Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
68
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2009
Great packaging, some nice songs but it just isn't as raw and exciting as the early stuff. Of course that is very unfair, I love Kelly Jones' voice and he really is a fine songwriter. I just do not find anything new or great signs of development. If you already have all the Stereophonics albums then you are going to buy this anyway if you don,t start with 'word gets around' and 'performance and cocktails' and move on from there.

Oh and the DVD is quite good actually.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
As with all Stereophonics albums there's something a bit different from the others, but as always, the lads pull another great one out the bag. Stand out tracks for me are 100mph, Live n Love, Uppercut & Innocent. A must for any phonics fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2010
I recently saw the Stereos perform at the MEN, and I must say they were outstanding. They entered with the song "Innocent" and ended with "Dakota". I recently purchased the "Keep Calm and Carry On" album and have been playing it ever since. Good feeling songs to listen to while driving in the summer. "Could you be the one" is my favourite track on the album. If you are a dedicated Stereophonics fan, you will love this. BUY!! BUY!! BUY!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
Stereophonics have been hindered by a "hit & miss" mentality for the past decade, starting their career with two blisteringly good rock LP's before veering off to explore their acoustic side for the next 2 and, perhaps unfairly, being tagged as dull as a result. They literally shocked everybody in 2005 when their "Language, Sex, Violence, Other?" album showed the band had returned to their rock sound and they absolutely deserved their success as the record speaks for itself - however it was short-lived, with the follow-up (2007's "Pull The Pin") suffering from the pressure of not being able to live upto it's predecessor.

By the time 2009's "Keep Calm And Carry On" swung around, nobody expected anything much and felt the band had smashed their finest material through their 2005 LP and left themselves winding down from then on... this was not the case.

Any rock fan will advise to ignore Stereophonics media reviews, as since 2001's stinging attack "Mr. Writer" the band have been panned by just about every critic and his dog. "Keep Calm And Carry On" is a shock return to the kind of form which we thought was gone. Kelly Jones has found the type of songwriting skills once more which made him such as standout performer in the first place.

From the opened "She's Alright" you can tell Jones sounds confident the way he did in 2005, and when Kelly Jones is in confident mood you're in for a good LP. The opener sets the tone for a very solid record, easily one of their best to date. We also get the typically catchy "Innocent" and the album highlight "Beerbottle", a story of flood victims which sees Jones' voice hitting heights never previously even attempted.

This album is not perfect, however, and they do suffer from their long-term problem of letting the listener lose a little interest. Most notably this time comes on "Could You Be The One?" which, after 4 blistering tracks, shuts the power off and kills the pace of the album for the next few tracks. "I Got Your Number" is a solid rock track in the vein of "Pedalpusher" which is simply hindered by the track before it. By the time "100 MPH" spins around to save the LP we're most grateful. This is one of this band's best performances to date and would stand against any other 'Phonics track.

The final two tracks of the album show hope for the future, with the bouncy "Stuck In A Rut" showcasing Jones' new confidence in stripped down rock in the shape of debut album "Word Gets Around" and the closer "Show Me How", an acoustic track which sees Jones vocals reach impressive levels once again and finishes the album in the now trademark Stereophonics manner of using a slow building epic to close out an LP.

"Keep Calm...." is a tremendous record from a band who, at this stage, were thought to be finished. Kelly Jones is truly one of rock's most naturally talented songwriters and his recognizable hacksaw voice is something which (off the back of this fine return to their best form) we will hopefully be hearing for years into the future.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I've found that lately I'm becoming a bit of a Stereophonics fan, so I suppose I'm a little biased here, but I really enjoyed this album. My all time favourite is probably "Graffiti on a Train" probably followed by "Performance and Cocktails". Having listened to this album a few times now, I think it's right up there with those two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
The Stereophonics have been subject to critical mauling over the past few years, and albums. 2001's 'Just Enough Education to Perform', their third release, gave the critics reason to raise eyebrows at the tiresome and overplayed 'Have A Nice Day', and the generally acoustic feel to the whole album dismayed many. The efforts of such to break into the US market having failed, the following album fared even worse - and had a completely incomplete feel to it. With the replacement of Stuart Cable by Javier Weyler on drums, 2005's 'Language.Sex.Violence.Other' heralded the Phonics first number one single: the cracklingly electric Dakota. Even with the slight improvement and more hard rock edge to that album, 2007's follow up - and sixth album - 'Pull the Pin' was, to say the least, sterile and disappointingly under par. Lyrically dull, musically laboured or awkward, and full of nothing-much-to-say forgettable filler (with only the occasional burst of potential), many - including myself - wrote Kelly Jones and crew off as having sold out and given up.

However, it was with interest that this new album arrived in my CD player today. And this album, believe me, is quite a departure. Maybe, finally, Kelly Jones is keeping calm and making music, rather than bowing to the pressure of record company suits to rush out a biennial release. It has a considered, textured feel to it rather than the rushed and vacant formula's found on their previous two efforts (with the exception of course, of Dakota, for which we must all bow to Jones' skill and brilliance).

This album contains a welcomed, warm and upbeat mix of rock, hints of electronica, and a collection of song ideas which - whilst at times seem frightened to fully expand into what they could be - are bristling with some 'good old' Stereophonics flare. It's an album that builds in quality - much like their second album 'Performance and Cocktails', with some of its most interesting and intriguing moments coming over half way through. Stand out songs are '100mph', the single 'Innocent', 'Trouble' and the last track 'Show Me How' is possibly Jones most honest piece of songwriting to date. Bassist Richard Jones' performance is also noticeably more melodic than previous work, which gives a deep undercurrent of ebb and flow to the work. This album almost feels like a culmination of what-could-have-been after 2001's JEEP. Sharp, swift moving, and rarely laboured - the sonic feel of this record is 'Nu-Phonics'. And a very nice change it makes too.

Sit Back and Listen In. The quartet have finally recaptured their sound.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
I do not know why but this was missing from my collection. I on investigation it would seem I had only a few of the songs from it. I had to rectify that because it is spot on classic Stereophonics. It is a must have if you are a fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
I really didn't expect much from this Album given the so-so reviews it received in the media and general lack of excitement, but after seeing them live in Cardiff and loving some of the songs live, I bought the album. I was hugely impressed and there's some real catchy numbers.
Its true to the 'phonics style and in keeping with their earlier albums, there are tracks on here that you'll be humming all day long. 'She's Alright', 'Stuck in a rut' and 'Could you be the one?' are my personal favourites, but this is one of those albums that every stereophonics fan will pick out half a dozen favourites of their own.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
This is EASILY! the best album of 2009! and it should sell well into 2010! Stereophonics return with their 7th studio album and they dont dissapoint, its everything you expect from a stereophonics album and way more! For me the album just gets stronger as the album goes on closing with the amazing "Show Me How". Standout tracks for me, 100MPH, Could You Be The One?, Show Me How, Live 'n' Love, Uppercut, Innocent! Every song amazing! 10/10! BUY IT NOW!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
I've only listened to it a few times in my car, and honestly can't pick out any particular songs which struck a chord with me! conversation continued over the top of it so can't have been that exciting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)