Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's Back!
I first heard Seasick Steve a few years ago now on Jools Holland's Hootenanny and was blown away. With lyrics written by himself and simple catchy music Steve produces the kind of music that others can only dream of. It is refreshing in a world of music that has become in many cases too commercialised that people like Seasick Steve are still around keeping things pure -...
Published on 21 Oct 2009 by M. Dowden

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin sound.
Having heard sea Sick Steve on the radio I was very keen to purchase the CD. However the sound quality on the CD is so inferior to that on the radio, which is unusual, that I am very disappointed with this recording. I will have to wait for him to come back around on Radio 2's play list......
Published on 26 April 2011 by 1tenrob


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's Back!, 21 Oct 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
I first heard Seasick Steve a few years ago now on Jools Holland's Hootenanny and was blown away. With lyrics written by himself and simple catchy music Steve produces the kind of music that others can only dream of. It is refreshing in a world of music that has become in many cases too commercialised that people like Seasick Steve are still around keeping things pure - especially on the Blues scene, where the songs are supposed to speak to us.

On this album are in total 12 tracks with Dan Magnusson playing drums on 7 of them. Where Steve really excels is when he is playing and singing by himself and these tracks are really good. All in all this is a brilliant album to have. If you are looking at this item then you probably already know Steve's work from previous albums, but if this is your first time then you are in for a real treat if you get this.

Although there are 12 tracks on this there are in fact 13 because if you listen to the last track it is extended, and after everyone says their goodbyes the song plays; Amy LaVere sings on this track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Whatever Time You're From, 20 Oct 2009
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
You cannot help but love Seasick Steve. He looks like a man who has travelled all over the world and his music and lyrics are filled with the consequent maturity and perspective. The opener to this album is a track called `Diddley Bo'. It is a phenomenal track filled with driving energetic drums and a lead line played on some kind of homemade lap steel instrument. To follow this `Big Green and Yeller' swaggers and struts with a more than accomplished riff and a wonderful rock vocal. This wouldn't be out of place in the 70's and yet it feels just as timeless today. Recent single `Happy (To Have a Job)' is well placed at track three with its stripped back production, bouncy folk guitar and deep vocals. `Banjo Song' then descends further into Seasick Steve's stripped back country sounds in such a way that you can't help but smiling at the simplicity.

After this the title track starts confidently with plodding drums before Steve's vocals ring through over a sliding and twanging guitar line. This is a wonderfully honest track. To follow this `That's All' struts with more of the same confidence and a produces a growing desire in me to dance in stereotypical hill billy fashion. The sound then returns to a more stripped back state with `Just Because I Can' which is a sombre and gentle travelling song. It acts almost as a prologue to `Never Go West' which though more energetic is angry and slightly bitter. On `Dark' Steve then produces a sombre and slightly remorseful track.

Ultimately the album closes out in similar style to the way it started. `Seasick Boogie' is plodding with a wonderfully bouncy guitar line. The whole package is then held together with Steve's vocals once more growling throughout. Once Steve, Vance, Roy and Nathan have said goodbye and Steve has set up a bit of a party you are treated to a beautifully soft version of Hank William's `I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry.'

Seasick Steve is a character almost unlike any other in the music industry today and albums like this are an absolute joy to listen to filled with wonderful stories, emotion and no small slice of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a breath of fresh air., 22 Oct 2009
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
I did'nt know that Steve existed until by chance I heard him on a recent tv show in the UK. That was this last Sunday and have now dowloaded and played his 'Man From Another Time' album. This probably the best folk-blues music I have ever heard and cannot stop playing the CD. It is my intention to buy his other releases.
For any one who likes this kind of music it is a 'must buy', even if you are iffy about it get it you will enjoy every minute.Man From Another Time. Your foot will not stop tapping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Syd - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Got the free track from Amazon. Normally would not have touched with a barge-pole. did not think I liked blues and his picture put me off - he looks a bit Hicksville. but the free tack was great and so got the whole album straight away. all the tracks are as good as the freebie, some good singing, some good tunes, and a great laid-back feel. a class album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doghouse does it for me!!, 2 Nov 2009
By 
B. J. Smith (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
From the one-string Diddleybo to the three string transformer, Steve has knocked out yet another fantastic album. Every track is infused with the essence of this gentle and deeply souful man (hear Banjo Song), and when he's rockin', no-one does it better. Love the man, love his music, can't wait to see him this month in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MAN FROM ANOTHER TIME REVIEW, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Y. J. Fielding (stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
Not quite as good as cheap or started out with nothing but knocks socks of most other current album releases. First song Diddley Bo is rocking. Sounds a bit like Steve Earle who I also like. I love folk/country/blues which tell stories and has he got a story to tell. This man has lead a LIFE. Man from another time is the old nostalgia thing where old folks always think that the old days were better. He used to think it was nonsense when he was a kid but now he's just the same now he's getting on a bit.Just Because I Can is about riding the railway for free on a lazy Sunday when he hasn't got anything else he needs to do and is a slow and relaxed song. Never go west is about getting put in jail when what seemed like a good idea at the time ended him and his mate in the wrong town. My home is a love song where he's saying he doesn't need to promise to be true or need to keep saying I love you because it's like saying day follows night or the world is round it's a fact and isn't going to change. And I'm glad my purchase of his previous albums has helped him to buy his Big Green and Yeller tractor. That's a lot better than what a lot of Artists spend their money on. All in all a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man From Another Time, Seasick Steve - Music from another time, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
In this, his fourth record since he exploded onto the music scene a few short years ago, Seasick Steve has produced another classic.

The disc is chock full of up tempo blues. It stomps, it boogies, it gets your feet tapping. It shows why Steve is one of the most highly regarded blues artists of the last 20 years.

The key to Steve's artistry is that, like all great blues artists, he has lived a full and eventful life, with much hardship. His writing and singing is inspired and informed by the years of hoboing around America. It adds another dimension to the recording, a touch of realism that sets it apart. It's reminiscent of the great Blues artists in 1950's Chicago, such as Muddy Waters and Howlin' Wolf, many of whom had tough lives before (and after) they found fame. Indeed, there are several occasions when Steve plays guitar breaks that sound a lot like Muddy Waters or John Lee Hooker. That other great bluesman, Bo Diddley, gets a name check in the first song (a tribute to Steve's unique one string instrument, the Diddley Bo) which is based around the famous Diddley beat.

This is music straight from the heart. No meaningless lyrics, pointless overproduction or synthesisers, it's real music played by real people with a great deal of skill and a deep love of what they're doing. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys music with feeling. Probably not of interest to fans of Cowell style plastic pop. This record really deserves to collect a lot of awards. My only slight niggle is that there are none of the great spoken word stories of his life as a Hobo that were so effective on his previous recordings.

If you enjoy this then check out Steve's other offerings, `I started out with nothing', `Doghouse music' and `Cheap. I would also recommend `Electric Dirt' by Levon Helm, another record made with feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just gets better....., 11 Dec 2009
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
I first saw Seasick Steve on Jools Holland's New Year's Eve show about 3 years ago and thought "that is my kind of music" but failed to write his name down. When he appeared again the following year I certainly did make a note of it and immediately ordered his latest CD which was "Dog House Music". I loved it and so when I heard he had brought out "Man from another Time" I ordered it as soon as it came out. He really just goes from great to marvellous. The tracks move from just plain fun to be alive and playing (Diddley Bo) through to reflective (Just Because I Can) and on to driving blues (Seasick Boogie). To anyone who loves the sound of Delta Blues, this is a must. He really is a Man from Another Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAN FROM ANOTHER TIME, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
Excellent album just my type of music. In fact my wife hates it so it must be good.Man From Another Time
Will definitley be buying a few more Seasick Steve Cds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seasick.....not, 8 Dec 2009
By 
T. Cogan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man From Another Time (Audio CD)
I had some impression that the singing would be a little on the rough side, a coarse rasp but no, the singing is pretty smooth. That doesn't detract from a very good country/blues album. Love the slide guitar and the plinky banjo, in fact i think the banjo track is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man From Another Time [VINYL]
Man From Another Time [VINYL] by Seasick Steve (Vinyl - 2009)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews