Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

196 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiritual Life Saver!, 7 May 2006
By 
Mr. Peter J. Regelous "peterkingsinger" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Roman Catholic who has often wandered far from his spiritual roots whilst searching for some meaning to life, I looked forward to receiving my copy of this book, having seen the Worth Abbey documentary - The Monastery. Invariably a slow reader, I nevertheless finished reading this fine work in two short afternoons. If ever there was a book to make us take a good look at ourselves, this is it! Although, there is so much positive religious spirituality bursting out of every page, it's still, on every level a very practical book and not at all dry or boring - which I confess I thought it might be. Christopher Jamison is to be highly commended for putting pen to paper and coming up with this work. For a monk, he certainly keeps in touch with the world in which we live today and if anyone buying this publication imagines the author to be stereotypically religious, be prepared to have your ideas changed! I commend this book to anyone of any faith who seeks to get nearer to the Creator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 114 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and helpful, 2 May 2006
Christopher Jamison has achieved his aim of writing an accessible and extremely useful book for those who want to develop spiritually. This is a relatively easy read and, at 180 pages, can be finished in quite a short space of time.

Drawing extensively upon the Rule of St Benedict, Mr Jamison promotes spiritual disciplines which offer an attractive and practical antidote to the unrelenting busy-ness of everyday life in the western world. Chapter by chapter, he extols the benefits of silence, contemplation, obedience, humility, community, spirituality and hope and does so in ways which are informative, stimulating and helpful to those of us who want to grow continually closer to God. Christopher occasionally refers back to 'The Monastery' TV series for illustrative purposes, but such references are relatively few and anyone who missed the programmes will not be at any great disadvantage.

The one reservation I had when reading this book was the apparent, underlying notion of 'many different paths lead to the same God' - something to which I personally don't subscribe. Having said that, I would heartily recommend 'Finding Sanctuary' to Christians and non-Christians alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sacred spaces, 26 April 2006
By 
Having heard Abbot Jamison read the chapter on obiedience to a group of young people on retreat at Worth abbey in march 2006 I was looking forward to reading the whole of the book and the chapter on obiedience in context.
I was not dissapointed, being quite interested in Benedictine spirituality already i found this book to be a very good practical guide to creating sanctuary in your life. I am also very impressed with the way in which Abbot Jamison takes into account people of differing faith traditions and those with no faith tradition at all. I found that the caring, understanding, and intelligent person of the abbot transfers into his writings, creating an informative and pleasant read.
The only criticism I have is that if you haven't seen the monastry TV series then references to some of the participants may be a little out of joint with the rest of the book.
At any rate this is well worth buying......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Santuary, 13 July 2007
One of the best self help books out there. Finding Sanctuary is about finding peace. Written by those who know, monks who are practiced in separating themselves from the world of worry and stress, with a few hundred years of tradition to back them.
Not really a religious book, I believe only one of its chapters concentrates on belief, it covers all areas and also questions how the reader can find happiness in the modern materialistic world.
Finding Sanctuary is very simple, very accessible and very effective. And you don't need the building to make it work for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent work, 7 Jun 2007
By 
L. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many thanks to Abbot Jamison for this wonderful and practical book. Highly recommended reading for anyone wishing to explore prayer in a busy world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Solution to most issues in Life, 13 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. Christopher J. Mccoy "Chris. McCOY" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Abbott Christopher has written a beautiful book, and read beautifully and calmly for its audio book equivalent! This book inherently addresses the root cause aspects of most issues that interest individuals and society at this time, with only a little direct mention of such usefulness. It is a calming, easy, and pleasant read. It ought to be a stable text for everyone, and available in schools, hospitals, healing areas, many related such places, and generally everywhere, for easy access. I does not require a particular religious belief or other background from the reader, though undoubtedly is written employing Christian undertsandings and The Guidelines of St. Benedict. This text cannot be recommended more highly for everyone, within the remit of its content! The information contained therein is, however, to be acted upon in one's life, else it would become just another book one reads and forgets. The insights and helpful content are far more important than that, on all scales in our lives. Happy and inherently restful/pleasant/calming reading. Enjoy, and integrate at your leisure into your life (for the benefit of many, yourself and well beyond...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Sactuary, 8 Oct 2007
By 
F. Graham (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book to be very insightful, practical and very 'does what it says on the tin'. An excellent guide in making space for God in your life.

Each chapter includes a list of suggested websites and books that are relevant to the subject of each section. I for one will be doing lots of book shopping with these suggestions in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet Superb, 27 Sep 2011
By 
Glasgow Reader (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent introduction to Benedictine monasticism, and how those of us who are not, and can't be, monastics can benefit from the Rule of St Benedict in our lives. In contains wonderful insights and also down-to-earth practical advice. After a short section of how "busyness" damages our lives, Abbot Jamison discusses, in seperate chapters, the key monastics steps which can help us - Silence, Contemplation, Obedience, Humility, Community, Spirituality, and Hope. There is also a short example of Lectio Divina, and a helpful bibliography. At the end of each chapter are suggestions for further investigation - both on-line and in book form. I read it through in one sitting, and have since gone back and read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars readslowly, 28 April 2008
By 
W. Bretherton (bolton.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i think it,s one of the best books on spirituality i have read for some time.it needs to be read slowly and more than once to get the benefit from it.highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religious, taking time to reflect on meaning of life,, 16 Jun 2011
This book is written for all readers whether religious or not. It is easy to read and well written. Very thought proving and anyone who reads it will find it challenging in a very gentle way. Life changing, escape from the busyiness & mayhem of life. Rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Sanctuary: Monastic Steps For Everyday Life
5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews