Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Midnight
Two young men, cloaked in balaclavas burst into a non-descript residence in suburban Glasgow in a home invasion. When the attack is over, they have kidnapped the elderly grandfather, terrorizing the family and demanding a huge ransom. The police who investigate the crime are baffled - did they have the wrong house? It would appear that the family is of modest means and...
Published on 3 Aug 2009 by Ted Feit

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves...
Having previously enjoyed Mina's Sanctum, I looked forward to this book. For about half the novel, I enjoyed it. The plot was interesting and had some substance in it; the key detective was shaping up nicely.

But then? Well, what went wrong? Did Mina run out of energy or time? Something happened. The plot itself petered out quite miserably; I can't imagine any...
Published on 24 May 2010 by bloodsimple


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars she's still got it, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this book, some decent twists, but some events which jarred a bit, loose ends tied up very quickly, but some good touches...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gritty, intense and keeps you in suspence, 12 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Still Midnight (Paperback)
I picked this up in a rumble sale and loved it. I'm on amazon looking for other things Mina has written - complex plot but believable, funny but sad too. Couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top notch, 30 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Sarah J. Anderson (perthshire, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Kindle Edition)
As a big Val McDiarmid fan, I love Denise Mina, and am delighted to have read this, my second book of hers. As with all really good crime fiction books you've got a main character who is flawed and out of kilter with everyone else, which makes for a terrific read. I went to Bloody Scotland crime writing festival last year and both Val McD and Lee Child said their favourite authors include Denise Mina. Recommendations don't come much higher than that, in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting start to a well-received series, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Kindle Edition)
The south side of Glasgow, home to an underclass of criminals and immigrants, is the setting for this novel. Beginning with a shocking raid on a family house, a young girl shot and her elderly father kidnapped, DS Morrow is drawn into a case that causes her to confront some of her demons.

This is a police procedural novel, nothing more than that, but it is a well-written one. It took me a while to get into it but as the strands of the plot came together it became gripping. My only complaint was the ending regarding Aleesha, it didn't seem to fit in with the rest of the story as it appeared forced and unreal. Other than that an enjoyable read for fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Kindle Edition)
I love everything denise Mina writes and she does not disappoint here. Couldn't wait to pick this novel up again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Kindle Edition)
The story was ok not brilliant but had to read till the end as I wanted to find out what happened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Paperback)
Also bought for my wife and she liked it. I don't read much at all
so can't ad any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read!, 2 Sep 2013
By 
A. M. Murray (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Kindle Edition)
Daughters a cop and I'm from Glasgow's south side, so I found it very evocative, accurate and well written! A cracking read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glasgow's kiss, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Paperback)
I decided to order the first book in various new detective series to test them out and got this first of the Alex Morrow novels because I remembered Mina's Garnet Hill trilogy as being pretty good. This is better again, mature and with a very assured use of narrative and character.

The Glasgow Mina knows well is written about with affection and (Alexandra) Morrow is an excellent, stroppy, detective creation. I laughed out loud at some of the excellent dialogue - Definitely going to buy the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Denise Mina at her best, 7 Aug 2013
By 
J.P. Fishwick (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Still Midnight (Paperback)
To be fair, whether it is the Garnethill trilogy, or the Paddy Meehan trilogy, the first novel of the three seems to be the weakest, and then Denise Mina really hits her stride in the second novel of the three. I haven't read the other two Alex Morrow novels yet, but certainly the first one didn't grip me as much as some of her earlier writing. (And if you read these reviews, Denise, your editor on Still Midnight should be sacked. I spotted at least three spelling mistakes.)
This novel isn't as weak as some reviewers would have you believe. The descriptions of squalour, at which she has few equals, are as good, and stomach churning, as any of the other Denise Mina canon. It's just that the novel doesn't stand up to the qualities of plotting and character of the Garnethill books. (Who will ever forget Winnie?) Even the professional enmity between Morrow and Bannerman doesn't quite come off.
But please don't abandon Denise Mina on the basis of this novel. Even on an "off day", she is still streets ahead of many other current "crime writers". Read her at her best in her earlier work, and let's hope it inspires what is yet to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Still Midnight
Still Midnight by Denise Mina
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews