Customer Reviews


555 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (153)
3 star:
 (89)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely recommended
Thoroughly enjoyable read. The cover of the book definitely doesn't do this justice. If it wasn't for a friend's recommendation, I would never have picked this up as it looks like a typical crime novel. But please let me assure you - it is so much more than that! This definitely comes under the psychological thriller/literary fiction umbrella.

This is a book...
Published on 7 Feb 2007 by A Reader

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
After reading "Gone Girl" I had high expectations of "Sharp Objects". Sadly I was very disappointed. The plot is quite thin and predictable and there is no building of tension. I could not engage with the characters - just too two dimensional.
Published 5 months ago by Wokingham Di


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely recommended, 7 Feb 2007
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Hardcover)
Thoroughly enjoyable read. The cover of the book definitely doesn't do this justice. If it wasn't for a friend's recommendation, I would never have picked this up as it looks like a typical crime novel. But please let me assure you - it is so much more than that! This definitely comes under the psychological thriller/literary fiction umbrella.

This is a book that has stayed with me long after reading it. Flynn wonderfully captures the suffocating atmosphere of small town Missouri so intensely you can feel the claustrophobia bearing down on you. Whilst Camille is not a wholly likeable person, her character binds the whole story. The book is very chilling and disturbing and not for the faint-hearted but is brilliant and definitely worth a read. Whenever you think you know where the story is taking you, it turns a sharp corner and leaves you completely breathless.

I cannot capture the essence of this book keenly enough so I can strenuously recommend that you give this book a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claustrophobic and Edgy...An accomplished debut novel., 12 Nov 2011
By 
Paul Hansper-Cowgill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Paperback)
From a rich, sterile and emotionless upbringing, it's no wonder Camille is damaged. As she strives to normalise her life away from her family, she learns she has to go back to the town, and the overbearing lifestyle she thought she had left behind: Wind Gap, Missouri,is the kind of place you only visit in nightmares.
As an investigative reporter, Camille is drawn back to the family hometown to shed some light on the gruesome murder of a local girl. In an apparently ritualistic killing, Camille believes she is on the trail of a serial killer and even though she doesn't want the job, she feels morally obliged by the respect and love she has for her Editor - a father figure in her life more than her robot-like, bland step-father - and the opportunity of a 'scoop' over a rival newspaper. As she re-aquaints herself with her over-bearing mother and her manipulative, cold step-sister, Camille opens old wounds. As a physcological thriller and as a portrait of 'old money' people trying to cope with the modern world, Gillian Flynn has excelled herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
A real page-turner! Once I started this book I could not put it down, and I did not guess the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and riveting, 23 April 2013
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Paperback)
I devoured Sharp Objects in less than a day, but it would be incorrect to say I enjoyed it. The story is so dark, so twisted, that is makes for incredibly uncomfortable reading. Camille is sent home for the first time in eight years to report on the murders of two young girls- but this is markedly less disturbing than the mother she left behind. From the start, I had an uneasy feeling about her mother Adora. Enter Camille's precocious half-sister, who makes Camille uneasy from the outset with her changeable nature and expertise at deception. I don't want to spoil the story, so I will suffice it to say that the final twist was one I didn't quite see coming. Flynn artfully twists your suspicions this way and that so that you're never quite sure where you are. What was interesting was that every character had dark depths to them, and her heroine is not spared scrutiny of this as many often are.

I will definitely read more of Flynn's work. It's for you if you enjoy tight plots, psychological intrigue and in-depth portraits of deeply flawed, scarred human beings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
After reading "Gone Girl" I had high expectations of "Sharp Objects". Sadly I was very disappointed. The plot is quite thin and predictable and there is no building of tension. I could not engage with the characters - just too two dimensional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strangely intriguing and yet repulsive, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
This book really drew me in to the strangely intriguing yet disturbingly repulsive psyche of the main character Camille. I look forward to reading more Gillian Flynn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sharp Objects, 20 July 2014
By 
Kat (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Paperback)
I went into Sharp Objects not having read the synopsis, which is actually quite rare for me. All I knew was the tag-line on the cover – This family isn’t nuclear. It’s toxic. And it’s actually the perfect tag-line, because although the base of the plot line is a mystery, the overwhelming theme is how self-destructive Camille’s family really is.

Camille is a journalist, living in Chicago, far from the town in which she grew up when she is sent to investigate a murder and a missing child case. Camille’s unwillingess to go is obvious from the beginning, and it’s definitely not a warm homecoming. Her mother is abrupt, snobbish and treats Camille as an inconvenience, her stepfather is so pallid and downtrodden he exists like a shadow, and her half-sister, Amma is a nasty little piece of work.

The characters in Sharp Objects are so familiarly Gillian Flynn, mostly unlikable, with a heroine who is so damaged by her childhood shes alternately sad and scary, and the relationships are like train wrecks – all of which make Sharp Objects rather addictive in a dark, gritty way. At times it’s almost TOO much, and the ending is a real doozy, but although there were times I wanted to walk away, I could never quite bring myself to do it.

The plot itself isn’t exactly predictable, but it doesn’t set the world on fire in terms of action – there’s a lot of character interaction, Camille getting caught up in increasingly bizarre conversations and situations, and the unraveling of Amma’s completely screwed up personality – it’s far more a study of characters and how their pasts have and are shaping them rather than a full-on murder mystery.

Although I didn’t enjoy Sharp Objects as much as I liked Gone Girl, I’m still a huge fan of Flynn’s style – it’s so dark, the characters are so flawed and the plots are so twisty it’s almost impossible to predict the ending. Addictive, twisted and gritty, if you can stomach some truly screwed up characters, I recommend Sharp Objects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Murder and Mayhem Bookclub review, 29 Dec 2006
By 
A. J Thompson "voyagersaus" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Hardcover)
Wind Gap, Missouri; not a town to draw the attention of a big city newspaper. The story of the abduction and murder of two young girls from Camille Preaker's home town isn't enough to wish her back there in her wildest dreams but unfortunately, her boss thinks otherwise. The Chicago Daily Post needs a headline piece, badly, that is going to come out of the corner and kill the masses. Editor Frank Curry has always had a strange kind of faith in his favourite reporter. Camille is sure it's entirely misplaced but as she wants to please the man who was there for her in a dark time, she heads back to where her screwed up little life all began.

The abattoir and processing factory that still largely supports Wind Gap unfairly hasn't left a porcine stink on it's owner, Camille's genteel mother Adora, a whimsical and earnest person who was only ever happy when her children desperately needed her. Camille feels it should have, as should have the circumstances of her birth with there still being a big fat question mark as to the identity of her father. Adora still reigns, over her house, her family, and her town. Camille's half sister is disturbingly like her mother in some ways, and reminds her of her own self in others. The thirteen year old Amma dominates her fearsome little group of four like little blondes and is doing a damn fine job of doing the same to the residents of Wind Gap. Finding it hard not to get sucked back into old, dark habits, Camille cozies up a little too much to the Kansas hot shot cop sent in to help out the police in the little backwater. It seems her new partner has already made up his mind on this one, along with most of the town, that only a newcomer to Wind Gap could be evil enough to inflict so much on innocents who little deserved it.

SHARP OBJECTS: a nasty little piece in the most delightful way. Where would the creepiest thrillers go without turning to dysfunctional families that make our own look pretty good? Okay, so writer Gillian Flynn all but bludgeons us about the head in pointing out the villain of the hour, very EARLY in the hour. This seems to be the main complaint with this read; otherwise, it is very difficult to find anything to criticize in this polished debut novel.

How refreshing to have the investigating protagonist not always operating from the moral high ground. We mystery readers like our heroes somewhat brooding and damaged and the package here is the modern woman's version of just that. With so much to hide of her own self and with not wanting to confront what's left behind, Camille Preaker's viewpoint of the proceedings is completely immersed in the swamp that is her own family. The incestuous small town of Camille's childhood and its people are all in the murk with her. The heavy, oppressive air that permeates this read is almost a tangible thing and if you're looking for hope and redemption with your mystery, you'd best look elsewhere than at this disturbing thriller. SHARP OBJECTS pleases in an almost visceral way and revolts as it reveals; strange to think that one novel can do both. Gillian Flynn has achieved much with SHARP OBJECTS and as much as it is a first attempt on the market, it is also quite the attack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, cynical and twisted, 17 April 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
When so many crime novels are derivative and imitative, Flynn is a genuine breath of fresh air. Here she takes some well-worn clichés of the genre (the woman who returns to the home she escaped; the alliance of journalist and cop; murder which unsettles small-town USA; the damaged narrator) and makes them feel alive again.

Make no mistake, this is dark, twisted, a little perverse and sometimes nastily grubby – and yet there is a kind of compelling fascination in the story which is very well crafted.

I could say more about some of the almost taboo themes explored here but that may give away too many spoilers for new readers. If you’re looking for crime fiction which is also intelligent, probing, and nicely cynical about some of the ways women are culturally constructed and represented, this is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab first, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharp Objects (Kindle Edition)
I read this after I had picked up gone girl in a book shop and thoroughly enjoyed both books. You can tell sharp objects is the first as although the writing is good, it just seems thinner somehow. Both books cents on women characters who veer between strong and weak but both are really likeable even if they are damaged. The last chapter in sharp objects was unexpected to a certain degree and made sense without being a big twist. Now off to read hyorker other one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sharp Objects
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews