Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrrrgh: Not as good as the first, but still better than a lot of fantasy out there
This is the second installment of the Gentleman Bastard series. I absolutely adored the first installment and followed suit with the second one as soon as I could. This one is still enjoyable, but not as amazing as the first.

Locke and Jean have left their home country of Camorr and traveled to Tal Verrar and the Sinspire, which is basically the swanky parts of...
Published on 18 Dec 2009 by L. R. Richardson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite sure...
After reading the first book in the series I was gripped and couldn't wait for the second; unfortunately I was left a little unsatisfied with this instalment. The plot twists and characters of the first book weren't quite as clever this time round and the parallel plots could have been better linked. Towards the end of the book (last couple of chapters) things seemed to...
Published on 1 Sep 2008 by Mr. S. C. Hillier


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrrrgh: Not as good as the first, but still better than a lot of fantasy out there, 18 Dec 2009
By 
L. R. Richardson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the second installment of the Gentleman Bastard series. I absolutely adored the first installment and followed suit with the second one as soon as I could. This one is still enjoyable, but not as amazing as the first.

Locke and Jean have left their home country of Camorr and traveled to Tal Verrar and the Sinspire, which is basically the swanky parts of Las Vegas in a tower. It's an amazing initial setting, and I wish more of the novel had taken place in it, to be honest. For two years, they have been slowly cheating and amassing wealth. But, of course, as usual, something has to go wrong and they are caught up in a larger game and forced to be pawns . However, Locke and Jean don't make very good pawns.

Under the threat of a latent poison, they are forced to go on the high seas and pretend to be pirates to upset the stability of Tal Verrar. But this does not go entirely according to plan, either. It is this part of the book I didn't find as exciting. I liked the characters on the boat, but seas and ships and run-of-the-mill port towns are just the same as in so many other fantasy books. Lynch has the talent to make such amazing settings, that it seemed a bit of a cop-out to stick them on the high seas.

That's not to say this is a disappointing book. Overall, I still enjoyed it and I will read the next installment. The dialogue and humour is witty and sharp, the characters strong, and the plotting intricate. I'm still gutted that the next installment won't be out until sometime next year. Lynch is worth reading; just don't expect Red Seas Under Red Skies to be quite as incredible at The Lies of Locke Lamora.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but not quite on the same par as LoLL, 18 Sep 2007
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Second Installment of Scott Lynches Gentleman Bastards series. Storming onto the fantasy scene a year ago, has led to perhaps one of the darkest horses to emerge from the shadows. Whilst the first instalment had the world grasped by the nether regions and the fans wondering if he was a one trick pony, this one took a slightly more sedate pace and eased the readers into the world anew through a different culture and city. Locke Lamoura and Jean Tannon manage not only to grow but add new larcenies to their already sizeable reputations even accepting another into their ranks. A cracking tale of villainous double-dealing, blended alongside plots within plots where even a spiders weaving looks simplistic.

This tale proves that Scott Lynch is definetly here to stay cresting the new wave of the fresh talent to the genre that will keep many spellbound in the coming years as well as rejuvenating what many were beginning to think of as a clichéd field. Long may Locke and Tannon march on and I have my diary set for next year's release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite sure..., 1 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. S. C. Hillier "SChillier" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading the first book in the series I was gripped and couldn't wait for the second; unfortunately I was left a little unsatisfied with this instalment. The plot twists and characters of the first book weren't quite as clever this time round and the parallel plots could have been better linked. Towards the end of the book (last couple of chapters) things seemed to come too quickly to a conclusion which was a shame given the early promise. I can't give this any more than three stars although I would like to. Verdict is still out, hopefully the next book is as good as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A solid follow up to his debut novel., 29 July 2009
By 
Kenneth G. Perepelkin (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having just finished this book I checked online to see if the sequel had been released yet and was surprised to see some foolish criticisms listed in these reviews.

I have been reading Sci-Fi/Fantasy for about 30 years, and quality writing like this is rare. The lead characters are all well fleshed out, displaying many credible traits and foibles - even more so than Fritz Lieber's thief heroes, Fafner and Gray Mouser, who they vaguely resemble. Cocky, irrepressible and always denying authority to authorities, they weave elaborate confidence schemes, which are so grandiose and complicated that they scramble to keep up with all the consequences.

This dealing with the out of control consequences of their con games is what this book is all about, to answer a criticism from a previous reviewer. If you believe they had ample control of affairs in the previous book you've neglected to consider the loss of their friends in that story.

The well thought out and completely appropriate use of plot twisting keeps this story from being too predictable. The only (mostly!) sure thing is that those who have offended our thieves will receive their comeuppance. The flow of the book is near perfect and I had a hard time putting it down.

I don't mind the author's use of "visual tricks" as mentioned by Laz below. I agree it's a bit of a guided tour bird's eye view tour but it has a "real sitting around the fire listening to a story teller talk feel" which leaves the reader with a vivid impression of the local geography and continues to develop the idea of a people living on the ruins of an alien civilization. Describing these odd locations by any other technique would pose a challenge and I prefer the author use a descriptive style they're obviously comfortable with to limit ambiguity and vagaries.

I admire Scott Lynch's style of writing, and for me, the most enjoyable component of the book is the witty dialog the characters engage in. The author probably keeps a notebook full of such blurbs and insults, frequently adding more to his impressive pile as new ones reveal themselves.

I didn't grant this book the full five stars. It may be ungenerous of me, especially since I thoroughly enjoyed this book (and its predecessor, which were the best books I've read this year.) I just feel that the author has it in him to step it up a notch and release a really mind-blowing piece of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good characters equal good read., 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Seas Under Red Skies: Locke Lamora Book 2 (Gentleman Bastards) (Kindle Edition)
Not as enjoyable as the first as the stakes didn't feel higher in this story it seemed. Would of been best to start with the flash backs rather than have flashbacks. The characters you can not enjoy Locke and Jeans love for one another and some of the banter is great. The payoff at the end was rushed and the lack of threat from their previous lives was a shame. Still looking forward to reading the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars starts strong, then falls off a cliff, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Seas Under Red Skies: Locke Lamora Book 2 (Gentleman Bastards) (Kindle Edition)
The first book in the series is superb, and the second starts in a similar vein, with a great set up and a continuation of the jumping back and forward between past and present narrative structure. Things go badly wrong in the final third of the book, where characters begin behaving in ways that simply don't make any sense given their histories and personalities....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The troubled second release, 7 Jan 2008
By 
PB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lies of Locke Lamora is a fantastic novel. It reads like a Summer movie blockbuster - very very showy with something pretty spectacular in every scene, but no bad thing for that. TLoLL is a pretty relentless ride and one which you feel exhilirated to have taken. Red Seas, sadly, is not quite in the same vein. A more considered pace would never kill this tale, but I believe the book takes its turn for the worse mid-way, when the main protagonists hit the high seas. It seems to me that Scott Lynch is as uncomfortable with pirates as Locke and Jean. It's not quite "AHAR! Avast!" and "shiver me timbers", but it's just not very convincing.

I don't want to be unkind to Lynch as TLoLL is the first fantasy novel I truly enjoyed. He drew some good characters and a superbly paced plot in that book. Here, Red Seas seems like a stretch, and the introduction of the hitherto unacknowledged guiding principles of Locke's religion seem rather shoe-horned in, rather like the existential theories (poorly) shoe-horned into the Matrix sequels. Perhaps later novels will build on those principles further, but I felt that that two jarring dimensions - the pirates and the religion - was one too many to fully forgive.

Red Seas is OK, but it doesn't live up to the huge expectation I had following Lies of Locke Lamora.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anchored down by slow first, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Seas Under Red Skies: Locke Lamora Book 2 (Gentleman Bastards) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed it but the first 1/3 was slow paced, and I really struggled to stick with it at times. If it wasn't the fact that the 1st book was exceptional I probably would have given up. As it stands, the later 2/3 turned out to be much stronger, but still couldn't make up for the poor first 1/3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a disappointing sequel, 7 Mar 2008
By 
B. Abbott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading the Lies of Locke Lamora which i found to be one of the best books i've ever read i had to read this book.
The style of this book is different to it's prequel, where the first one is about scams and comararderie this one is more piracy and not so much scullduggery, what the first book was so brilliant at.
In itself the book is ok but as a sequel to LoLL i found it a bit wanting.
I was disappointed at the end when it seems the author kind of thought (without giving anything away) 'hmmm, that idea won't work so let's do this completely random thing instead.'
I'll definitely continue with the gentleman bastards series but hope it picks up in the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unparalleled adventure., 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Seas Under Red Skies: Locke Lamora Book 2 (Gentleman Bastards) (Kindle Edition)
Gorgeously crafted in a world so believable and yet so fantastic. Locke and Jean's story pulls you along relentlessly such that it becomes impossible to put the book down. Lynch, by his own admission, is no naval expert but he has succeeded here in creating a fully emmersed experience that doesn't let go. Hilarious, heartbreaking and mischievous, this makes it into the long list of my very favourites. A must read. Fans of the series will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews