Customer Reviews


843 Reviews
5 star:
 (417)
4 star:
 (228)
3 star:
 (124)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and riveting
I devoured Sharp Objects in less than a day, but it would be incorrect to say I enjoyed it. The story is so dark, so twisted, that is makes for incredibly uncomfortable reading. Camille is sent home for the first time in eight years to report on the murders of two young girls- but this is markedly less disturbing than the mother she left behind. From the start, I had an...
Published on 23 April 2013 by Nichola Thorpe

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but not Flynn's best work
I was first introduced to Flynn's work through the Gone Girl movie, which I really enjoyed. Based on that, I read Dark Places, which was one of my favourite books of 2014, so I was eager to read Sharp Objects. Since reading Sharp Objects, I have now also read Gone Girl.

In short, this is a good novel and worth reading, but that's not to say there are no...
Published 4 months ago by PeeBee


‹ Previous | 148 49 5085 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
brilliant book, had you hooked from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 100 pages too long, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
This story is slow to develop and engage. The characters are simplistic, and is impossible to empathize with them. The topics are worn out, scenes are unnecessarily sexualized. I am disappointed with the book. The worst is the deeply damaged and disturbed female characters: not convincing and not engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good rea, 5 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
Easy read that keeps you hooked until the very end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressed, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
My first purchase for my Kindle, I'm a huge Stephen King fan so the recommendation did sway me. I have to say I was very impressed with the book and will defiantly purchase another title. I found it very hard to put down and really liked Gillian's way of writing. Fabulous twist at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story!, 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
Original, fascinating and memorable. Great story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent fast delivery and good product thankyou, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Paperback)
Excellent fast delivery and good product thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
Slow start however very gripping and surprising!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and well written, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
I got hooked on Gillian Flynn after reading Gone. I thought Sharp Objects was even better, though much darker and touches on several controversial topics. It's not a light-hearted read but I couldn't put it down. It's a great thriller and I now can't wait to read Dark Places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SHARP OBJECTS, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read. I found the relationship with John Keene slightly unbelievable but then there are elements of Grand Guignol here that push the boundaries of reality in the whole set up. On balance it works though and it is a triumph of "unreliable witness" narration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
I'm just half way through but I can't make out if this book is about finding the murderer or resolving the main character's myriad psychological problems. I'm also uncomfortable with the 'laissez faire' attitude to alcohol and drugs. I'll finish it - reluctantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 148 49 5085 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sharp Objects
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews