Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2010
I love Alex Kava's books and was thrilled to finally buy this new one. Started reading right away but for some reason it didn't grab me as some of her other books have. The story was allright, glad to read about Maggie again, but I was really wondering where it was all heading. And then it was over! Very very anti climax in the end, it's not often I'm so disappointed by the ending. And as much as I love Maggie O'Dell, she's not really going anywhere either...get on with it!! (especially when it comes to her love life). I am looking forward to Alex Kava's next book, but I'm hoping with all my heart that that one will be up to the old standards.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2009
It's the busiest shopping day in America: Black Friday, the day after Thanksgiving, and 5 college students are at the Mall of America, the biggest mall in America, with 3 red backpacks stuffed full of explosives. The students were told they were going to be sent to the mall to threaten America's security, to show America how unprepared they really are for a terrorist attacks. They were told that they would be carrying back packs that would hold electronic devices thay would transmit a signal causing the malls electronics to short circuit and break. They werent told anyone would be injured or killed. They were there to simply prove a point and force America to buck up there ideas. What follows is pure chaos, hundreds of innocent people are killed or injured and it us up to Maggie O'Dell and the rest of the FBI to find out who orchestrated the massacre.

The book kicks off to a fast pace, theres some good twists and turns thrown in and it reminded me of some of James Pattersons more action packed books. However on the cover of this book there is a quote from the Guardian newspaper: 'Move Over Patricia Cornwell, Kathy Reichs and Karin Slaughter'. But in my oppinion as of late Alex Kava has produced nothing to really threaten these 3 leading ladies of crime fiction. Becuase what Cornwell, Reichs & Slaughter have produced, and what is lacking in Kava's books, is good characters. Kay Scarpetta, Temp Brennan, Sara Linton. These 3 ladies have produced books that are both action packed and thrilling but with believable, relatable and enjoyable characters. Characters that have grown and changed throughout the series. However it seems to me that Kava has problems focusing on and including all these characters she has introduced throughout the series. Yes, Maggie O'Dell has been there through all 7 books but her relationships aren't adapting with the other characters and some characters aren't even being included in more than a couple of chapters. And it's a shame because Alex Kava has shown she can write good books, theyre quick paced and enjoyable but shes missing that characterization that would really take her up to that next level. And that's something I hope she can rectify becuase, although her books are exciting and entertaining it wont be long before I grow tired of reading the same thing. And that's why I really cant award this book any more than 3 stars.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
I rocketed through book seven of the Maggie O'Dell series and not for the reason that it's a fairly short novel. In point of fact, there's a lot of excellence crammed into this story, the bulk of which takes place over a 24-hour period. The 24 hours start on the Friday after Thanksgiving with a bombing at the Mall of America in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The shopping centre is packed with people taking part in the now-traditional Black Friday shopping fiasco, and the bombers are just college kids who have been induced to carry backpacks filled with bombs through the shopping centre. When two of the three are killed in the ensuing explosion, the surviving three realise they have been used and are now probably in danger as they are the loose ends. Another attack is planned for an unknown airport less than 48 hours later. Maggie and the other enforcement authorities have to find and protect the survivors, work out which airport is the next target, discover who's behind the plot and prevent the next wave of bombing. An emotional impact is made when it's discovered that Maggie's half-brother Patrick is one of the surviving college students that was bamboozled into taking part and he is the one who can identify the man who arranged the attacks, but only by putting himself in extreme danger. Maggie's former love interest Nick Morelli also plays a big role here, too.

Somehow, Kava keeps manages to integrate all these parts of the story and ends up writing an engrossing novel that accurately touches upon the fears that people have of terrorism striking in the domestic setting. Solidly written, this is a must-have for all Kava fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love Alex Kava and the Maggie O'Dell series. Like the previous review from Aug 2010, this book didn't really grip me straight away. I was looking forward to finding out how Maggie had been since her boss' death in the previous book. I have to admit that part of the reason why I wasn't gripped was because it was terrorist based, which has to be done really well (like 6 seconds Rick Mofina!) and have enough interest. This didn't really. Once you realised it was an internal conspiracy to put the US on higher alert and hire more security it was a little boring. I wasn't interest in the 'project manager' and you don't really get to know why he's so extreme or why the gov't actually help him and I didn't care. I also felt that Nick Morrelli just sort of appears in the story just so that we don't forget that there is still chemistry between him and Maggie. I would say this has been my least favorite as you don't even really see Maggie at her best. I am looking forward to reading the next book and hope that it's as good as it should be!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
Thoroughly enjoyed this novel by Alex Kava. I've read them all now. Only annoying thing in this book is she keeps refering to Patrick as Maggie's step brother, when, if they have the same father, he is her half brother. Bad show to the editorial team who didn't pick this up. But overall a good plot with some nice twists and turns.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2011
A typically great Alex Kava offering - pacy, punchy and thoroughly enjoyable. Some credibilty was gained with the references to other terrorist atrocities, but as usual they were not overstated so they remiande believable. Just an enjoyable, easy-to-read book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
cant say anything bad about this one either all the stories have been executed brllliently and keep your interest throughtout, anyone who likes crime thrillers will love all of these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
excellent condition fast delivery one of my favourite authors and this book did not let me down. Only read if you read her others as a series of the same people in previous books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2011
this book is insubstantial compared to previous novels. seemed promising to start but author seemed in hurry to finish without developing plot or charcters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Who's the Project Manager? Cunning plot keeping the pages turning ( or swiping if it's a kindle).
Potential romance?? Read and find out.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse