Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic rooster, 5 April 2008
By 
A. D. Hall (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
Bought this album back in 71 and appeared to be in the minority who rated this highly at the time. 37 years later and my love of this album remains undiminished. Its one of a kind and in my opinion Rooster's best album, and can only assume it didn't receive greater recognition as it doesn't conveniently fall into any specific genre of music.
It's Heavy...but not the heaviest.
It's got Soul....but it ain't James Brown.
It Rocks....but it ain't Elvis.
You get my drift. But that doesn't mean it's not the best.
It's the best heavy soul rock album by the best (and probably only) british heavy soul rock band, and who could ask for more than that?
Whilst many rock albums of this era gave into excess and stereotypical lyrics (ELP and Deep Purple) Rooster played it relatively straight forward, with lyrics often relating directly to Crane's unfortunate tortured mental state, and for this reason is as relevant today as it was 37 years ago. The musicanship from all the band is superb, and Peter French is an overlooked treasure as a vocalist.If your looking for a classic 70's British rock album...then this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In praise of, 25 Sep 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
Atomic Rooster's preparation for their third album included the departure of two band members, so they did well to produce something as accomplished and dynamic as this. In came lead singer Pete French from Leafhound, guitarist Steve Bolton and drummer Ric Parnell. Previously, guitarist John Cann had handled vocals.

'Breakthrough' is a lively opener, but almost seems like a warm-up for the two outstanding tracks which follow, 'Break The Ice' and 'Decision/Indecision'. These and my favourite, 'Head In The Sky' suggest that this line-up are at their best as an uptempo unit in which Vince Crane's keyboards provide most of the colour without being over-dominant. 'Black Snake' is also superb, an insidious, twisting song which French struggles with at times. Nevertheless, 'In Hearing Of' is a near classic from a band worthy of greater recognition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High volts from the deep vaults, 8 Aug 2004
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
Does anyone remember Atomic Rooster? One-click shopping lacks the excitement of rooting around grubby second-hand shops in back alleys, but at least gems like this become more widely available.

The fashion for the blues in the early 1970s (when the English still believed - often rightly - that they played it better than anyone) meant that albums like this could at least get a release, even if they didn't sell shedloads.

Here the rocking artistry of Vince Crane's keyboards get their best outing since 'The Crazy World of Arthur Brown'. There's plenty of pace and, unusually for the period, the musicians demonstrate their skill without it getting in the way of the music. If you have sympathy with 1970s rock, this album is worth having. It's seldom amazing and is very much of its time, but it has some stunning moments and has stood the test of time well.

Stand-out tracks are the rattling instrumental 'Bromide', the simple rocker 'Head In The Sky' and above all Vince Crane's eerie, laid-back 'Black Snake'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does This Hold Up? Oh, Yes., 13 April 2009
By 
Kevin Kissell (Somewhere in France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
Like most people commenting here, I'm old enough to remember when this was released on vinyl, and was a fan at the time. I saw them tour this material, but only after the replacement of Hammond and Cann by Parnell and Bolton. On the whole, this is the best Atomic Rooster album, thogh "Death Walks Behind You" gives it some competition. The best testamonial is perhaps the reaction of my then-3-year-old son. When I first recieved this remastered and extended CD, the first track I put on was the added BBC recording of "Breakthrough". With no prompting whatever on my part, he stopped playing and started dancing wildly until the song was over, then asked to hear it again. It's got that kind of drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing release from the British rockers, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
Third Album from 1971 from British band Atomic Rooster.
There were so many line up changes, it's difficult to know who was actually playing in the band, at the time of production.
I think Rooster were at their best when they performed their brand of 70's British rock, evident on this release with "Head In The Sky" and "Break The Ice", displaying a dual attack of fuzzed up guitar and fast paced keyboards.
There are usually two things I dislike on albums; Instrumentals and Bonus Tracks (usually songs that were not considered good enough in the first place).
However, this release, features two excellent instrumentals, namely, "A Spoonful Of Bromide" and "The Rock", both again, with a guitar/keyboard riff attack, similar to early 70's Deep Purple.
Great guitar work from John Cann and also, a worthy mention for Paul Hammond behind the drum kit.
Also, on this release, you get three bonus tracks and surprisingly, they are very good quality.
"Devil's Answer" is the US version, which has the backing brass section and two live songs, which really show the quality of musicianship.
The live songs come from a BBC In Concert session, recorded in Paris from 1972, when Chris Farlowe was on vocals and Steve Bolton on guitar. It's heavier than the studio recordings and man, these guys can play.
Very enjoyable and a pity they folded so early on in their career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prog rock will never die..., 1 Jun 2011
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
Forget the annoying extras that come with this version of the album and concentrate on the music as it was originally planned...prog at its best with the great Vince Crane showing everyone how the Hammond organ should be played...and yet the songs remain strong even after all these years...this band shoud have been HUGE...sadly other lesser mortals stole their crown...are you listening E.L.P.???? One last thing...as with all prog rock you MUST play it loud...loud...loud...enjoy and keep on trucking...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atomic Rooster: In Hearing Of: Expanded CD Deluxe Edition & Vinyl Version, 4 Aug 2009
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
A real `Breakthrough'

I still have my original vinyl pressing from 1971 on the Pegasus label. Vinyl weight is a very reasonable 146g for a 70s LP. It is an excellent pressing and recording. The album is still in reasonable condition but some of the tracks are suffering from `severe over-playing fatigue'. Atomic Rooster were never as popular as the main stream rock bands at the time like Black Sabbath, Led Zep etc, but for me this was one further attraction of the band. They made excellent music and when we took records to house parties, people would always ask when playing In the Hearing of `who is this playing? It sounds great'. Without the Devil's Answer single on the album nobody recognised it was Atomic Rooster. I must have contributed to the sales of this album at the time.

I purchased the expanded CD version to give the vinyl a well deserved rest and I am also still very interested in any unreleased Rooster material available. In my view the CD does not match fully the sound quality of the original vinyl recording but ok I am very vinyl biased as you probably have guessed. However, the CD is still an excellent package with good sound quality and extremely informative notes in the accompanying booklet. The notes explain all the comings and goings in the band during the making of this album and there is extensive input by newly recruited vocalist, Peter French. The comments made about the 1971 concert at The Oval when they on the bill with The Who are particularly interesting.

This album does not seem to have aged technically, it sounds typical 70s but is still fresh and clear. The production and balance of the sound is excellent. All the instruments and vocals can be picked out very easily. Several of the tracks were used in the BBC TV series and DVD package of `Life on Mars'.

I have all the five Atomic Rooster albums from the early 70s and this one in my view is the best just ahead of `Death Walks Behind You'. All the eight original tracks in this album are consistently strong musically. Vincent Crane was a very under rated talent and this album proves that beyond doubt.

The extra tracks are interesting but not essential. It is explained in the booklet that this line up made no TV or radio appearances, a great pity. The US version of Devils Answer contains the Peter French vocals. The two live tracks are from this album but performed by the next line-up of the band. The booklet mentions a further extra track of Black Snake from a Belgian TV show but it is not on the CD I have. This is a great album and if you want to sample Atomic Rooster at their peak then this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atomic Rooster's Best Album, 2 Feb 2014
By 
John F (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
Atomic Rooster were always seen as a second division act though I don't know why. This album is as good as anything released by the 'major' bands in 1971. Pete French is a great vocalist - powerful and direct with a touch of arrogance while Vince Crane's keyboard playing is driving and melodic. The songs themselves are all crackers from the high energy 'Break the Ice' and 'Head in the Sky' to the introspective 'Decision/Indecision'. Also included here is the punchy, soulful hit singe 'Devil's Answer'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hairy, atmospheric rock, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Westy "Two Bells" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Hearing Of (Audio CD)
This band had the perfect sound of early seventies rock----swirling organ, bludgeoning groovy guitar, jazzy busy rhythm section.Vocals were provided by Pete French, who seems to pop up on a lot of my favourite albums--Leafhound, Brunning Sunflower Blues Band etc. Its a real shame that the two main musicians--John Du Cann and Vincent Crane are no longer with us, wonder what an Atomic Rooster album would sound like using todays recording techniques(analogue of course!)We will just have to remind ourselves of this great band with the video clips on a certain website!GREAT STUFF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5526474)

This product

In Hearing Of
In Hearing Of by Atomic Rooster
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews