Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberts CHRONOPLUS2 Radio Alarm Clock
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. He's not very good with any kind of technology but had this set up within minutes - well actually, he switched it on and it set itself up immediately. It's brilliant because you can set the alarm for work in the week and don't have to remember to switch it off at the weekend because you can set that separately. The display is...
Published on 6 Jan. 2011 by Mrs. C. SPENCER

versus
52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay - but with reservations
Very quick and easy to set up. I was surprised to find that the time & date settings are not radio-controlled but are just stored on the clock memory using the back-up battery, so will not correct automatically if the clock loses time. The display is very clear but at 3.5 cm is perhaps unnecessarily large. There are three brightness settings, covering quite a wide...
Published on 12 Oct. 2011 by Ellie G


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberts CHRONOPLUS2 Radio Alarm Clock, 6 Jan. 2011
By 
Mrs. C. SPENCER (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
I bought this for my husband for Christmas. He's not very good with any kind of technology but had this set up within minutes - well actually, he switched it on and it set itself up immediately. It's brilliant because you can set the alarm for work in the week and don't have to remember to switch it off at the weekend because you can set that separately. The display is large and easy to see when you're a bit groggy in the morning and haven't got your specs at the ready. Fantastic product and great value for money. Only downside for some people may be that the display is quite bright and is almost like a night light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay - but with reservations, 12 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
Very quick and easy to set up. I was surprised to find that the time & date settings are not radio-controlled but are just stored on the clock memory using the back-up battery, so will not correct automatically if the clock loses time. The display is very clear but at 3.5 cm is perhaps unnecessarily large. There are three brightness settings, covering quite a wide range. Radio reception relies on a tuning dial so can be difficult to tune in and the sound quality is not great. There are two alarms which are very easy to set. The major disadvantage is that when plugged in it makes a constant low-level buzzing noise. This is not noticeable when there are other noises in the room, but is quite annoying when trying to get to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent affordable 'intelligent' alarm clock, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
P. A. Evans (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
I've been using a large LED display Sony alarm clock for 11 years to get up for work and using a phone to for pre-snooze alarms.

I decided it was time for a 'smarter' alarm clock that would not only help me leave the confides of my bed and stay out of the bed (phones can't do this as it's too easy just to hit the snooze button and go back to sleep) but also intelligently know which days to sound the alarm on (e.g. not wake me at 6am on the weekends O_O).

This one does that and it's the only alarm clock i could find online that can.

Sure this doesn't have radio controlled exact timing or a projector, if this alarm did have these features, it would be the ultimate alarm in my opinion.

I'm not interested in spending stupid amounts of money on sunrise alarm clocks, i just hope this alarm serves me as long as my Sony one did.

I will update the review it if dies before i expect it too.

In regards to the radio feature, i tried it in two houses (moved recently) and the reception is excellent in both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent Clock let down by Bad Radio Electronics, 15 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
I have had two of these (first returned faulty in 2 months).

This review covers both:

Time setting OK, clock function OK, radio - when it works has nice quality sound BUT...

Awful to listen to, because neither radio could hold the signal. It drifts in and out by itself, causing interference and bad sound.

I've fiddled with aerial and tuning. No change. And I've moved; it's the same in both places.

It's almost as if the radio has no AFC - Automatic Frequency Control. This has been standard since the 1960's as a radio design feature - an electronic circuit which makes small tuning adjustments to track the strongest signal (the effect: stays on-channel).

Hm. When it's going it's great; 2 mins later it's squeaking and buzzing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not brilliant, 15 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
FM reception is not brilliant and often gets interference and can be hard to tune in.

I thought the time setting was radio controlled, but is actually on a chip like a pc. This made the initial setting very quick because it automatically resets on power up. However after only 3 weeks it went to being about 3 minutes slow and meant I had to manually re-set the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set, 30 Nov. 2011
By 
Brian Shandley "Brian" (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
The ROBERTS Radio / Alarm is easy to set up, needing only to be plugged into the mains socket. The LED displays is extra large and has 3 brightness settings. Equally clear is the FM/AM radio and it is not at all "tinny". The product does all that it says on the box and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good solid product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 3 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
LED display far better quality than competitors even regardless of size. Best of all I can see the time at night without putting on my glasses! Quality of FM sound good, easy to set up and regulate to suit. Bright and dim displays judged well for day/night. But overall it's the quality which impresses as well as vfm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars satisfied, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
Excellent value and very easy to use. starting to loose a minute but really no problem to change.Love it/ would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just does not work, sadly!, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
R. Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
I returned the first one, thinking that it was just faulty. Very kindly and with speed the replacement came. It had similar faults and it too is being returned this week. It is a lovely idea to have an alarm clock that can wake you up at different times each day. This product has a mind of it's own. Some days the alarm will come on radio and others it will beep. Some days the radio will stay on for 50 mins and others it will be 15 mins and then start beeping. Others it will beep only once every 15 mins. On another day it will come on radio for a few minutes and then go off. The time is always 4 minutes fast. It looks lovely and smart. It is a shame they haven't got the quality control right on this product so that it does what they say it does. Could have been great!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best AM/FM Clock/Radio bedside alarm., 14 Mar. 2015
By 
Karl Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts Chronoplus2 FM/MW Dual Alarm Clock with Instant Time Set (Electronics)
This is an excellent product. As soon as you connect the Power, the Date and Time set themselves automatically. Even in this day and age I was quite taken aback when this happened! Unlike a previous Roberts Radio/Alarm I had, this is really quite simple to set the alarm (you also have the option of a "buzzer to wake you. There is a back-up battery that saves your settings.

To do away with endless, complicated Menu choices, they have put simple switches on the sides for 1)AM/FM selection. 2)Three Dimmer display settings (High, Low & Eco). NOTE: There is no way to switch the display off altogether as in previous versions, but as long as you dont sleep facing the rather large time display and set it on low, this is really not a problem at all. In fact you can just turn the unit around if it is a problem. 3)There are separate switches for ALARM 1 and *ALARM 2 (*gives you an option to set a different alarm for if your partner wakes later etc. You just flick these to RADIO, BUZZER or OFF if you dont use it/them. Simple! You can choose a 7 day setting or a 5 working day setting (Mon-Fri which automatically switches the Alarm off on Weekends) , but not individual day setting, but you just flick the previously mentioned switch to "Off" (if you are on a days holiday) and then back to "On" as appropriate.

Finally just to mention the obvious points. This does not have a DAB radio, but I personally didnt want this as reception is pretty unreliable for most stations in my area. Also, this has a thin wire aerial that I just leave to hang down and FM reception is perfect. There are old fashioned wheels to tune the Radio and control the volume which I much prefer to holding down a button. It is surprisingly large for a Clock/Radio but very stable on a bedside table. Obviously the sound is not HIFI quality but adequate for what it does. In my opinion it is an excellent product and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews