Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voice without parallel
Who else could write & sing "The candy coloured clown they call the sandman..." Wonderful stuff. Great lyrics from a master of the art of modern music. And the whole album is full of all of his gems, brilliantly written and beautifully delivered. You can't fault it and you will enjoy every second that you play it. It evokes such memories because, at some time or another,...
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by comm88

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Career-spanning
There is a cornucopia of compilations that put the spotlight on this distinctive-looking Texan, who died in 1988 after a heart attack. Most of those efforts, quite understandably, concentrate on the work that the bespectacled, black-clad, black-haired singer created in the early to mid-1960s for Monument Records - broken-hearted rock-and-roll songs in the ilk of his UK...
Published 1 month ago by S. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voice without parallel, 9 Nov 2010
By 
comm88 "comm88" (READING, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who else could write & sing "The candy coloured clown they call the sandman..." Wonderful stuff. Great lyrics from a master of the art of modern music. And the whole album is full of all of his gems, brilliantly written and beautifully delivered. You can't fault it and you will enjoy every second that you play it. It evokes such memories because, at some time or another, we've all been to the places he was writing about. Buy it. Enjoy it. Live it, love it and share it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


216 of 223 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Career Spanning Orbison, 22 Aug 2007
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
No one should need reminding that Roy Orbison possessed the ultimate voice in conveying paranoia, tortured emotions and fatalism in his songs so, at first sight, it is surprising that yet another compilation is needed.

However, take another look. This release contains eleven of his sixteen essential Monument hits. Any album containing such treasures as Only The Lonely, Falling, It's Over, Blue Angel, Pretty Woman and Cryin' must rate as a 5* star album on the strength of those tracks alone.

But, unlike many other compilation albums, this release has only one of his Sun recordings which is of no consequence since he was scarcely a rock 'n' roller anyway! Instead, the CD has three magical tracks from his last and critically underrated album, the 1989 release, Mystery Girl. An added bonus is his warm and tender duet with Emmylou Harris, That Loving You Feelin' Again, from the movie Roadie plus some of his MGM hits including Too Soon To Know and Lana.

Of course, there are expensive box sets and compilations with fifty plus tracks for the completists and the obsessed and purists might quibble at the selections (In Dreams is the 1985 version). But this is a career spanning retrospective and for those who want a concise overview of one of the great dramatic balladeers of the 20th century - and at a budget price - this album is hard to beat. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only the Lonely, 6 Nov 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In June 1960, a record was released in the UK that didn't immediately sound much different to others of that period. It started with a few "dum dums" as if it was just another white doowop group like, say, Dion and the Belmonts. It also sounded as if it was going to plough that familiar chord sequence of C Amin F G like a million records before. But as you listened it changed, the voice started to soar, particularly in that dramatic middle eight, "There goes my baby" "bah bah bah bah" (that's punctuation from massed strings and tympani) and the gradual realisation started hitting you that you were listening to something altogether new. There were touches in the arrangement of what Lieber and Stoller achieved with the Drifters on the song - is this a coincidence? - "There goes my baby". On top of it there was a voice with the range of a Jackie Wilson but with the tone of someone who's seen all the misery in the world and who's faced it with resignation. Little did we know that much of this was to come true in the life of the Big O. But at this early stage we could already hear influences in there of R&B, country and doowop but all coming together in a kind of white soul from a man who would cry as much lyrically as Bobby Bland did. Dave Marsh said "(he) stands as (rock's) ultimate stoic. Maybe he wore those shades all the time to disguise the fact that he never blinked no matter what you threw at him".

The record was "Only the Lonely". The artist was Roy Orbison. The label was London American but sourced from Monument in the US. Reportedly Roy had offered the song to both Presley and the Everly Brothers and the latter had suggested that he record it himself. Thankfully he did. The record hit number one in the UK charts in October and stayed there for two weeks.

It wasn't his first record by any means. He'd paid his dues at Sun along with a host of Elvis wannabe's all out for their five minutes of glory. Sam Phillips' style of white men singing the blues didn't really play to Roy's strengths but he held his end up well. Only "Ooby Dooby" is present here to represent that period. There is a track he recorded - Chuck Willis' "It's too late, she's gone" - which was unreleased at the time which was much more of a pointer to Roy's later Monument style with soaring vocal and plenty of pain in the lyrics, but we didn't get to hear this till many years later.

There had been singers before in the style that was quaintly termed a rock ballad - I've already reviewed the likes of Conway Twitty, Ral Donner and from our side of the pond, Billy Fury. And Elvis liked to get his teeth into a big ballad occasionally. But Roy could beat the lot at this game. Let's be honest, this wasn't all apparent from one single but the series it started - "Blue Angel", "Running Scared" (theme for an imaginary western), "Crying" (quasi-bolero with his greatest vocal performance), "In Dreams"(tex-mex desolation), "Falling", "Blue Bayou" - told us in no uncertain terms that a man had arrived who'd ripped up the rulebook for rock ballads and redefined them his way. And in between or on flip sides he gave us some rather neat, near or sometimes full-on, rockers to let us know he could do that as well with "Pretty Woman", "Dream Baby" and others not here like his challenge to ex-Sun label mate Jerry Lee on "Mean Woman Blues".

Yes he did produce albums with some decent stuff on but it was that run of singles that remains the absolutely essential must-have, die-for-it, AWESOME, seam of gold nuggets. OK you do hear them a lot still on the radio but that's not the same as owning them and playing them in order. As an aside, my only beef about this album is that it doesn't include the tracks in order.

Back on the positives, the album also gives us the best of the later period. It was great to see that, after a life full of much pain, Roy did get to have a late period revival or an Indian summer as it were. And it wasn't just the old stuff and tributes from the likes of Dylan and Springsteen, it was the fact that he managed to produce some more of those mini operas which were almost as good as their `60's equivalents. There are also some pleasant surprises in here like the `85 version of "Claudette" - I always loved the Everly's cut of this song but Roy nearly tops it - and the duet with Emmy Lou is a charmer.

Way back in roughly the mid 1950's a series of giants hit the popular music scene with names like Presley, Berry, Holly and more, who brought the world rock'n'roll as we know it. Roy Orbison was the first talent to emerge after that first phase to match those guys, and like Chuck and Buddy, not only did he sing the songs, he wrote them as well. We lost one quiet and self effacing Texan with spectacles who just happened to be a musical genius in 1959. In 1960 we gained another Texan with remarkably similar qualities right down to the genius bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love love love this CD. The big O never disappoints. Every song is a joy to listen to.
Such a shame a talented singer/guitar player/song writer died so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Roy Orbison, 6 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. Michael E. Williams (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Roy Orbison [Clean] (MP3 Download)
Some Roy Orbison recordings (he made a lot) are not always the best but this collection definitely is.
This is a great album to listen to and excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 13 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best. The Big O makes this cd gripping one would play over and over again. Well worth the money. Very good delivery time well packed. What more could one say, but thanks saves hunting round shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Roy Orbison, 8 May 2009
By 
John Gordon (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All the great Orbison Classics are here. Powerful emotional ballads plus the typical 50's oobie-doobie type stuff which is tripe, in songwriter terms, but nevertheless an important part of rock'n'roll history, I suppose. If you're old enough to have enjoyed these songs first time around, it's a great trip down memory lane. If you're younger it could educate you as to how it was when your parents were teenagers.

Roy was a great musician with a unique and truly amazing voice, and he was a Wilbury, much to his credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection, 26 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I often can't stand listening to the Radio. So I try to find interesting alternative music on cd. The iconic Roy Orbison, beloved of my parents, brings back many memories. Since I bought this several weeks ago I have played it continuously in my car for my daily hour long each way commute. My kids are sick of it by now, but they weren't ashamed to have it blaring when I first got it! I still love it and although there are a couple of annoying tracks like Ooby dooby, Claudette and That loving you feelin again, which seem to interrupt the general flow of the collection, I just skip those each time. I will repeat 'A Love so Beautiful' a dozen times each day, despite the fact that it sounds like he is singing it with new false teeth in! Three rubbish tracks out of 24 is not a bad deal, especially for 2.99!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good way to go back in time, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent CD. Can't say I found a track I didn't like. And I was surprised to pick this CD up, at the price I did. The recordings are clear, and have not changed from the time past, when Roy was belting them out on stage. If your a fan of his, Then go out and buy it. You will not be disappointed..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most of Roy's best known Hits and songs, 25 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great album from a Legend and talent unsurpassed in Popular music, that gets better the more songs I have heard of his over the years and in my view, a must for fans and great gift for older people who grew up in that era, I got it on my I touch for my holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbab55c48)

This product

Only search this product's reviews