Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and engaging
In what I thought was one of the best films of 2009, George Clooney plays Ryan Bingham, a corporate downsizer who travels the country firing employees whose bosses are too cowardly to terminate in person. He has a sideline as a motivational speaker, extolling the virtues of a lifestyle free of relationship or dependency, but his real interest is the accumulation of...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by Jeremy Walton

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hire and fire exposed
This is not a comedy, this is not light hearted entertainment! The trailer,I have seen, is creating a completely wrong impression. The funny bits (mainly in the beginning) will be most appreciated by frequent travellers. From own experience they are not only funny but real.
The plot of the film is a bit weak and not very convincing. The environment shown along the...
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by U. Schulte


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hire and fire exposed, 24 Jun 2012
By 
U. Schulte - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up In The Air [DVD] (DVD)
This is not a comedy, this is not light hearted entertainment! The trailer,I have seen, is creating a completely wrong impression. The funny bits (mainly in the beginning) will be most appreciated by frequent travellers. From own experience they are not only funny but real.
The plot of the film is a bit weak and not very convincing. The environment shown along the personal story line is - at least for a European- disturbing and I would have hoped it would make people reflect on a culture where firing by video link can be conveyed as a real option.
Watch this film carefully and it is quite revealing about parts of US corporate culture.
If you are looking for a funny movie do not go for it, if you are looking for a socially critical relevant movie do not go for it. If you want both mixed together with some well known actors and you get it for a bargain price - then you can do a lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and engaging, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Jeremy Walton (Sidmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up In The Air [DVD] (DVD)
In what I thought was one of the best films of 2009, George Clooney plays Ryan Bingham, a corporate downsizer who travels the country firing employees whose bosses are too cowardly to terminate in person. He has a sideline as a motivational speaker, extolling the virtues of a lifestyle free of relationship or dependency, but his real interest is the accumulation of frequent flyer miles (one of the delights of the story is the contrast between his fierce adherence to the airline's loyalty scheme and the way in which he's rewarding the loyalty of the people he's seeing every day).

The part is written so well, and Clooney is such a good actor, that you start out feeling that Bingham's life is one worthy of emulation (there's a classic early scene - set to a soundtrack item called "Security Ballet" - in which he manages to make the debilitating and degrading process of going through airport security appear cool, poised and sexy). Having drawn you in to the story so completely, you're then reminded of the flaws in his choices through his encounters with the youthful, optimistic Natalie, the bold, mysterious Alex and his semi-estranged family. Ryan's not a bad man, just a mistaken one - and the way in which we stay with him as his initial dedication to an attachment-free life is shaken is proof of Clooney's sympathetic portrayal of this unpromising character. This is a great film: funny, engaging and subtly beguiling, centred on a terrifically stylish performance by Clooney and able support from Vera Farmiga's Alex and Anna Kendrick's Natalie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DARK COMEDY, 10 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Up In The Air [DVD] (DVD)
I looked up dark comedy in the dictionary and it had "Up in the Air" by it. There isn't much plot to the movie, yet it keeps moving. It makes a statement about following your dreams, family, and goals as Clooney's words somehow always come back to haunt him. I had to laugh at loud when Sam Elliot came back to talk to Clooney about joining the 10 million mile club. Shades of "The Big Lebowski." I kept expecting him to call George "dude" and tell him he was his father. The movie is bittersweet at times and sad at others, although not a tear jerker. I was confused about his occupation. He is paid to come into an industry and tell the workers they are laid off. Doesn't HR fire people? Do they really hire an outside company to do that? The irony of a man who fires people for a living speaking at a conference called "Goalquest" is a bit Orwellian. The best line in the movie was during a firing that he allowed his young assistant to do. She got into trouble, so Clooney the master ax man, steps in and says, "Do you know why kids love ball players?" The old man says "Because the make a lot of money and have sex with beautiful women." Clooney responds, "No, that is why we love them. The reason why kids love them is because they followed their dream." He then convinces the man he can be a hero to grand kids by leaving this job and following his dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy if you don't like inspiring/clever talking dramas, 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: Up In The Air [DVD] (DVD)
Basically, here's the deal. Before you rent a film, watch the trailer first or read up on some reviews. Then you wont 'be forced' to come onto websites such as this and rate it 1/5 stars, because you were expecting some sort of epic action-drama.

It's thoughtful, provocative and one of my favorite films of all time. But it's not fast, and there's literally no action. I'm just saying, don't rate it based on what it's not. Whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars George Clooney at his best, 12 Feb 2011
This review is from: Up In The Air [DVD] (DVD)
All the characters played their part in this film but George Clooney stood out.
Focussed, clinical,calculating, good at his job he is taken unawares by a chance encounter.
This coincides with a family celebration and his steely, self-centredness begins to crack. Is he missing something? Is his life as fulfilling as he had thought? Is there room in his life for close relationships?
I will not spoil the ending but it is not plain sailing and there is a surprising twist at the end. The acting is excellent. All the nuances are there on his face.

Up In The Air [DVD] [2009]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this film, 10 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up In The Air [DVD] (DVD)
I was very surprised by this film. George Clooney is fantastic in it and the film is much more insightful than one would expect. It's a very good potrait of the life of a businessman on the road, although taken to the extreme. Good take on life of a 40 something single man who does not believe in convential life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up in the Air, 28 Jun 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Up In The Air' is a film that follows a man called Ryan Bingham (played by George Clooney) who travels around America firing people for various businesses and clocks up millions of air miles in the process. He prides himself on his independence and ability to have no responsibilities or commitments and seems to live a highly charmed life. That is until a young woman joins his company and tries to change the business model so he will eventually become grounded and virtually obsolete himself. He also strikes up an unusual relationship with a fellow traveller which starts to break down his hard outer shell and brings some real warmth to both Bingham and the film. Although there are some very funny moments in this film, this is not an outright comedy and in fact by the end it is tinged with a certain amount of sadness. Clooney plays his role excellently and I don't think I have seen him act as well as in this film. He is charming, detached, vulnerable, funny and more besides and manages to portray his character superbly. The other actors are also very good and Vera Farmiga is great as the fellow traveller who wends her way into his life. This is a gentle film and is very well written and this had me laughing out loud at times and also feeling a certain sadness at the end as well. The direction is great and I feel this to be one of Jason Reitman's better films to date and if he carries on like this then things can only get better. All in all this made for just over 100 minutes entertaining viewing and whilst it has a slightly downbeat feel to it, you will still reach the end having enjoyed it and with a sense of satisfaction.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 16 July 2012
This review is from: Up In The Air [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very well acted thought provoking film. Clooney was excellent in the lead role. When it seems like it is developing into a classic rom com there is a very interesting twist in the tale, which underlines the moral of the whole story. Well worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ten million miles later, 13 Oct 2014
By 
Christian Nugue "go-between" (Meudon (France)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jason Reitman of 'Juno' fame tells us about an executive who has set out to become a travel legend by rushing from airport to airport, firing people inbetween. How do you feel when you finally get the supreme reward, a medal for the 10th million miles traveled ?
Well, sort of queasy. What is the meaning of it all ?
George Clooney is here at his best. Seemingly never acting, just being himself. Master of his art. The most interesting character is undoubtedly Anna Kendrick who evolves from perky, know-it-all Natalie - a supporting role at best - to a lead actress in her own right.
I love her face, because it mirrors all sorts of emotions without even moving the lips. Anna Kendrick has a remarkable face and she definnitely knows how to use it.
Not a great movie, but very good entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing but sad reflection on American life, 14 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up In The Air [DVD] (DVD)
George's job is to flying thousands of miles a year and fire people. Up In The Air is where the ex-employees find their careers after George has finished with them. George likes to give them a civilized send off. This movie reminds me how Americans live to work and without a job they are in deep, deep trouble. This is an amusing romcom and if you've ever worked in the States you'll recognise the insecurity of working life there. JP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up In The Air [DVD]
Up In The Air [DVD] by Jason Reitman (DVD - 2010)
£3.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews