Customer Reviews


649 Reviews
5 star:
 (497)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I DREAMED A DREAM
GREAT CD BY SUSAN BOYLE, LOVE HER MUSIC AND BOUGHT IT FROM AMAZON AS IT WAS CHEAPER AND THE AMAZON SERVICE IS JUST 1ST CLASS THANK YOU THIS CD IS SO LOVELY HER WORDS ARE SO CLEAR NICE TO HEAR WHAT SHE IS SINGING ABOUT,LOVE IT.
Published on 13 Sep 2011 by d clark

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING DEBUT ALBUM
There was a time not that long ago when everyone involved in a recording session assembled in a studio, the sound engineer sat in the control booth, and away they went. But not any more, apparently. The credits for Susan Boyle's first CD state "Mixed by Ren Swan. Recorded and mixed at Rokstone Studios, London". So far, so good, but they continue "Strings recorded at Air...
Published on 31 Jan 2010 by Barry McCanna


‹ Previous | 162 63 64 65 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great cd if you can't get to sleep!!, 6 Jan 2010
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
What a shame that Susan Boyle has been put through the Syco Records bland machine. Sonically there are no highs or lows, everything seems to remain at the same compressed level. Rather than help her excellent voice it somehow degrades the performance.
As to the choice of songs who was guilty of choosing Wild Horses and Daydream Believer ? Two songs that the producers have ripped out all emotion.
If you can't sleep play this at bedtime, it will have you nodding of in minutes.
It should also come with a "do not drive or operate machinery while listening to this album as it creates drowsiness".
I do hope that Syco give her a chance to let rip and "get up and go" next time, but please don't let the producers torture any Beatles' songs!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh no not a whole album, 18 Sep 2009
By 
H. Bruce "music lover" (edin scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
I had a nightmare more like it - signing is about more than a 'nice' voice it's about passiona nd emotion BOTH lacking in Ms Boyle's music by numbers world, two stars only cause she scrubbed up well.... Can we look forward to a Subo jedward colaboration/aboration?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for people who don't understand what singing is., 3 Dec 2009
By 
A. P. Raynham (Somewhere between London & Essex.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
Whose idea was this?
How can she sing these songs?
I cringe with embarrassment for her.

It's like when I see kids on TV singing songs about love and loss and despair. I think what do you know of these things? And the answer comes back in the delivery of the song. Nothing.

When I hear this Miss Boyle sing Cry me a River and Wild Horses I have the same feeling. She is singing the words but, in my opinion, they are empty and saccharine. I strongly suspect she's never even heard them sung before. When Ella or Julie London Sing Cry me a River, their total despair (imagined or not)is communicated through the song. That is what singing is!

If Robert De Niro went on screen and read aloud memorised words at other actors he would never have made it through day two of his acting career. Importantly everyone would then comment on what a horrible actor he was.

Miss Boyle is just singing the words in the same way that someone laughs at something that they don't find funny.

She missed a trick here. She could have released a Christmas carol album and sung about how smashing Jesus is and I would have believed her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bland, 25 Nov 2009
By 
D. Anderson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Dreamed A Dream (MP3 Download)
I have no idea what so ever why people are going crazy over this album. There are far better vocal talents out there who do not merely re-create the track. This is at best bland and worst an insult to the original composers.

I suspect you would buy this if you are a fan of reality TV and if that is the case good luck to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan is Sensational!, 14 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
I have heard Susan singing "Wild Horses" and its is beautiful and haunting and as with her live singing on the TV Susan always gives me goosebumps, a voice like and angel and one in real life too, Susan is sensational and second to none, and I wish her every possible success all the way up to the top where she belongs.
Susan has a beautiful enigmatic voice and one you will never forget once you have heard her.
Susan's music is a must have and I can't wait for her first album to come out, meanwhile I am avidly searching for her new single "Wild Horses" I intend to buy every one of Susan's albums and will be following her success all the way through.
Susan you have huge fans in myself, my family and my friends and colleagues here in Lancashire, you are a huge and number one hit with us all here and you deserve to get on. Your break is long overdue.
Go buy Susan's music everyone I strongly recommend it.
Love & Hugs,
Kaz XXXXXXX
Dr Karen J Stevens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering, perfection, speechless ..., 17 Nov 2009
By 
D. Pinnington "gadget geek" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
I listened to Wild Horses on You Tube (from America's Got Talent) and it is perfect - I immediately pre-ordered the album.

I was not a fan of "Britains Got Talent" but I thought Susan Boyle was very special and this album seems absolutely amazing. She's a very special lady and has risen above everything and everyone around her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 50 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars COMMING TO YOUR BARGAIN BIN SOON!, 27 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
as many people already have stated, I can only agree with all the 2 to one star ratings.
My problem is that with this recording she doesn't sound special anymore, it is over produced, it has got no warmth. Her voice sounds ordinary and the selection of songs is dreadfull.
For once in my life I thought that via those over commercial programs they actually found someone very special, and what do they do to her tallent???. They distroy it by making it so average and over produced. the arrangements are dreadfull and slushy!
this was a great disapointment.
It goes to show, that whatever those t.v shows produce is forgetable and cheesy and an insult to music!

If you want a special voice with more style and a better repetoir check Shirley Basseys new album...there is talent! and she is 72 so sorry Susan, You could have been awsome...but obviously you have no say in your musical 'talent' they pick the tunes for you, they make the arrangements, and to top it all they over compress and produce and with that distroyed your voice...

this album is all in all terrible where as it could have been realy good!
also I think that everybody in the world is fed up with amazing grace and over done songs like that!! o.k wild horses and you'll see are the only worth while songs, but even those lack in warmth....
THIS C.D WILL BE COMMING TO THE BARGAIN BIN SOON...and mark my words every charity shop in the u.k will be overflowing with this album within a year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan is fantastic, 18 Sep 2009
By 
P. Patey (Bedfordshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
I have just listened to Susan singing wild horses on you tube this morning, and I cried, she has something special in her voice, I can not wait for her albumn to come out I have it on order, I am so pleased that she is dreaming her dream and long may it last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A major disappointment, 24 Nov 2009
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
Yes, Susan Boyle is a fairly competent vocalist. But so is my little sister; not to mention thousands of other amateur singers who, in all objectivity, can sing just as well. The difference with Ms. Boyle is that she did actually make it onto "Britain's Got Talent" and she did indeed deliver an astonishing performance at that time. No doubt this album will sell in the millions to hordes of ordinary people who very rarely buy CD's and who are still reeling from the aftershock of the initial Boyle phenomenon.
But leaving that aside, what do we actually have here? Well, of course, this is only my opinion, but I'll give it to you anyway! What we have are rather restrained vocals, sufficiently enhanced (digitally) to professional standard, but which completely lack any kind of real emotion. The last time I was enthralled by a Scottish pop chanteuse was with Sheena Easton. Now there's a sassy Scot with a voice. Do you remember that high note in "Morning Train"? Ms. Boyle can't do that, that's for sure!
Next gripe... the blandest, shallowest musical arrangements I've had the misfortune to endure for many a year. I recently heard a version of "Cry Me A River" on the radio by an identified artist that was a really original interpretation - unfortunately I have no idea who it was, but it certainly was not Ms. Boyle. Contrary to what I was expecting, her version was nothing more than a "me-too" rendition that is way below Julie London's landmark recording.
I have no doubt that Susan Boyle is a very nice person, and I'm happy for her in terms of her newly found wealth. I'm just sorry that she has been so poorly served by the intentions of the other rights holders with respect to this very ordinary album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music Good - Delivery?, 21 Nov 2009
By 
George Moffett (cambridge, cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Dreamed a Dream (Audio CD)
The music on the CD is not my point of reviewing but the delivery. Why do 'Indigo Starfish' (Amazon's Jersey supplier) send out CD's in Jiffy bags! Do they want to see how many can arrive with broken covers - cos' that's how mine arrived. Can't be bothered with creating a return and taking it to the Post Office. Last time I shall use Amazon's Jersey supplier. Have rated it as 3 (though that's unfair on the music contained on the CD) as the delivery only justifies that rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 162 63 64 65 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Dreamed A Dream
I Dreamed A Dream by Susan Boyle
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews