Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful
I have to be honest from the start and say I was never the biggest fan of Friends. I never managed to get into it, finding it amusing at best and only watching it casually if there was nothing else on.
However, that was some time ago and on the high praise from some friends of mine, I decided to have a gamble on one of these new re-releases of the well-known series,...
Published on 26 Feb 2005 by John Corbett

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great show
This is a great show but the discs are double sided so they are very easy to scratch. Keep discs away from kids
Published 7 days ago by David Weaver


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful, 26 Feb 2005
By 
John Corbett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to be honest from the start and say I was never the biggest fan of Friends. I never managed to get into it, finding it amusing at best and only watching it casually if there was nothing else on.
However, that was some time ago and on the high praise from some friends of mine, I decided to have a gamble on one of these new re-releases of the well-known series, starting with this one because it's got the episode with Brad Pitt in from the 'we hate Rachel Green club.' This is kind of sad now they've split in real life, but I've always been curious to see this episode. What I wasn't prepared for in the least was the comedy, addictiveness and surprising depth this series explores.
It begins with people discovering that Rachel is pregnant. Some funny situations lead to a huge laugh when we discover who the father is, and yet another memorable moment when the father himself discovers the truth! How Rachel and those close to her deal with her pregnancy and the inevitable events leading up to it is often funny, but very moving at times too, giving a real insight into what it must be like for single mothers going through pregnancies, minus the comedy moments of course.
This series is exceptional and I'll be watching it over and over again for a long time to come. I recommend you do the same. Haven't finished it yet though, so I can't wait to see how it all turns out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friends Series 8, 4 April 2009
A Kid's Review
I am a Friends addict i have seen all the friends episodes 100 times each and more i love it that much!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 4 Aug 2009
By 
Richard Lewis (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Friends is the pinnacle of American comedy, a truly amazing series which captured everyone's hearts. The cast is amazing, the writers always original and inventive, this series grew over the 10 years and always managed to become better and better. Owning the whole collection is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Series so far, 12 Aug 2002
Series 8 is by far the best series of Friends that has ever been made. This set contains all 24 episodes from the multiple award-winning number 1 comedy ever. Each disk contains 4 original episodes plus on side B, uncut versions of each episode, with footage that i recon should have been left in the orginal episodes. Although Friends has been going for 8 years, the magic and the comedy has not disappeared. Marta Kauffman and David Crane (the producers of Friends) should be proud that their second to last series has made me laugh more than any other. Although there is only one more series to go, Friends will never leave you with this box set on your shelf. With special guest stars including Sean Penn, Alec Baldwin and even Brad Pitt!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Comedy, 15 Nov 2006
By 
A. O'Malley "Aominedinburgh" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are funnier things than Friends on television, but nothing as long-lasting and consistently funny. In Season 8, the acting and directing (as well as visual quality) have improved from the early series, whilst it has lost none of its inventiveness and sparkle.

The season kicks off right after Monica & Chandler's "I do" and with the finding that Rachel is with child. Her pregnancy comes up in all 24 episodes. From the identity of the father ("Oh no- don't tell me it's her!"), to the possibility of marriage ("What, because that's your answer to everything?") and breaking the news to the parents (I particularly loved Rach explaining to her father why Ross won't marry her: "He says I'm damaged goods"). The question comes up: can the pair commit themselves to raising the child together whilst continuing their separate love lives as before? Certainly, it's not the sort of thing that blights lives: Rachel has a stable career and can afford to refuse a husband. It is perhaps in recognition of how anaesthetised it is that halfway through the season, she meets a much younger woman with far fewer financial means in the same situation. Interestingly, there is no mention whatsoever of the possibility of abortion.

Also involving R&R, an old friend from High School returns bearing an old and dark hatred (played by Brad Pitt, who is not mentioned in the credits for some reason) and that old favourite, a woman demanding sex from a man (nobody as attractive as Jennifer Aniston can be so pathetic at sexual provocation). Meanwhile, see Phoebe spell out her name ("P as in Phoebe..."), Joey reminiscing about his first good review ("Everything else was just terrible; Joey Tribbiani was abysmal."), Monica splurging on a pair of ill-fitting boots ("They're killing me, one toe at a time!") and Chandler taking a bath with oils and perfumes (but also a toy boat, which makes it a man's bath). And plenty of others that would seem flat and boring on paper.

What really puzzles me is how devoid of features the DVD release is. No interviews, commentaries or even scene selection (very annoying). However, they do promise: `Web enabled' (what's that?) `Scene access' (no, only episode access) `Interactive menus' (like selling a car as having a waterproof petrol tank) `Original TV broadcast episodes, each containing "never before seen" footage, exclusive to DVD' (I'm sure Hegel would love that). There's a dubbing in French, but it's awful (use subtitles). The franchise deserves much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friends DVD - Season 8, 12 Aug 2010
The best comedy series ever. Very funny, clever acting and can be enjoyed over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars friends season 8, 27 Oct 2009
By 
HmS (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
this is a great season absolutely love it, i had the complete series but i lent it to my cousin who has a lot of house guests and season 8 got stolen so i had to repurchase this series easily 1 of my faves though i'd definitely buy it again if season 8 went missing again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ****Could...I...Be...Wearin' Any More Clothes!?****, 9 Sep 2003
By 
S. J. Smith - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
For over eight seasons now Friends has consistantly hit the mark in the humour stakes. It's never failed to strike a chord with it's audience, never revelled in it's own hype, never gone through the motions or suffered from old-age-gag-redo syndrome. Nothing but fresh. Fresh jokes, fresh scenarios, fresh delivery, each and every episode. To be commended.
Well, you'd think so wouldn't you?
In actual fact though, the 'EMMY' awards (America's TV Oscars) have passed 'Friends' by year in and year out up until now. And for what reason? Some would argue that 'Frasier' deserved the award that it claimed each year as the cast of Friends looked on with brave, plastic smiles. Some would argue that now the competition is less apparent, i.e Frasier doesn't air any more so who's left to stand in the way?
However, one award in eight seasons...some would argue that Friends has been hard done to. Okay, it may not have the same subtle touches of Frasier but it always hit the target. It's cast may be picture perfect examples of modern, unobtainable beauty, but their constantly neurotic character execution keeps them human, keeps them familiar and keeps them funny.
This season is no different from any other. The standard is still high, the acting still priceless and the stories still appealing. It's got everything. If you're already a fan then you need no encouragement...in fact, why are you even reading this!? However, if you're new to the whole Friends deal...I suggest you start at Episode One/Season One and fall in love with Friends like the rest of us.
For the established fan base...I heard recently from buddies in North America that there are plans for a 'Joey' spin-off show after season ten! Yay!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Eight, 6 Nov 2002
This being their eighth series, the six Friends stars have come a long way since the pilot episode and the first series (don't they all look so young! And what was Monica thinking with some of those outfits?!). But now whilst many are saying it has reached the end of the tunnel, I would say that what started out as an exceptional comedy show has evolved into much, much more. Series Eight definitely proves this for me. The original, outstanding comedy and one-liners have not decreased in quality. Combined with the gripping storylines that have evolved over the years "Friends" is now superior to comedy or soap opera, but is in a unique class of its own. But has it got too emotional? If it has it hasn't decreased the comedy element, but added a whole other dimension to what we expect from a TV series. God help the others! In this series in particular, the whole "who's the Father?" thing early on manages to keep you coming back for more with a begging bowl in your hand! Then later on, after Joey's secret crush is revealed, he ends up proposing by the end of the series, and we are left aching at the thought of what series nine will bring. In the meantime, there is plenty in this DVD collection to keep you occupied, and believe me, you will be more than occupied!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great show, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friends Season 8 (DVD)
This is a great show but the discs are double sided so they are very easy to scratch. Keep discs away from kids
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaba19cc0)

This product

Friends Season 8 - Extended Edition [DVD]
Friends Season 8 - Extended Edition [DVD] by Jennifer Aniston (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: 7.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews