Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fit for purpose, but beware estata option!
Delivery: Arrived within two days of order being placed, excellent service.

Build quality: It's on the low end, but at this price is well worth it I believe. You have to install plastic handles (included) onto your hard drives so that they are easy to extract from the enclosure. I'll admit I found this part a bit tricky because the manual isn't the best print...
Published on 22 Sept. 2010 by ynotlayerb

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very slow writes and poor power management.
I already own a Startech 2 bay eSATA enclosure and a Startech PCI-E eSATA card so I know a Startech product is likely to be of good quality but well below enterprise products in design, features and, thankfully, price.

I bought this to consolidate 4 disks from several other enclosures into one container. My PC already has two PCI-Express eSATA cards, one is...
Published 17 months ago by Julian Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works OK with ZFS, 23 Jan. 2014
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
Bought as JBOD replacement for magtape as offline backup. USB 2 is slow, eSata better with port multiplier eSata interface. 4x4TB drives work well and cooling is sufficient despite blurb recommending max 3TB drives. Variable fan and auto shutdown on disconnect is nice feature to allow shutdown automatically after backups are complete (using wakeon lan and shutdown on backup server). Only negative is the push to open/push to close front panel which tends to come open when handling the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to install and set up, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
I purchased this unit because other similar units do not have a USB interface which is what I wanted. I just fitted 4 X 1Tb hard drives (Don't forget to initialise and format them first), plugged into the USB network hub and off it went, works absolutely fine and has no issues transferring large files or packets. All bar one of our laptops will work with it (using Windows 7) but the Vista machine will not communicate as a Vista USB network driver is not available. Simple solution: upgraded Vista to Win 7. - Sorted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stand Corrected, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
Initially I thought that you could not run more than 1.5 TB because it's written on the last page of the manual. However I manage to make it work with a 2 TB drive, using EASEUS partition manager, which is a free program, donwload on Cnet.com.

So I am super happy with the product give it 5 stars and ignore the old text below, because you can work around it.

"Just received the product, inserted a new Western Digital 2TB and it wouldn't work. Switches off after 15 seconds.

After reading the manual and troubleshooting, it turns out that the case can take a maximum of 1.5TB.

I believe that this is the problem, so I am now ordering 1.5 TB drives.

However it was not that clear from the description of the product that it only fits 1.5TB or lower.

So just be careful before buying a 2 or 3 TB drive, because it will not work."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Tech Hard Drive Enclosure, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
Very easy to install, nice & compact & looks very well.
I had read in other reviews that the hard drives had to be formatted before installed in the Star Tech. I didn't have to do this,
two new 4tb drives popped in & formatted in the unit.
It has dropped connection a couple of times (connected through USB) when i plug in another USB drive, but other than that
no issues. Very quiet running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Startech 4 bay enclosure, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
I wanted a straightforward HDD enclosure. It was very easy to install drives and worked as soon as connected. Very pleased, only downside was the 5A power supply would sometimes cut out so up graded to 7A supply and all ok. Some HDD's very old and maybe more power hungry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Works briefly, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
S. Mawdsley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
Worked fine for a few months but now loses power after a couple minutes. I've read about potential problems with an under powered PSU, don't know whether this is what's affected it. Since it's advertised to support up to 4 4TB HDDs, I'm not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars solid external enclosure, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
G Thurtle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
nice little 4 bay enclosure.. perfect over eSata.. a little slower over usb2.. there is a usb3 version out now though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
easily the best bit of kit other then my computer that i ever purchased

very easy to set up and use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
Looks great and very easy to install.
Excellent delivery as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: StarTech 3.5 inch 4 Drive eSATA USB Multi Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure (Personal Computers)
arrived on time and in working order
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews