Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Very Good, But hardly a Celebration
This is a good budget price collection of the complete works of Chopin, but it falls short of its title `200th Anniversary Edition'. I am becoming depressed at major label attitudes to these sets, 'be grateful for the price and don't expect much in the way of packaging'. Today Budget labels do box sets better: with better information on the composer, the pieces and the...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Bernard Davis

versus
51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EMI's no-frills Chopin anniversary box
Acquiring Chopin's complete works for just under two quid per disc is quite a bargain, if Garrick Ohlsson, Cecile Ousset, and Ronald Smith are the pianists you want to hear in this repertoire. I don't know what EMI's selection process might've been for the recordings in this box, but it's safe to say that none of these performances have really suffered from overexposure...
Published on 30 Jan 2010 by Roochak


Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Very Good, But hardly a Celebration, 8 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary (Audio CD)
This is a good budget price collection of the complete works of Chopin, but it falls short of its title `200th Anniversary Edition'. I am becoming depressed at major label attitudes to these sets, 'be grateful for the price and don't expect much in the way of packaging'. Today Budget labels do box sets better: with better information on the composer, the pieces and the artists. This matters for a `200th Anniversary Edition'. No matter what the price we should expect a reasonable short biography of the composer, some informative notes on the major works in the set, and some information on the artists. If Brilliant Records and Naxos can do that, why not EMI? If that meant the set costs - say - a few pounds more - it would increase the likely sales - not decrease them.

So, what do we get? A reasonable, box, some sturdy inner slieves with the CDs in, and a slim booklet with basic track listing information and a bare bones essay on Chopin and his music.

Ah - but the music? Yes, its all here. Can't fault EMI on that. They have a fine back catalogue of Chopin recordings. Everything here is well performed and recordings. But once again - if this is meant to be a celebration of Chopin, why do we not get EMI's best recording of well known works like the Piano Concertos? Pianist Garrick Ohlsson and the Polish Radio National Symphony Orchestra give a good, limpidly played account. But it can't hold a candle to EMI's vibrant, beautifully nuanced performance featuring Martha Argerich with the Symphony Orchestra of Montreal conducted by Charles Dutoit recording. That is available in the Gramophone Magazine & Penguin Guide Recommends series. For a `200th Anniversary Edition' I want to hear definitive recording where they are available.

Elsewhere we get the full range of Chopin's compositions. Yes, most of them are for solo piano, but there are a few more orchestra and piano works, a few pieces of chamber music, and 17 songs. If you have mainly heard the pretty side of Chopin on easy listening Classical radio, do dive in and discover his many moods, from calm to enraged, and his remarkably advanced music that didn't leave his fan Debussy far to go to create a fully fledged impressionist style.

Don't buy this set for a chance to hear large amounts of music by `The array of leading pianists' that EMI boasts of on the back of the box. They name check Daniel Barenboim, inside the box there is a full - 9 minutes of his playing.

So - this is a good box set as far as it goes - but it could have been a much more attractive proposition. For being a complete works, and for the quality of the performances here , a am giving it four stars. But EMI could have, and should have created a five star set with ease. I would have gladly paid 30 for it instead of 25. In today's market for classical music `Budget' should have nothing to do with cutting corners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chopin Complete Works EMI, 18 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary (Audio CD)
I agree with a lot of what's been said in the other reviews I've read in Gramophone, BBC Music Magazine & Amazon but some points should be emphasised.

1 I paid less than 1.50 per CD for the set - so why should I expect EMI to give me Rubinstein, Cortot, Pollini, Argerich etc, etc? We can all give our opinions about what EMI might have done to celebrate Chopin's 200th anniversary but they chose to do something cheap & cheerful.

2 I'm not competent to count the number of angels on the head of a pin but I can recognise rubbish in Chopin when I hear it - & there's no rubbish here.

3 If you're a completist, you'll find a lot of rare Chopin in this set which is otherwise only available in other complete sets or on single/double CDs, at a great deal more than 1.50 per CD; if you're not a completist & you simply want to hear the occasional jewel, you won't be disappointed.

4 The presentation is as poor as it is nowadays in most CDs, single or sets - but at 1.50 per CD? Anyone who's reading this is perfectly capable of finding out as much as or as little as he/she wants by trawling the internet.

To summarise, 5 stars overall - 7 stars for value - almost 4 stars for quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EMI's no-frills Chopin anniversary box, 30 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary (Audio CD)
Acquiring Chopin's complete works for just under two quid per disc is quite a bargain, if Garrick Ohlsson, Cecile Ousset, and Ronald Smith are the pianists you want to hear in this repertoire. I don't know what EMI's selection process might've been for the recordings in this box, but it's safe to say that none of these performances have really suffered from overexposure to the listening public. I certainly haven't heard any of them.

Here's a brief rundown of the contents: Garrick Ohlsson plays the complete preludes, nocturnes, and polonaises, as well as the two piano concertos (with Jerzy Maksymiuk and the Polish Radio National Symphony Orchestra); Augustin Anievas plays the waltzes and impromptus; Andrei Gavrilov gets the Etudes, opp.10 & 25; Cecile Ousset plays the second and third piano sonatas, the four scherzos, and the four ballades; and Ronald Smith handles the complete mazurkas.

Pianists chosen for Chopin's lesser-known music include Leif Ove Andsnes (Sonata no.1), Claudio Arrau (the Allegro de Concert, op.46), Daniel Barenboim, Tzimon Barto, Paolo Bordoni, Benjamin Grosvenor, Danielle Laval, Ronald Smith again, and Alexis Weissenberg. The cello sonata is played by Charles Owen (piano) and Natalie Clein; the piano trio by Marianna Shirinyan, Vilde Frang, and Andreas Brantelid; and the nineteen songs by mezzo-soprano Eugenia Zareska and pianist Giorgio Favaretto.

Interesting that EMI decided not to allow its Chopin recordings by Martha Argerich, Dinu Lipatti, and Maurizio Pollini anywhere near this budget-priced reissue box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chopin wrote music - not words!, 15 Mar 2013
By 
R. C. Ross (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary (Audio CD)
I find it laughable (as well as mildly annoying!) that at a time when we are able to purchase first class CDs at unbelievably low prices (thanks to Amazon and other suppliers, as well as the CD companies) there are those who complain that the producers don't also give us a book of words!

If you want a book - buy a book!
I buy CDs for music! - and I'm able to but them now at prices that have never been so favourable! Not least due to the efforts of EMI.

And, of all composers, who needs a book to enjoy the beauties of Chopin? He wrote music - not words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not the Rolling Stones, 30 April 2014
By 
Daniel Evans (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary (Audio CD)
The works of Chopin induce a transcendental state in which no stone can roll or wants to roll and no moss becomes of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 12 Dec 2013
By 
T. Donald "clearwood" (glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary (Audio CD)
This is a collection of wonderful recordings, a real pleasure to listen to. I strongly recommend this set to anyone with an interest in Chopin, for the price it is a great bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great budget set, 4 May 2010
This review is from: The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary (Audio CD)
16 CDs in card covers, in a thick card box, and a booklet... all for a budget price.

It is true that there maybe better recordings EMI could have used, however the recordings that are chosen a very good examples.

If you want a good set of Chopin's complete works, at a budget price, this is the set to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chopin - complete, 29 May 2011
This review is from: The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary (Audio CD)
I love Chopin and try to play some of his pieces on the piano so this is useful from that perspective but also a treat anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary
The Complete Chopin Edition - 200th anniversary by Various Artist (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews