Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claptons best lineup yet!!
I could,nt believe my luck when I came across this DVD in the listings.I read reviews of this tour of Japan on the Wheres Eric? website and knew this show was filmed by a Japanese company but didnt realise it was released.
I love this band lineup,Paul McCartney drummer Abe Laboriel Jr adds a huge backbone to this band,Steve Gadd is great but Abe plays faithful to the...
Published on 3 Nov. 2009 by Heather Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been a bit more "wonderful"
Good DVD. Clapton never comes across personality-wise. He can get a bit boring with his repetitive riffs. Often can tell what is coming. Great guitar player, great back up band. Could do with refreshing his playlist to produce some different music. All the blues songs sound pretty much the same.
Published 7 months ago by Webby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claptons best lineup yet!!, 3 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
I could,nt believe my luck when I came across this DVD in the listings.I read reviews of this tour of Japan on the Wheres Eric? website and knew this show was filmed by a Japanese company but didnt realise it was released.
I love this band lineup,Paul McCartney drummer Abe Laboriel Jr adds a huge backbone to this band,Steve Gadd is great but Abe plays faithful to the original recordings with added power.Doyle Bramhall II is a great guitarist and plays some super slide.Chris Stainton(keys) and Willie Weeks(bass) are solid and the backing singers are strong.
When Eric came to Dublin in May I hoped this band would be there but Steve Gadd and Andy Fairweather Low were drafted in,but were great as well.
If you are a Clapton fan or a guitarist(the tone of his Stratocaster is sooo good!)get this DVD you wont be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band...Great Music...Eric at His best !!!, 10 May 2010
By 
David Robinson (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
Wow...seen ALL Eric's DVDs - and VHS tapes - and this has to be one of the best. What a superb band...the mercurial Doyle Bramhall II accompanying the great man on guitar, and providing some mesmeric slide guitar....the irreplaceable Chris Stainton on keyboards, the wonderful Willie Weeks on bass.....and the unassailable Abe Laboriel Jnr on drums. What else could you ask? Oh...yes, great backing vocals from Sharon White and Michelle John. Great songs all down the line from the opening 'Tell the Truth' to the inevitable - but none the worse for that 'I Shot the Sheriff' .... and some terrific blues solos and vocals on 'Little Queen of Spades' and 'Why Does Love Have To Be So Sad'.....to the quintessential closers, 'Wonderful Tonight' ... 'Layla' - always sounding at its best when played as it was meant to be played - LOUD and electric - and the 'killer' closers, 'Cocaine' - magnificent - and 'Crossroads'. A MUST for every Clapton fan...and even those who just like their music to be the best of the best. I played this twice in succession....and it sounds better every time. Only one TINY complaint.....very weak title. But given the content....who cares??? Five stars ALL the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2009 AND ERIC IS STILL THE LIVE GUITAR MASTER !, 13 July 2010
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
I concur with the other reviews this is the best Clapton live DVD I've ever seen.The sound and vision is quite superb, but it's the quality of the music content that stands out throughout this two hour set in Japan.Joined on guitar throughout by Doyle Bramhall II,playing a fair part of the lead stuff as well as some seriously hot slide,in fact on 'Motherless Children' he and Eric are both playing slide and by far is the best version of this song I've ever heard Eric do live. The sit down acoustic blues set alone , including a performance to savor as he and Doyle play 'Travellin' Alone' makes this disc worth getting , the playing is quite amazing between Eric and Doyle joined by Willie Weeks,surely one of the very best bassmen around.
Then in the full band Chris Stainton again and again proves his amazing feel for the music and his playing is really at the very top.On drums and I think one of the fullest and best drummers Eric's ever had in his solo years bands Abe Laboriel Jr. (just listen to his powerful intro to Motherless Children), he adds such power and depth to the whole band sound (although Ian Thomas is pretty hot on the Clapton/Winwood set at MSG). Then we have two excellent backing singers in Sharon White and Michelle Johns.I'd already obtained an excellent DVD of this gig from the USA but all round this one is as they say the absolute bees knees.Eric passed it,not a chance I think he's playing right at the top of his form right now and this set proves it.Songs like 'Tell The Truth','Crossroads','Cocaine', plus blues classics from the likes of Robert Johnson are included plus of course things like 'Wonderful Tonight'.Eric's many fans must surely want a copy of this one, but if you've never seen playing a full concert live then see this because time and time again you know why he has remained at the very top for so many years.Eric must be surely now the very best of them all a guitarist os amazing range,ability and skill. A master putting on a masterclass, this release is a joy to watch and listen to many times over,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is there a word to describe this?, 24 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
Well I've seen Eric twice, once which actually included the tour in which this was filmed but I saw him at the albert hall shortly after this was filmed and i was nothing but impressed.

Well how can you decribe any eric clapton gig with out using the words amazing or awesome, well i wont say alot but I will say that this is definately a gem, I never knew this was out there and I have seen 99% of his live dvd's, The quality is exceptional and the sound quality is breathtaking!, all the old favourites are there such as I Shot the Sherrif and Layla and a beautiful rendition of Isn't it a Pity. This is a definate buy for any Clapton fan!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfull surprise, 21 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
i was ecstatic to discover this dvd was on sale,i had seen eric at the albert hall as usual when he tours,so i couldnt wait to purchase a momento of the 2009 tour.the quality is first class and i would urge any slowhands devotee to buy a copy.amazon must be congratulated for stocking the item.i think the great man improves with age and shows no sign of treading water.no one could possibly be disappointed with this performance,he has stand out tracks from various parts of his career,for me the highlights are key to the highway, hoochie coochie man,little queen of spades ( a magnificent thirteen minutes) all in all a very enjoyable two hours of slowhands at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! WHAT A FANTASTIC CLAPTON DVD!!, 3 Dec. 2009
By 
Scott Winch (Margate, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
VERY HAPPY WITH THIS DVD. ONE OF THE BEST CLAPTON DVDS IN MY LARGE COLLECTION. IF YOUR IN TO EC BUY THIS TODAY, IT WILL BLOW YOU AWAY. I MAY EVEN BUY ANOTHER COPY FOR MY DAD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance frfom the master, 6 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
Mentally good DVD with fantastic performances from the man himself. The vocals and guitar work along with the rest of the band is spot on! Probably the best version of 'I shot the sheriff' I have ever heard. Wonderful version of George Harrisons 'Isn't it a pity'. If you like Clapton, this is a must, well worth over double what it is being sold for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show another time., 4 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
Hello from France, Clapton is not coming in France for this tour and it's a great pleasure to see this show because this performance was amazing.
Thanks a lot Mister Clapton and all of the musicians who playing with you.
God blessed you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Every Night, 2 July 2011
By 
DoubleEm (South Wales,UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
This is a superb dvd and the sound quality is excellent. What a tremendous guitarist he really is. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 10 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eric Clapton - Wonderful Tonight (2009) (DVD)
Clapton really shines as he ages with his playing. This is a great DVD and I recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews