Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fantasy film. Really brings back the memories of child-hood.
The Neverending Story is based upon a German novel by Michael Ende, and the film (released in 1984), is directed by Wolfgang Peterson who later went on to direct such films as 'Air Force One' and 'Troy'.

The Neverending Story is a film which surrounds the life of a young boy named Bastian Bux (Barret Oliver), who, one day after being yet again tormented by...
Published on 13 May 2009 by a1ex8

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Time can be cruel..
I first watched this with my eight year old. She loved it and ten years later wanted a revisit this memory. She was so bored and 30 minutes later it was switched off. So clearly a children's film that should stay with children and clearly first time around she loved it. Don't go back.
Published 17 months ago by A. radford


‹ Previous | 111 12 1319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good family fun for both children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When we saw Lamal in the jungle just had to get the DVD as my son of 24 remembered it and his sister wanted to know what all the fuss was about loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, imaginative, a fable for our time, 3 Dec 2012
By 
S. Ahmad (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, this was made before we were all spoilt by CGI - and it shows in some of the simple landscapes and 'cloud'scapes, many looking very similar - but it's nonetheless effective and holds your attention. As well as a gripping fairytale in its' own right, it can also be seen as a prophetic warning of what can happen when people don't believe in anything (the nothing) - they can be more easily controlled / brainwashed. So the little boy is on a quest for the potion to save the dyeing princess. The potion is love / imagination / compassion, call it what you will. It's exactly the same as 'The Sleeping Beauty' where the spell is only broken when the Prince kisses her. And our 'nothing' is the materialistic, consumer world which we inhabit today - where moral and spiritual values have all but disappeared - and where we are literally destroying the planet, just like in the film, through greed, climate change, desertification, etc. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still going, 12 Jun 2012
Still a wonderful film, my kids enjoyed it so much they watched it 5 times within the first two days. Inge quality was better than I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent purchase, 1 Nov 2010
Recieved in exellent time and in brand new, perfect condition. Really pleased with the purchase.Ten Star if I could :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Neverending Story, 20 Oct 2010
By 
T. O. Appolos - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD was a very nice film for family to watch, even the kids loved it and had to watch it over and over again. http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0017U09JE/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fine, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived quick, no problems, item was as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent - received as promised in good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I still enjoy it just as much, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fav film as a kid. I still enjoy it just as much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As Box of Delights, lovely on a winters night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Neverending Story [Blu-ray] [1984] [Region Free]
The Neverending Story [Blu-ray] [1984] [Region Free] by Wolfgang Petersen (Blu-ray - 2010)
Used & New from: £5.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews