Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars61
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 22 November 2009
Great packaging, some nice songs but it just isn't as raw and exciting as the early stuff. Of course that is very unfair, I love Kelly Jones' voice and he really is a fine songwriter. I just do not find anything new or great signs of development. If you already have all the Stereophonics albums then you are going to buy this anyway if you don,t start with 'word gets around' and 'performance and cocktails' and move on from there.

Oh and the DVD is quite good actually.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 21 March 2010
I recently saw the Stereos perform at the MEN, and I must say they were outstanding. They entered with the song "Innocent" and ended with "Dakota". I recently purchased the "Keep Calm and Carry On" album and have been playing it ever since. Good feeling songs to listen to while driving in the summer. "Could you be the one" is my favourite track on the album. If you are a dedicated Stereophonics fan, you will love this. BUY!! BUY!! BUY!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 20 January 2010
As with all Stereophonics albums there's something a bit different from the others, but as always, the lads pull another great one out the bag. Stand out tracks for me are 100mph, Live n Love, Uppercut & Innocent. A must for any phonics fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 August 2010
I really didn't expect much from this Album given the so-so reviews it received in the media and general lack of excitement, but after seeing them live in Cardiff and loving some of the songs live, I bought the album. I was hugely impressed and there's some real catchy numbers.
Its true to the 'phonics style and in keeping with their earlier albums, there are tracks on here that you'll be humming all day long. 'She's Alright', 'Stuck in a rut' and 'Could you be the one?' are my personal favourites, but this is one of those albums that every stereophonics fan will pick out half a dozen favourites of their own.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 21 January 2011
Stereophonics have been hindered by a "hit & miss" mentality for the past decade, starting their career with two blisteringly good rock LP's before veering off to explore their acoustic side for the next 2 and, perhaps unfairly, being tagged as dull as a result. They literally shocked everybody in 2005 when their "Language, Sex, Violence, Other?" album showed the band had returned to their rock sound and they absolutely deserved their success as the record speaks for itself - however it was short-lived, with the follow-up (2007's "Pull The Pin") suffering from the pressure of not being able to live upto it's predecessor.

By the time 2009's "Keep Calm And Carry On" swung around, nobody expected anything much and felt the band had smashed their finest material through their 2005 LP and left themselves winding down from then on... this was not the case.

Any rock fan will advise to ignore Stereophonics media reviews, as since 2001's stinging attack "Mr. Writer" the band have been panned by just about every critic and his dog. "Keep Calm And Carry On" is a shock return to the kind of form which we thought was gone. Kelly Jones has found the type of songwriting skills once more which made him such as standout performer in the first place.

From the opened "She's Alright" you can tell Jones sounds confident the way he did in 2005, and when Kelly Jones is in confident mood you're in for a good LP. The opener sets the tone for a very solid record, easily one of their best to date. We also get the typically catchy "Innocent" and the album highlight "Beerbottle", a story of flood victims which sees Jones' voice hitting heights never previously even attempted.

This album is not perfect, however, and they do suffer from their long-term problem of letting the listener lose a little interest. Most notably this time comes on "Could You Be The One?" which, after 4 blistering tracks, shuts the power off and kills the pace of the album for the next few tracks. "I Got Your Number" is a solid rock track in the vein of "Pedalpusher" which is simply hindered by the track before it. By the time "100 MPH" spins around to save the LP we're most grateful. This is one of this band's best performances to date and would stand against any other 'Phonics track.

The final two tracks of the album show hope for the future, with the bouncy "Stuck In A Rut" showcasing Jones' new confidence in stripped down rock in the shape of debut album "Word Gets Around" and the closer "Show Me How", an acoustic track which sees Jones vocals reach impressive levels once again and finishes the album in the now trademark Stereophonics manner of using a slow building epic to close out an LP.

"Keep Calm...." is a tremendous record from a band who, at this stage, were thought to be finished. Kelly Jones is truly one of rock's most naturally talented songwriters and his recognizable hacksaw voice is something which (off the back of this fine return to their best form) we will hopefully be hearing for years into the future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 8 March 2010
I got hold of my copy of "Keep calm" the day it came out.On the first plays i was slightly dissapointed however this really is a grower and i absolutley love this album now.After seeing the Stereophonics live last week ,they played several songs from the album ,which sounded fantastic.Do yourself a favour get a copy of this album now and try and get some tickets to see the Phonics in concert.You wont be dissapointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 3 March 2010
OK, the previous Stereophonics albums also had strong and weaker songs. But in direct comparison this one really is a pop album - not that this is bad all by itself. I do especially like the titles "Wonder", "She's alright" and "Uppercut" - the rest is just average, if not a little boring.
Still, compared to what other bands do these days, "keep calm and carry on" is still above the average - hence 4 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 20 August 2010
Yet another classic album from The Stereophonics.

I thoroughly enjoy all the tracks on this album; in particular 'She's Alright' and 'Innocent'.

A must for every fan of the band. Good to see they haven't lost their way, like several other bands over the years. As fresh as their albums from 8 years ago!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2010
Better than I expected! I have not bought any Stereophonics albums before, but was inspired to do so after seeing them on Jools Holland, and am not disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
I loved their first two albums and their 5th album. This album is very dull - nothing stands out as exciting. It is a shame, the songs are not awful but just nothing special. Not a dreadful album but it could be a lot better if they returned to the style of their first two albums. If you like slow/ballady rock with a pop beat then you may enjoy this album. If you are new to this group then check out the first two albums initially. If you don't like rock then you will probably like the third album (which I didn't!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Graffiti On The Train
Graffiti On The Train by Stereophonics

Word Gets Around
Word Gets Around by Stereophonics

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.