving.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
I was talking to a friend about how I find many of the films coming out of Hollywood rather vacuous and that I had started watching more foreign language films. She recommended this and I have since passed on this recommendation to a number of other people. A wonderful life enhancing film centring round a group of Russian musicians who grab an opportunity to emerge from enforced retirement (I don't want to give the plot away) I am not a great fan of classical music but this film ably illustrates its power. Wonderful.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.75
£8.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)