Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crisp, Intriguing and Highly Enjoyable
The recent resurgence of electronic music has been an interesting one to observe. It has manifested itself in a variety of forms. Initially a few years ago there were artists like Klaxons, Shiny Toy Guns and CSS who balanced the use of guitars, synths and various effects and samples. Then more recently Friendly Fires and Late of the Pier continued the trend before it was...
Published on 11 Jan. 2010 by Toby Staunton

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but expected something more
The chances are most people have bought this album on the strength of singles Doubt, Counterpoint and This Momentary. The albums good, but some of the songs around these three feel like filler. Submission for example, is just begging to be released as a single. The minute I heard it on the radio I liked it, though I didn't expect it to be Delphic, and to be honest when I...
Published on 29 Jan. 2010 by Mr. T. A. Hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acolyte [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Love this album, just as good today as it was when it was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to 2010, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Guy Bolton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album and refreshingly original. I can hear many influences including New Order, and maybe even The Cure and Ultravox in there, and yet it is completely original and very dance oriented for the new decade. Look out for these guys in next seasons awards as these tracks are rapidly becoming the soundtrack to this years TV ads. If this was vinyl, I'd have played through to the B side by now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first great debut of 2010, 13 Jan. 2010
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
bought this album on the strength of single doubt and it doesnt disapoint you can hear the influences all through this record - new order,kraftwerk,the beloved,orbital,early 90's rave but it sounds fresh and is packed full of great songs.the first essential album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
Trying and failing to play this to death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strangely anaemic debut, 28 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
Sorry not to join the gushing praise for this album, which seems to put me in a minority of one, but I'm really, really struggling to grasp what the fuss is about. The spectre of New Order certainly does hang over Delphic, but not in a good way. Too many of these songs sound like B-sides from NO's Low Life/Brotherhood era. Actually, scrap that. Some of New Order's B-sides were incredible.

It's a perfectly serviceable debut, but somehow for me it fails to ignite. It ticks all the current 80s indie influenced boxes (Bunnymen, New Order, Cure), but the songs just aren't strong enough. I'm on my sixth or seventh listen and I'm still struggling to tell most of the songs apart.

I do worry that there is a tendency in the British media to hype up bands or artists who just aren't there yet. That isn't to say they won't make it eventually, but let's cut down on the hyperbole and call a spade a spade. This is a so-so debut from a band who might grow into something better. I doubt very much whether any of us will be listening to it in 5 years time.

Personally, what I'd like to see is a bit more ambition from the current crop of next big things and a little less playing it safe. Compared to the American music scene at present, we're producing pretty small fry. They give us Animal Collective and Grizzly Bear. We give them Delphic and Florence & The Machine. Not really a fair swap, is it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electro Euphoria down to a Fine Art., 25 Mar. 2010
By 
I. Sidhu "Cylon God." (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
Delphic are a relatively new band on the music scene, hailing from Greater Manchester they storm the charts with what can only be described and pure euphoric electronica with vocals to match. Their style could break charts if people were more willing to listen. This isn't just the same generic sounding club beat you hear all the time. This is this genre at its very best. With songs like Doubt, Acolyte, Halcyon and Counterpoint, this band will be making a new album in the soon foreseeable future.

Delphic could be described as the UK's answer to MGMT or perhaps I say MUSE, another brilliant and successful set of alternative/indie bands that only recently got the attention they deserved after nearly completing 3 albums. Give these lads a go. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delphic make great debut, 18 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
Delphic are one of those bands that are instantly different. As soon as I heard the single, Doubt, it stood out for its originality.

The music business often hypes up bands and sometimes, well actually , quite often, it's hard to trust the so called professional critics. Acolyte , however, lives up to all the hype and more.

It starts off well with Clarion Call, picks up with Doubt and just keeps on getting better. The title track, Acolyte, is as great as it is brave. Not many bands would stick a nine minute track for an opening long player.

Do your friends a favour and recommend Acolyte as it is a brilliant debut and is destined to win lots of plaudits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Del Phonics Mancs are back in town, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
P. M. Neves (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
Most of the reviews i read about this album mention New order as main influence.

This album echoes distant flashes of the manc band but i don't think these are their main influences. There is a shoegazer smell in this tracks very much like Friendly fires. Delphic are kind of more electronic than friendly fires due to the use of arpegiated synthesizers. No one seems to mention James as a vocal & guitar influence, also a manc band. I can also smell Australian band Cut copy in these tracks. Shame the last 2 tracks that are for me filers otherwise i would have given well deserved 5 stars. +
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pythian Calling, 15 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
A new year, a new decade. What could be better than to start it all with some marvellous music?

And here it is, just around the corner. Courtesy of Mancunian indietronic trio Delphic, a young band who have so far released three singles that can be easily defined as classic.

In this little preview we are going to discuss these, so that we will have more time for the bulk of the album (seven tracks) when it arrives in January.

COUNTERPOINT (March 2009) is a six-minute tour de force built on a syncopated rhythm whipped by flickering trance keyboards and shards of post-punk guitar. It sounds like a marriage made in heaven between Technique-era New Order and the first Orbital album, with an atmosphere that is tense and caressing at the same time. The lyrics are short but poignant, singer James Cook desperately repeating "Tell me nothing's wrong, today". And of course there is nothing wrong when tracks are this velvety and ferocious.

THIS MOMENTARY (August 2009) is softer in approach at the start, with liquid guitars and keyboards, a nimble 4/4 rhythm track and a waterfall of vocals drenched in melancholy. Then, halfway through, it all changes into a percussive crescendo that quickly escalates into frenzy. After a dramatic pause the starting motifs and vocals are reprised, leading to a soothing close. Electronic plus Virgin Prunes, anyone?

DOUBT (November 2009) reverts to a syncopated rhythm and displays a kraftwerkery feel (we even believe to have heard a sample from "Sex Objekt" at the start). The lyrics are more articulate, with gasping singing on the verse. Then a soaring synth figure takes us to the brink of a precipice, where the devastating chorus is delivered. All this is repeated twice, before a guitar coda closes the track with scratched, neworderian regret.

This is all we know about Delphic at the moment. But it is already enough to nurture great hopes. Also, do not be put off by the name New Order popping up too often; these people are no inferior imitators. They are simply excellent students, on their way to give their teachers a good run for their money.

See you in Delphi.

February 21st UPDATE

"Acolyte" finally with us, we can only state the obvious: the rest of the début album by this Mancunian trio is EXACTLY on a par with the singles above. That is to say: this is a very important and extremely accomplished work, and as such it now deserves a five-star rating.

Of the seven new tracks five are songs, all of them further proof of Delphic's abitity to write intelligent techno-pop with memorable melodies and intriguing, often sombre lyrics. Some of these songs ("Remain", "Halcyon") even display a sound clearly inspired by the classic vocal house that, for a brief moment, was ubiquitous at the end of the 80s. That cannot be a bad thing, as the original, deep spirit of this music has often been overlooked and, to put it frankly, sometimes despised and forgotten.

There is more, though. "Acolyte" also showcases the band's instrumental side via two tracks: "Ephemera" is a short, ghostly piece that comes as a perfect relief after the tour de force of "Counterpoint", the previous song, while the title-track is a nine-minute opus of flowing beats and understated beauty, a magnificent tapestry of restrained yet heartfelt emotion.

Which begs the question: is aspirational pop back in fashion?

Let us hope so. We can now go back to beauty, silk and marble, melancholy and truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars electro yearning - very mancunian!, 26 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. N. Batra "erratic mu-so" (buried under the duvet) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Acolyte (Audio CD)
love the synths and the melancholy / melody - and of course it is reminiscent of new order! but it is not 100% derivative either.

look, it isn't as good as new order - but WHAT IS?

worth the hype and can't wait to see them live, might remind me of what it is to feel like a young man, having carefree fun and waving my hands in the air! ah, the early nineties! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acolyte
Acolyte by Delphic (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews