Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich and complex - a cut above your average thiller
I have read about 6 of the Rebus books and this is easily the the best of the lot. A huge array of characters all unique and identifiable, a complex plot with a stunning ending and as ever the stong sense of a location in time and space all add up a brilliant novel.
As others have said one of the great things about this book is the interaction between the characters...
Published on 12 Jan 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING
I have now read most of the Rebus series of novels and like a fine wine they mature well. Although this novel is dated slightly due to its linked theme but still vey entertaining to anyone who lived through the period. Rebus is his usual morose plodding self but like a well worn pair of shoes nice to go back to. Large group of characters who are all well introduced and...
Published on 22 July 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich and complex - a cut above your average thiller, 12 Jan 2002
By A Customer
I have read about 6 of the Rebus books and this is easily the the best of the lot. A huge array of characters all unique and identifiable, a complex plot with a stunning ending and as ever the stong sense of a location in time and space all add up a brilliant novel.
As others have said one of the great things about this book is the interaction between the characters I can't imagine any other 'genre' writer could handle such a large cast so well. Combine this with a strong plot which will hold your attention to the last page and you have an outstanding book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Edinburgh Criminals, 30 April 2008
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Set In Darkness (Paperback)
"Set in Darkness" is another impressive Rebus novel. Set once again in Edinburgh against a backdrop of the impending opening of the Scottish devolved assembly this novel features a typically labyrinthine Rankin plot. A long dead body is found behind a fireplace and a prominent politician is found murdered, both in the vicinity of the prospective new Scottish parliament.A homeless man also commits suicide and somehow all three deaths are linked. Rebus unties these intertwining strands and discovers criminal workings high up in the world of land speculation which ultimately involve his deadliest foe and nemesis the gangster Big Ger Cafferty. "Set in Darkness" is well written and tautly constructed and this series of Rebus novels are good examples of crime fiction , much superior to several dodgy novels in this genre that I have read recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catch The Series While It's Still Relatively Fresh, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Set In Darkness (Audio CD)
"Set in Darkness" (2000) is 11th in the Detective Chief Inspector John Rebus series, by the award-winning author Ian Rankin, O.B.E., currently the best-selling writer of mysteries in the United Kingdom. And, mind you, it was published before the author was 40. It is here read by the author, and James MacPherson. "Set" can, like most of his work, be described as a police procedural, within the tartan noir school, and it is set in Edinburgh, in contrast to most Scots mystery writers at work now. The east coast Edinburgh is more or less his home town, as he was born in nearby Fife; in comparison to the west coast Glasgow, it's a more beautiful, smaller city, the administrative capital of the country, where you might expect the crime to be white collar, rather than blue, and bloody. But Rebus always seems to find enough to keep busy. Now, just what's tartan noir when it's at home, you ask? A bloodthirsty, bloody-minded business, to be sure, more violent than the average British mystery, but, thankfully, leavened a bit with that dark Scots humor. Written (duh!) by Scots.

The novel at hand, "Set," opens at an exciting moment. For the first time in nearly 300 years, Edinburgh is about to become the home of a Scottish Parliament. Detective Inspector John Rebus is charged with liaison to the parliament's building site, as it is under construction in the middle of his patch at the St Leonard's cop shop. Queensberry House will be home not only to Scotland's new rulers-to-be; it is also the site of a legend of a young man roasted on a spit in the kitchen by a madman son of the noble who owned it. When the fireplace where the youth supposedly died is uncovered, however, another more recent murder victim is revealed. This body is at least twenty years old, dating from the last interior remodeling of the mansion, and is unidentifiable. Days later another body is found in the grounds of the mansion. This time the victim is the well-born Roddy Grieve, prospective Member of Scottish Parliament (MSP) and the powers that be are on Rebus's back demanding instant answers. And then there's yet another body; a homeless man commits suicide shortly after discovery of the unidentifiable body, and, puzzlingly enough, the police learn that the vagrant had 400,000 pounds in the bank.

Rebus catches the case of the murdered Grieve, and must navigate his way around the man's prickly family: his mother Alicia, a well-known artist, sister Lorna, formerly a famous model; brother Cammo, already a political power in London. His cop's instincts shout at him that the three cases are interrelated. The detective also finds his old nemesis involved, Morris Gerald Cafferty, ruler of the city's underworld, unexpectedly benefiting from an early release from Glasgow's Barlinnie prison, back on his home turf. And the cases seem to point to the city's former crime lord, living in splendid self-imposed, non-extraditable exile in Spain, Bryce Callen, and his nephew Barry Hutton. One thing is clear: there will be lots of money to be made as Scotland approaches self-governing status; and where there's lots of money to be made, people often play rough. So Rebus ends up working the three cases; his frequent assistant, Siobhan Clarke, has been working another case, of a serial rapist, and that case too ends up thrown into the mix. And then there's a time when Rebus wonders if the classically beautiful, nearby Rosslyn Chapel, made famous by Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code isn't somehow involved, as several of the characters seem to be interested in it.

The title of the book "Set in Darkness," can be found in a poem by Sarah Williams, "The Old Astronomer to his Pupil:"

Though my soul may set in darkness
It will rise in perfect light,
I have loved the stars too fondly
To be fearful of the night.

Rankin delivers the complex, dark tales with his customary vivid grittiness, wit and brevity. At one point he describes a couple of minor characters: "Big women they were, addicted to Scotland's pantry: cigarettes and lard. Training shoes, elasticated waistbands. Matching YSL tops, probably knock-off if not fake." He continues to give us brilliant, high-energy writing on Edinburgh, its flora, fauna, geography, weather, and inhabitants, and the adjoining ancient "Kingdom" of Fife, best-known now for its slumbering coal mines, and its vanished linoleum factory. The author has been nominated for an Edgar Award for Black And Blue, for which he won England's prestigious Gold Dagger Award. His novel Dead Souls was nominated for another Gold Dagger Award. He won the Edgar in 2004 for Resurrection Men. Ten of his novels have been televised in series. He seems to be closing the Rebus series out now: you want to catch it while it is still relatively fresh if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You have to like dark mysteries..., 7 July 2010
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Set In Darkness (Paperback)
Ian Rankin's "Set in Darkness" is actually a reprint of a book he originally wrote and published in the late 1990's. As I have read all - I think, anyway - of his books about Inspector John Rebus, of the Lothian and Borders Police Department in Edinburgh, I was a little worried when I received this book from AmazonUSA that I had read it years before. I was glad to realise I hadn't - it was new to me.

"Set in Darkness" is definitely not Rankin's best Rebus book. It's good enough to enjoy - three plot lines are reduced by the end of the book - but to a novice Rankin-reader, it's a tough slog. John Rebus, a moody, go-it-alone kind of cop, is the bane of his supervisors' existence. Not a team player when it counts in solving a crime or two, Rebus is not a sympathetic character. He is, however, an extremely interesting one to read about. He's surrounded - loosely - by his fellow police officers and works with them, as needed. The "loner cop" is one we've all seen many times before. Rankin does a good job at fleshing out both the good guys and the bad guys in his work, and "Set in Darkness" doesn't disappoint in its nuanced character development. I think, though, the plot sort of fell a little short of great.

If you've never read Ian Rankin, I'd start with one of his other Rebus books. They're all described in Amazon fairly well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff - all to do with the characters, 9 Nov 2000
By 
Brian Butterly "Varied Taste" (Dorking UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am an Inspector Rebus fan and I am hooked. I also can understand that someone reading this book, as their first exposure to the genre, would be a little confused and perhaps disappointed. My advice is - "read this series in published date sequence, i.e. start at the beginning of the Inspector Rebus series Knots & Crosses" - it is well worth the effort. The storyline is fair but also fairly predictable, my pleasure was derived from the interaction of the characters. For instance "Big Ger" is a villain but has some affection and respect for Rebus which is not overtly reciprocated. The situations Rebus finds himself in, where the hierarchy in the police condemns him and his methods, is understandable but still evokes our sympathy for our hero. I loved this book and once again I cannot wait till the next installment. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where was the ending???, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Set In Darkness (Inspector Rebus Book 11) (Kindle Edition)
I've read nearly all the Rebus books and in most cases I've finished one and almost instantly started on the next in the series.....but this book starts off with great gusto and got me hooked into the three different plots and then it goes down hill fast. Big Ger tricking his way out of prison, Rebus beat up and drunk, yet again (sounds familiar?) and then the ending!!! Or lack of. If I'd bought this as a hard copy then I'd have presumed that the final chapter was missing.
This seems to be a recurring problem with Ian Rankin - he comes up with a good idea to start the novel but then fails to find an ending.
Just started reading the latest Rebus with trepidation hoping this doesn't fall into the same category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING, 22 July 2012
This review is from: Set In Darkness (Paperback)
I have now read most of the Rebus series of novels and like a fine wine they mature well. Although this novel is dated slightly due to its linked theme but still vey entertaining to anyone who lived through the period. Rebus is his usual morose plodding self but like a well worn pair of shoes nice to go back to. Large group of characters who are all well introduced and filled out. The novel twists and turns to a dramatic ending. I would recommend this as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rankin at his best, 26 May 2000
By A Customer
This book is probably the tenth that I have read by the same author. The depth of characters, vidid imagination and strength of the central character, Rebus, continues to provide me with pleasing reading. Without Rankin's insight, I would know zip about the Scottish parliament!
I am, however, left feeling that this book dwells a tad heavily on building the 'background scene' to Rebus as an individual. Siobhan plays a heavy role in the storyline, but it could have been greater without detracting from the main plot. The story is not as gritty as previous titles (the Black Book, my first Rebus novel was 10/10!) and for new readers the importance of characters such as Cafferty will not be appreciated to the full.
BUT I must emphasise that with more background to Rebus as a person, I am looking forward to the next novel and hope that it is available soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the Rebus Series, 17 Jan 2001
By 
Not Rankin's best effort. The ending was weak, and slightly contrived. Hopefully there'll be return to form with the next one, as I'm normally a massive fan of the Rebus books. If you're going to read the Rebus books, you will get the most enjoyment form readng the series in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Rankin stuff, Rebus at his darkest and best., 16 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Another Rebus enthusiast must. Dark brooding, intense yet retaining plenty of excitement and intrigue to keep the pages turning. I couldnt put it down - luckily sitting on a plane so read it in a oner - then read it again on holiday. Slightly formulaic so not quite a 5 star but brilliant non-the-less. Being an Edinburgh resident adds to the experience and knowledge of the lie of the land but is not a necessity to fully enjoy the book - it has already done the family rounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews