Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light romp - like the Hardy Boys for grown-ups
Myron Bolitar is a sports agent, attorney, former FBI agent, basketball player and super sleuth, and this is his second adventure alongside a similarly larger-than-life supporting cast. Myron is at the finals of the US tennis open when a young player is murdered, and decides to investigate.

This is a romp - anyone looking for serious crime writing should go...
Published on 26 April 2012 by Jim J-R

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Game Set Almost Match
I enjoyed this book. Please don't think that it would be a waste of time to read it, for it definitely wouldn't. I lost half a day gently flicking through its pages, but then I wasn't in search of the next great 20th Century novel; I just wanted something to read on the tube.
So why only the three stars then? Well, that is purely down to personal taste, in that I...
Published on 20 Feb 2003 by T Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A light romp - like the Hardy Boys for grown-ups, 26 April 2012
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drop Shot (Paperback)
Myron Bolitar is a sports agent, attorney, former FBI agent, basketball player and super sleuth, and this is his second adventure alongside a similarly larger-than-life supporting cast. Myron is at the finals of the US tennis open when a young player is murdered, and decides to investigate.

This is a romp - anyone looking for serious crime writing should go elsewhere. Bolitar and his sidekick Win are like grown up versions of the Hardy Boys - almost super human and with fingers in more pies than believable. As a romp though it does entertain. The writing is funny in a cheesy way and the mystery works despite the implausibility.

My only criticism of the story is that it was too easy. I had enough evidence a third of the way through to know who committed the crime, and the rest of the book was a tiny bit tedious as the characters tried to catch up.

As I say, a light read, perfectly suitable for a flight or other tedious wait, but nothing deeper than a bit of fun. I'll definitely be returning to Coben's works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Game Set Almost Match, 20 Feb 2003
By 
T Marshall (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this book. Please don't think that it would be a waste of time to read it, for it definitely wouldn't. I lost half a day gently flicking through its pages, but then I wasn't in search of the next great 20th Century novel; I just wanted something to read on the tube.
So why only the three stars then? Well, that is purely down to personal taste, in that I prefer a Detective Inspector over a Private Eye. Having said that though I far prefer Easy Rawlins from Walter Moseley than I do Inspector Morse. I think the bottom line has to be; "Would I re-read this book?" the answer is no. Again, don't get me wrong, it is a very readable book, with an intriguing link to the tennis world through the eyes of a PI investigating a murder. I can only reiterate though that I will not be reading it again, and I believe that this is again purely a matter of my personal taste.
I recommend this book to all who enjoy good pulpy american fiction with a light touch where it is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Making a name in sports management, 12 Oct 2014
This review is from: Drop Shot (Myron Bolitar Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Early 1986 bestseller and book 2 in a series of seven (7) about Myron Bolitar (MB; 32), ex-basketball star for Duke University and the Boston Celtics, ex-FBI agent, also a Harvard graduate and lawyer, now active as marketing manager for sportsmen and -women. Who become rich not really from salaries or prizes they win, but from endorsing brands of goods or services. This is where Myron, who still occasionally lives with his parents, comes in. Sports management is a highly competitive business and mafia involvement is not unheard of. So Myron, as a late starter faces tough competition.
What makes this book attractive? MB’s airy, ironic, sometimes sarcastic approach to anybody close, or less close, even under duress. Plus his serious sense of duty towards his sporting clients, and his inquisitive mind. Finally, there is his friendship and operational partnership with multi-talented investment tycoon Win, scion of an old moneyed dynasty, who runs a financial empire two floors above MB’s office, but who always has time for Myron. Apart from asset management, Win reads Korean, is highly skilled in B&E, martial arts and elimination. Working as a loose duo with their different backgrounds gives them access to different social classes and circles.
Valerie, a former female tennis prodigy still aged only 24, is shot dead during the US Open on its grounds while MB’s new tennis protégé Duane serves out a winning match. The NYPD oddly suspects Duane of killing her. But not for long. Still, there is some connection between the two, which MB will pursue relentlessly. Because Valerie asked him days before to manage her comeback… When the plot thickens and more people and parties become involved, this thriller really revs up, producing plenty of deaths and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Thriller from Start to Finish, 20 Jun 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Harlan Coben continues to prove that he is one of the best thriller writers around at the moment. A page turner is a much used phrase but in this case it is really appropriate. The author's books are always so well structured and his character's well rounded. He is obviously comfortable with his style and ability and this transmits itself to the reader making the reading of his books sheer pleasure from start to finish. Coben has now got a string of best selling crime novels behind him and all I can say is that I hope he continues to write for many years to come. The author lives in New Jersey with his wife and four children.

When Myron Bolitar begins to investigate the killing of young woman outside a sports stadium, a woman who was once at the forefront of her profession as a tennis professional he uncovers a connection between the dead woman and another young female player from the wrong side of the tracks who is now hitting the headlines in the middle of the US Open Championships.

There is a connection between the two players and a six year old murder at an exclusive club. Suddenly Bolitar find himself in way over his head. Among the players in this particular game are a US senator, a jealous mother and the mob. Bolitar find himself playing the most dangerous game of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and Enjoyable, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Drop Shot (Myron Bolitar Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
My First Harlan Coben book and I really enjoyed it. Coben writes with a really breezy style that constantly keeps the story flowing, always engaging the reader. In Drop Shot a young female tennis player is murdered in broad daylight, at Flushing Meadows in the middle of the US open. Ex Basketball player and now Sport Agent, Myron Bolitar, dons his sleuthing cap to investigate. Bolitar knew the girl and feels a duty to unmask her killer. The investigation takes him into a web of intrigue and danger as Bolitar quickly connects the girl's murder with another murder 6 years earlier - the son of a `connected' senator, who was the boyfriend of the murdered girl. Bolitar finds himself treading on the toes of the mob but at least has sidekick Win to protect his back. The central clue to the girl's murder is easy to spot, if not the murderer (my only gripe is I think Bolitar would have spotted the clue immediately rather than several chapters later). Now the good news for me is that there are many more Bolitar & Win books to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 Feb 2009
By 
A. R. Foster "goodbuyer" (Sandhurst, Berks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drop Shot (Paperback)
Harlan Coben is an excellent author. The twists and turns he feeds into each of his novels are both unique and unpredictable.

His characters are believable even though bordering on superhuman. The wit and sarcasm are well placed and worthy of the reader's sniggers and public laughter.

The plots in the Myron Bolitar stories are sometimes a little tame compared with those in his other books, but the mandatory guesswork keeps you reading chapter after chapter to see if you're correct in your assumptions. Invariably not!!!

This is not the best in the Bolitar series. That is reserved for Darkest Fear.

This man is a fine author. I have read all of his books and can't wait for the next one.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A page turner - but not one of his best, 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: Drop Shot (Paperback)
I am a fan of Harlen Coben as he generally tells an interesting suspense-filled story with the right amount of tongue-in-cheek humour. However this book was relatively weak and not at the author’s usual high standard. It was let down by a storyline that was too weak and unlikely with the ridiculous twist obvious from very early on. Were we really supposed to believe that the twist could have happened? – no spoilers – but someone with that profile would have had the media trawling for background, old friends, acquaintances etc.

A good page turner but he has written much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Myron Bolitar returns, 3 Nov 2002
By 
M. Rebelo "Boostie" (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drop Shot (Paperback)
Myron Bolitar is an injured basketball player who tries his hand a being a sports agent.He also manages to combine this witha part time caeer as a PI! Drop Shot begins with a young tennis player who has desperately been trying to contact Myron, being shot dead at a tennis tournament. Myron feels guilty that she had been trying to ask or tell him something so begins to investigate and discovers a link to the murder of a senators son 6 years before. His friend Win (financial adviser and part time heavy)warns him that he may well be getting into more than he can handle but is there to help when needed. Keeps you guessing right to the shocking end. If you enjoy characters like Kinsey Millhone or Stephanie Plum this has a similar humour, with the rattling good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Bolitar please, 5 Jun 2009
By 
Tried and Tested (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drop Shot (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, the main character of Myron Bolitar is fantastic, I thought the fact that he would take the mickey out of himself throughout the novel added a touch of humour. The plot line was good, the book was well written and the characters were likeable. The only down side was that the twist is easily identifiable and I'd figured it out long before it was revealed in the book which spoiled my enjoyment somewhat. A more original twist would have meant that this book got 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 3 Sep 2003
This review is from: Drop Shot (Paperback)
Harlan Coben is an excellent crime writer. Drop Shot is a good read and follows the events of one of his favorite characters, Myron Bolitar, through twists and turns in the wild and dangerous world of the sports agent. Some good humour is also offered. If you like this, definately read his latest three books and you are in for a treat!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drop Shot (Myron Bolitar Book 2)
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews