Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter the Family Guy
Poor Dexter. All he wants to do is chop up a pedophile who has a taste for killing young boys and the whole world is scheming to keep him from his one true love... killing. The problem starts with Sergeant Doakes, a fellow officer in the Miami Police Department. Doakes has looked into Dexter's soul and has seen something he didn't like so he has been following poor Dexter...
Published on 5 Oct 2007 by Thomas G. Paul

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No depth, no tension
Despite the good characters and sharp dialogue, the plot line of this is weak and there's not really much to it. There's little in the way of dramatic tension and no surprises or big reveals. Also, there's little in here about Dexter and his hobby - other than the fact that the case of the mutilated men is keeping him from it. Dexter as serial killer is entirely...
Published 18 months ago by daisyrock


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter the Family Guy, 5 Oct 2007
By 
Thomas G. Paul (Long Island, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Poor Dexter. All he wants to do is chop up a pedophile who has a taste for killing young boys and the whole world is scheming to keep him from his one true love... killing. The problem starts with Sergeant Doakes, a fellow officer in the Miami Police Department. Doakes has looked into Dexter's soul and has seen something he didn't like so he has been following poor Dexter everywhere. So Dexter has been hanging around with his girlfriend Rita, drinking beer on her couch, and playing hangman with Rita's kids.

Meanwhile, a new monster has decided to settle into Miami and Dexter's sister is dragging Dexter into another case. This new monster's crimes are so horrific that even Dexter is enthralled with them. But being dragged around to help Deborah's new boyfriend crack this case isn't exactly Dexter's idea of fun. And off we go on another adventure with the only likable serial killer in the world.

Once again we find ourselves rooting for the serial killer and once again Jeff Lindsay has written a fast-paced, fun, and funny (unless you get nightmares easily) book. Just as in the first book, the second in the series is written in the first person which lets us pal around with Dexter and become part of his inner thoughts. And his inner thoughts are quite humorous. Dexter knows he isn't quite human which leaves him sometimes guessing about the things that humans actually think and mean when they speak. For example, the idea that the female police officer who stammers and blushes everytime she sees him has a crush on him simply never enters his mind. He simply can't understand why anyone could love a monster like him.

The best parts of the book are all things that I won't tell you because I don't want to ruin the fun. Let's just say that poor Dexter gets a lot more put upon then he ever wanted. And although I hate to use cliches too much, this book is really laugh-out-loud funny (just ask my daughter who was in the back seat while we waited for my wife to come out of the store) and a page-turner. I had to pick this book up and keep reading at every opportunity. Is this book perfect? No, there are a few holes in the story here and there but the story moves so quickly they are hard to notice. I can't wait for the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first book in the series!, 12 Aug 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Hardcover)
This is the second book about Dexter, a forensic lab technician and a murderer - but only of bad guys. That is the simplistic version of the plot, but what a wonderful series this is! Dexter is, well, lovable. Quite a feat for a character who doesn't feel love, but has somehow found himself with a girlfriend (now fiancee in a hilarious turn of events) and a sister that he feels a certain responsibility towards helping. We stumble through horrendous murders with Dexter helping to find the bad guys, whilst fantasising about commiting a murder or two of his own. The crimes are horrible, the characters fantastic the book was read too fast. More please! Loved it - read this book and the previous title, because you won't be disappointed. Truly original and one liners that will make you cringe!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dexter is distinctly different!, 15 April 2008
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Paperback)
Dexter Morgan knows exactly why monstrous serial killers do what they do - because Dexter is himself a serial killer, even if he confines his chopping up of bodies to child killers and other unpleasant murderers who have somehow escaped justice. He tells us cheerfully that he likes nothing more than a long night with his very sharp knives and a helpless, bound victim. And he works for the Miami homicide police as a blood spatter analyst (he ought to know). Every instinct told me to disapprove of this book and to condemn its flippancy about depravity but, dammit, Dexter has a way of er. . . getting under your skin, and making you like him. His one-liners are exquisitely funny (in a very dark way) and the plots are excellent - to the extent that I rushed out to buy the first Dexter book before writing this review. In this second outing, Dexter is forced to team up with his nemesis, the forbidding Sergeant Doakes, to track down a hideous monster who spends weeks torturing his victims. Dexter is the most original sleuth to have appeared for years, and sharp as a razor. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Dexter book, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. T. Tattersall (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Paperback)
This is by far my favourite Dexter book.

I've now read the first 4, and this second outing still remains at the top. The Bay Harbour Butcher is a fantastic baddie and there are many aspects of this book which were seriously missed from the second TV series which didn't follow the same plot.

What the butcher does is quite gruesome which is probably why you need a character like Dexter to put things right. Dexter's relationship with Doakes is fully explored and comes to a very satisfying conclusion one which subsequent books can work on to even more amusing extent.

His relationship with Rita develops exactly how you would expect. Dexter may be in total control when it comes to his dark passenger and his favourite passtime, but when it comes to posing as an emotional human being, he is far more able to put his foot in his mouth and this provides a particuarly funny moment which determines the outcome of his relationship.

If you liked the first book you will most certainly enjoy reading this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dearly devoted to Dexter, 2 Oct 2007
By 
V. Crook (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Paperback)
Started reading the books after coming across the TV show, and got a pleasant surprise. The Dexter of the books is rather less sympathetic than on TV, and it works brilliantly. What is amazing is that once you get into the story you find yourself rooting for a killer and, although there is a little less humour in this one, you get to smile. In this book, Dexter is portrayed more accurately as the sociopath he is - his arrogance, his belief in his superiority to normal people, his blatant and cold using of Rita as a cover, and his disspassionate assessment of what advantages he can gain from the events of the story. Just can't wait to see how he manages married life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 July 2009
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Paperback)
I started this one out of a sense of loyalty. I'd been mildly disappointed with the first one, since it didn't seem as good as the TV series. But my loyalty was rewarded in Dearly Devoted D. Excellent storytelling and the pace is quite fast. Dexter is presented as a bit more of a mixed bag of characters. He's almost childlike in his efforts to keep on Deb's good side, and absolutely monstrous in his willingness to abandon Doakes to a horrible fate.
I was a bit down on the first novel, but I'd now recommend reading it, even if it's just to put a bit of distance between Dexter the novels and Dexter the TV series, so that you can then go on to enjoy the spectacularly good Dearly Devoted. Can't wait to get into the third one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars delve in to Dexter, 4 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Paperback)
After watching Dexter on the TV i decided to get the first two novels and lapped them up!
I have a pretty hectic life so being able to put down an novel and coome back to it later (sometimes a few weeks later) happens alot! With Dexter i couldn't put it down and took it everywhere with me. Those of you expecting a recreation of the tv series may be disappointed as it the tv makers have obviously added their own twist on things if possible the book is darker and we get a truer insight in to the mind of Dexter.
The plot has many twists and turns and there is the interesting character of the son of Dexter's "girlfriend" which i will be inetersted to see if this is developed in the third novel.
Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A better Dexter by far, 21 Oct 2008
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Paperback)
The second outing for the serial killer of serial killers evidences that Lindsay has learnt from his first endeavour. Dexter's wit and deadpan outlook on the human race is funnier, more outrageous and at times almost poignant, as he is once more caught up in the race to find a serial killer. The cast, which was established in the first novel, has room to develop in with 'Darkly Devoted' and are pivotal in the exploration of Dexter's psyche. The plot is well thought out, often playing to Dexter's Dark Designs, and offers plenty of opportunities to reflect upon his own lack of emotion, and more importantly, how to simulate emotion. Definitely builds upon the first entry; a recommended read indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Character building for Dexter, 20 July 2008
By 
Annabel Gaskell "gaskella2" (Nr Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Paperback)
"In which we get to know Dexter a bit more as his Dark Passenger's murderous instincts are put on hold due to his nemesis Sgt Doakes' obsession with finding out what Dex really does. Unfortunately, this leads to Dexter ultimately helping to 'save' his life when a killer from Doakes' past comes to town.
Although always gruesome, complicated and completely involving, this is not quite up to the high standard of Dexter's debut, as Dex is handicapped by Doakes' interest in him. But we do learn that Dex would dearly love to find a young kindred spirit to teach as he himself was ... and that is really worrying, but of course augurs well for future outings for the vigilante antihero from hell!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking "mindless" read, 30 Aug 2006
By 
A. Bryan (Tunbridge Wells, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dearly Devoted Dexter (Paperback)
I bought 5 books for my yearly fortnight holiday to the sun. 4 of these books were by Arthur C Clarke and I suddenly realised I should get one more book just in case I got bored of Clarke. I picked up this book off the shelf on the strength of the front cover itself, something I know shouldn't be done, but I was in a rush. When I got home I had a closer look and groaned when I realised it was a sequel. So, with the first book missing I travelled off to Turkey and started on my Clarke Odyssey. After just 2 of his books I got bored and decided to give DDD a go.

I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to get into the character and all knowledge that was required from the previous book was supplied through excellent writing.

I got so into the story and the character that I read all 300 pages in one day, something I don't think I've ever done with a book before. Admittedly there are a few boring parts where you want Dexter to get back to what he's good at.

As someone who has little time to read books when not on holiday, I can reccomend this to anyone who wants to read a relatively short book on holiday without thinking too much. Excellent characters really bring this book above others in the serial killer/crime genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dearly Devoted Dexter
Dearly Devoted Dexter by Jeff Lindsay
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews