Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scottish dough scraper
I saw one of these being used on tv by someone in the background making bread. At the time I thought that's what I need. I had been using a thing like a cake slice and when the handle parted company with the blade it was time to look for a replacement.

It took a lot of time and research, not easy when you don't know the name of what you are searching for, and...
Published on 2 July 2011 by Rustic1

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cutting edge
i have used it a few times its good for gripping and sturdy to use i find its not quite as flexi as i thought it would be but still useful
Published 19 months ago by mhk


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scottish dough scraper, 2 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
I saw one of these being used on tv by someone in the background making bread. At the time I thought that's what I need. I had been using a thing like a cake slice and when the handle parted company with the blade it was time to look for a replacement.

It took a lot of time and research, not easy when you don't know the name of what you are searching for, and eventually discovered the Scottish Dough Scraper.

I am so glad I persisted. I make four loaves at a time and this scraper is just right for cutting the dough, lifting each piece to place onto the scales to check the weight and for holding any trimmings which are then cut and added to the main pieces. I am sure it will be just as useful when making rolls, too.

It is a good weight, has a comfortable non slip handle and the blade is sturdy and good enough for cutting dough but not sharp so as to cause damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dough scraper, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
This was a brilliant purchase. I was impressed when I opened the package, since I did expect a good tool, but not this good and sturdy object. It works beautifully for handling very wet doughs, but even for cutting them and it is also a great help in short crust making, as it really does a fantastic job in cutting the butter in the floer, as the steel blade is colder than the hands. . It is also very usefull for scraping the board after working on it. Only (small) downside are the corners, a bit too pointy and they could deeply scratch the board. Rounding them up would be a good idea. Not enough to drop one star though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent rugged tool., 7 Mar 2012
By 
C. Irwin "Shizzling" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this because I've started to get the bread baking bug and my plastic spatulas literally weren't cutting it.

It's great for initial stirring of ingredients to combine into a loose dough, for getting all of the dough out of a bowl, and for dividing dough into portions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
I purchased this as a Christmas present (using Amazon's really helpful wish list) for my husband. He was delighted with it, apparently it is much more sturdy than the normal dough cutting tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dough scraper, 14 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. Sa Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
Product was a described and arrived quickly, I had a query on one and the customer service was exemplary. Would def use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dough cutter, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Ged Finch (manchester england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
brill cheap price quality piece of kit came well packed and i use every time i bake bread or barmcakes cuts the dough an never the unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dough scraper, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
we prefer to use this as a dough cutter and it is an excellent little bit of good value kit for any home bread maker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home baking, 3 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
Great quality, I have used it for dough and sugar boiling. A must have item for the home baker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good to use, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
i brought this to help speed up my process with break making and it works wonderfully very hand to have around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid and heavy with a substantial grip, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Dough Scraper Black Plastic Handle Stiff Metal Blade - 15.2cm Pastry Cooking (Kitchen & Home)
I had seen one at a local hardware store but the blade was about as flexible as a soft-drinks can and was offered at a similar price. Needless to say, I did not buy it and looked for a better alternative. This definitely fits that description. It can be used to scrape some of the very slack doughs, buns, ciabatta and others of similar consistency and also to cut them rather than using a knife. It can be used on marble and will not normally damage the surface, but will not be dulled by it either.

This is probably a professional quality product. Made from polished metal, it is heavy and the blade is stiff and substantial. It has a slight edge to the blade but it is not sharp and therefore reasonably safe even for a young child. The handle is moulded and appears quite solid and so should provide a good grip. The blade length and depth is sufficient for cutting most bread doughs and anything smaller when needed, although anything taller than about 4-inches (10cm) will probably require a knife, which I have used until now but it can dull the edge.

It should provide many years of reliable use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews